Ratings based on 879 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced, livable location

Posted Jul 22, 2015
This place does what you need it to do: give you a place to sleep. It's room rates are reasonable and the location is livable. Located right off California 1, getting to and from the hotel is easy. Cannery Row is about a 10 minute drive south of the hotel, so it's a great location alternative to the more expensive downtown and Cannery Row hotels. The room itself (Room 202) was pretty large, furnished with typical hotel furniture including a pull-out sleeper couch and a microwave and coffee maker. The room was pretty tidy but some could be said for cleanliness. Aesthetically, the carpet was stained as well as the couch cushions. The bathroom was clean and linen and towels were fresh. The cons to the room included a broken air conditioning unit, a non-functioning digital clock, an oddly built mattress which made it feel like the middle was sinking in like a bowl. There is free WIFI however the signal was weak in our room. We were unable to connect unless we were in the bathroom or the hallway. Also, the room faces the street so with the window open, car noise is prevalent along with a view of a s shopping center and Asian eateries across the street. Breakfast was continental, with a spread of cereals, breads, coffees and juices as well as a mini waffle maker. I was hoping for eggs, sausages, biscuits and gravy like other Ramadas I've stayed at but I guess it all depends on the location. We only stayed one night so I'm not sure if there's a daily rotation of food items.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Macy's pricing, Walmart quality

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: We were able to check in half an hour early (which was appreciated) and the location was convenient.
Cons: Beds, lighting, noise abatement.
This is a good hotel if you have kids and don't want to pay extra for their accommodation, since some of the rooms have sofa beds. If you actually need a decent night's rest, however, this is not the place to stay. The beds were not very comfortable and the lighting was on the dim side. Early the next morning, we were treated to what sounded like a herd of hippos dancing right above us; as a result, we showed up to the breakfast room a little late. The young man behind the front desk said that breakfast was over and that we could not even enter the room. An entreaty for even one piece of fruit was met with an insistence that we could get nothing. Although I appreciated his position, I was of the opinion that for what we paid for the room he could have at least gotten us an apple or a banana. It would have taken almost no effort on his part, but would have meant a great deal to us. When we left, we were surrounded by families with lots of kids (which would explain the early morning noise).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Clovis, CA

Nice for price

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Quiet
Cons: The best thing on the continental breakfast was out, which was the waffle mix to make your own waffles. We went to breakfast at 9 a.m.
Location: As above and also there is the state beach nearby if you just want to go sit and relax. Also Monterey Bay Aquarium is close by
We booked this hotel because it is close to the area where my son will be attending college, and we were looking for housing for him. This hotel didn't really have a lot of extras like a jacuzzi or pool, but it was a nice room with a decent continental breakfast in the morning and was great for the price. It is centrally located near the school and the area where there are apartments to check out for college students.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reservation

Posted Jul 8, 2015
When I arrived they didn't have my reservation and wanted to charge me higher rate for just a standard room. I had them contact Expedia and they got it resolved. I paid cash upon arrival and was charged 100.00 deposit which I was not informed by Expedia at time I placed my reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Fort Irwin, CA

Greeted with a smile

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: I like that they have queen size beds and large rooms.
Cons: I had to ask about breakfast I should have been told about it.
Location: I liked that it was near the Army housing area that I was visiting.
Arrived late and was greeted with a smile. The room was large and roomy. Loved the coffee machine in the room. Large shower and Queen size beds.... loved my room. Check out was quick and easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Nice hotel close to Monterey

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Met our expectations. Very friendly hard working staff. 10 minute drive into Monterey Bay, 5 minutes from Marina State Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Incredible Value near Monterey/Cannery Row

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: We didn't get to enjoy the gym facilities due to the shortness of our stay, but it looks wonderful. The complimentary breakfast is amazing!
Location: The location is only a short drive from downtown Monterey, Fisherman's Wharf, and Cannery Row, making the low rate an extreme value.
From check-in to check-out, a wonderful hotel experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2015
My family and I enjoyed staying in this hotel. The room is quite big and comfortable. Nearby we can find a number of restaurants and Walmart. Good for family travel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel but overpriced

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Overall, my husband and I had a decent stay, despite a few things I wasn't happy about. We had a late check in but I had called in advance to let them know and also that I was requesting a quiet room. That request was honored but it was extremely close to the entrance of the hotel and the eating area. Our room was a deluxe king but the couch was covered in dust and in one wastebasket, there was either sand or dust from what seems to be a vacuum. That irritated me and made me question the cleanliness of the room. I asked to switch rooms but was denied. Apparently, the hotel was already booked. Complimentary breakfast was decent but limited options. Mainly fruit and muffins. We would probably stay there in the future if the price was right.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Location to things were conveinent.
Cons: Hire an attendant that will stay up and do their job.
Location: Although; a drive to nearby tourist spots Monterey. It's close to the freeway.
The key card did not work. Checked in and went out to dinner. When I returned back I was unable to get into my room because the key card did not work. I went to the desk but no one was there. The attendant was sleeping. I rang the bell and finally the attendant came stumbling out. He gave me another key. I returned to my room to get in and again was unable to do so. I went back to the desk and again had to wake the attendant by ringing the bell. I was given another key and told that if that did not work he would open it with his card key. I thought that was a ridiculous solution to the problem. There was not enough parking for the hotel.