Ratings based on 1,594 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Great hotel with great location. Love staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Nov 14, 2014
We had an excellent four-day stay at the Portola. The hotel personnel were all extremely friendly and helpful, and the room was modern and clean. But the real selling point is the location. Walking out the front door of the hotel leads you directly to Alvarado Street with its shopping and restaurants. Walking out the back door takes you to Fisherman's Wharf. Cannery Row and the Aquarium are a 20 minute walk along the shore. We will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Took care of our every need. Family friendly. Kids felt safe. Staff was responsive and super friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom folsom, ca

Can't sleep. You can hear noisy bystanders!

Posted Nov 13, 2014
The rooms are above a mini mall but although already closed, you can hear noisy bystanders. Awful night, can't sleep!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Good location

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Centrally located, close to most things.
Cons: Traffic noise at the pool area.
Location: Cannery row
Pleased with the service and the amenities. The room was comfortable and due to some noisy kids they happily moved me to another room - I always have to deal with annoying kids. The pool is a little inconvenient but otherwise nice. The lounge had some good music.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Good but our room needs some work. Also room had a weird smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mopdesto.Ca.

Always excellent

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Beds are always comfortable
Cons: Nothing
Location: Site see, great dining, fun local bars
Every stay is excellent and is always what we expect. Facility is excellent and always clean. Great location. Walking distance to everywhere. The only place to stay in Monterey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No Pool but still Enjoyable

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Rooms were nice and clean. Views are great. Close to everything, walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ventura

Great location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
We did request a king bed and ended up with two doubles.. But the beds were comfy and we were okay with it for one night. Nice room with warm cookies when you check I'm and coffee in the room. It was walking distance to downtown, the warf and lots of yummy restaurants. 5mim driving to the aquarium. We were happy with the over all hotel and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BErkeley, CA

Lovely Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: They have Everything! spa, restaurant, wine bar and brewery!
Location: perefect location!
Stayed here for a quick staycation to celebrate our 2nd year Anniversary! Love the hotel. It was right by the wharf so restaurants are just a step away! Cannery row is just a nice 1.5mile walk. Their on-site spa was fabulous! Had Brunch at their restaurant (jack's) and it was YUMMY. Everything was GOOD! They also have a wine bar AND a brewery which was great. Coffee shop as well. Everything's here you don't even to leave.. The hotel was beautiful & clean and i love that they are DOG FRIENDLY! no complaints here sure it is expensive, but what's NOT expensive in Monterey... :(