Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we were expecting

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Nice girl at reception. Good breakfast
No ac. A little run down. Out of the way Don't have anything else to say
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Not what we expected.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The kitchen was decent. We did not not use any of the utensils or cooking items but we did load up the refrigerator. My kids liked the pool and spa.
Cons: Improve on the continental breakfast, update the decor and amenities.
Location: The beach.
The picture on the confirmation was misleading. When my husband booked the room it showed a picture of a non-smoking king suite with bunk bed. This is what we thought we were getting. We have 2 kids and the bunk bed would have been helpful. Instead we ended up in a king suite with no bunkbed and a smoking room. The room smelled bad and the carpet had a weird dampness to it. There was no kleenex in room so we went out and bought a box. The stench and the carpet made my allergies worse. The hotel was full and there was not another room to move to. We asked. The kids liked the pool and spa. We never made it down to the beach but it was walking distance. The continental breakfast was not very appetizing. We will not recommend this hotel because it was way too much money for what we ended up getting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san rafael,ca

Great place for kids and close to the beach

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: everything is easy and thoughtout with the pool,rounds and spa
Cons: Get headboards that do not hit you in the back of the head(VERY uncomfortable!) to sit on it and watch tv.
Location: THE BEACH THE BEACH and great eats from the deli.
We had a lovely stay with our 2 grandkids for 4 nights. The staff is so helpful and friendly. Perfect mini vaca.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Ron~ So glad to hear you and your grandchildren had a nice stay! We do have a wonderful staff. Thanks for your review. We sure hope you'll be back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from San Jose, CA

I'd stay here again

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Proximity to beach.
Cons: Could update carpeting, etc. but then, it'd be too expensive.
Location: Go to Aptos BBQ!!!
Great location. Great staff. Decent restaurants within walking distance. Large beach nearby with walking/running path to exercise on. Quiet neighborhood. Great pool! Some features of the hotel could have been better (e.g. you could see some wear on things, but I knew it wasn't a Ritz when I booked it), but it had some good surprises (e.g. exterior, lobby, bedding, all looks 3 star). Fantastic location. You'll love the place if you understand it's a three star place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi There Bill, We have great news! This fall we will begin remodeling our rooms. We agree; it's time to fresh'in up the place. It may not be the Ritz;but we sure do our best to give our guests 5 star service. Thank you for your kind review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Caly from Ct

Not bad for a beach motel

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was NOT happy with the original description of this "hotel" - turns out it is a MOTEL. I just don't like staying where doors open directly to a street but the neigh or hood was nice enough. The up-side was that the staff was GREAT! Very helpful and accommodating. Not the best place we've ever stayed but it is pretty much what I expected from a motel within walking distance of the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Caly, Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel. I appreciate you noting that the Front Desk staff was friendly and accommodating. I hope you had a chance to make it to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jennifer from manteca

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loud in the morning it was garbage night and from 4-6 am it was impossible to sleep. I also think it was the room we had.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chris from Pleasanton

Not all it's cracked up to be!

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The reviews on this place are way too generous. I assumed based on reviews and price that this would be better than the rest of the Santa Cruz motels available. Wrong! This is in fact a motel that is far away from everything and the lobby smells like coppertone. The bed was at least comfortable but I had to rate low to get the average score below a 4. Very misleading to people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Chris, Thanks for your input. Being so close to the beach; we do have guest's who take advantage of it and sunbathe. They do use tanning products; I'm sure that is the scent you smelled in the lobby. I'm glad the bed worked out for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by judi from Marin Co.

Short and Sweet!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The beach so close, and a heated pool! And, the bed was fabulous.
It was a perfect place for a little short alone time. When I arrived late in the day it was great that I could just walk to the beach and just breath fresh air after a stressful week and long day. The bed was amazing, molded to my aching back. When I woke up I went right downstairs for a little breakfast and brought it up to my room as I was anxious to finish my book. Then went to the beach for a walk, went to the hot tub with great jets and then swam in the pool, all before I had to get ready to check out at 11: Love the little town of Aptos, I plan on going back soon to explore!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Judi, You know how to enjoy yourself! Thank you for your kind words. It seems you really took advantage of all the amenities the hotel offers. We sure hope to see you very soon.