Ratings based on 1,880 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2015
Great hotel with spa, pool etc . Right at the Monterey pier easy walking distance to all downtown sites. I would rate higher than 3 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redwood City, CA

Birthday Getaway

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: It was in a convenient location, the people were very nice and helpful, and the hotel was beautiful.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi?
Location: See above
We spent the entire day walking on the piers and enjoying the ambience of the area. We saw plenty of seals, sea lions and sea otters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great hotel close to bike and walking path

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Cons: We felt a bit "nickel and dime" with the extra charges for self parking and internet.
Location: Lovely area to walk and bike
This hotel is nicely updated, clean, with well designed details.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Excellent customer service, clean hotel all around, and close to harbor!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spring break

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Had a great time at this hotel. Close to shops and the aquarium which was our reason for travel. Decently priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom White Salmon, WA

Visiting Monterey

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The location - walking to the historic sites, the wharf. The facilities are new and well maintained; brew pub was friendly and had great food.
Excellent location for the Historic District & Fisherman's Wharf. Great brew pub, sports bar at the hotel; excellent staff throughout. Visited the Aquarium and other sites on the Monterey Peninsula and this location is an easy site to connect to things to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tehachapi, CA

Wonderful hotel by Fisherman's Wharf!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The Portola Hotel and Spa is a lovely hotel in a perfect bay location. We really enjoyed the spa services. The staff was friendly and provided excellent service. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vail, AZ

Convenient location

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Better information ahead of time about parking.
The hotel has many more attributes than I expected and the stay was very pleasant, comfortable and affordable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Not a place for small children.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
I was told by the security that we would have to leave if my baby didn't stop crying. So basically we would have been thrown out on the street because they put us in a section of the hotel that was very loud with the noise from the bar out front waking her up at night. Very nice hotel but don't bring your baby if they cry over drunks carrying on at 2 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, CA

Centrally located resort with great accomodations

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The hotel accommodations consisted of high quality materials. The beds were comfortable, clean and plentiful. View from the room was spectacular.
Cons: Accessibility to hotel amenities. Our room was somewhat distance from the common area, which made for a rather long travel time.
Location: Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, Cannery Row Antique Mall, Shoreline Park, San Carlos Beach, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Alvarado Street.
Upon arriving, the staff at Portola Hotel & Spa made our welcome memorable. The valet was convenient, fast and affordable. They unloaded our bags and greeted us with a warm smile. The complimentary chocolate chip cookie was also a nice bonus. The hotel accommodations were fantastic - the beds were pristine and very, very comfortable. Our room had amazing views of Fisherman's Wharf and the Bay. Portola Hotel is centrally located, saving precious time during travel to tourist destinations. The hotel bar in the lobby had great happy hour specials including $4 red and white wines from 4pm-6pm. I choose Portola for my birthday getaway and they hotel and staff did not disappoint. I will definitely return during my mother's visit from the East Coast.