Ratings based on 935 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
The hotel is in a slight secluded area which is nice and with a good restaurant onsite, no driving; except in the provided golf cart. Will return soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Fancisco

Amazing romantic get away

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Location: Monterey
our stay was awesome, and great for a romantic get away for a couple in the throws of a long distance relationship. Great food, bon fire on the beach, romantic balconey, fireplace, private beach, and the best bed my girlfriend has ever slept in. 5/5
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Management, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear that you and your girlfriend were able to enjoy a romantic getaway here at Sanctuary! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We hope to see you both again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Beautiful beach, decent value @ $260/night.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Suite was well-appointed with a great view, fireplace, and two TVs in case sunsets aren't your thing. Nice tub and separate shower, all very clean. Turndown service was a nice touch, but bed was very soft, so I didn't sleep as well as I do on a medium-firm mattress. Second night we stayed (Friday) we could hear kids running around in the room above us- a little detraction from the serenity, but hardly worth mentioning. I hope to come back in the summer for a long weekend when the weather is warmer and we can just relax on the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Management, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of the resort. I am glad that you enjoyed the view from your room! We hope to see you again during summer. Remember, our best months are September-November :)
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Westlake Village, ca

Best hidden place!

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Should b even more amazing in the warmer months. Such a great location. So much privacy! Will b back in the summer for sure! Gave 4 stars for room comfort only because there is no bed side tables and hence no place to put some water or charge your phone. Huge and great Delux room otherwise. And fireplace is perfect
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Management, Hotel Management
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our best months here at September-November. We hope to see you again during our "summer"!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Room was upgrade to suite for free. Amazing room!!! Best stay in Monterey ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
We are so happy to have exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. We hope to see you again during your next trip to the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

OUTSTANDING!!!!

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Everything. The staff was awesome. It was clean. The setting with ocean view was spectacular. Wouldn't change a thing.
Cons: duh.... can't think of anything
Location: IT'S MONTEREY!!!!! Don't forget to try Acme Coffee (cold brew... it's the best). 17 mile drive was great! I could go on but only 24 characters left.
Quite, peaceful, intimate, perfect 3 days. Private golf cart. Beautiful view of the ocean. What could be better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy a relaxing three days with us. Come see us again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only positives, Close to Beach and Dog Friendly

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Location, dog friendly and Hotel Staff
Location: On site restaurant with sports bar was a positive
Can't deny the location, but make sure you ask for "ocean front" not "ocean view". The rooms are tiny, you have to drive golf carts to and from room. The access to the beach was nice and accommodations for your dog (poopie bags, bowls, etc) were ok. Still, be prepared for the tiny space where you won't find room to change your mind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the resort. Hope to see you again during your next visit to the Monterey area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV

Nice place, on the beach

Posted Dec 16, 2014
We just stayed one night but would have liked to stay longer. Very comfortable and relaxing stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Hopefully we can have you stay for more than one night next time you visit the Monterey area. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose

Review of bed.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Location close to beach and fresh sea air.
Cons: Quality of beds could improve, as said was very hard and unable to get a good quality sleep. Turn up the hot water heater!!!!
Location: Location very close to the beach, food downtown Monterey, can't be beat.
Room was very Nice and clean. First of two complaints 1) the bed was very hard. Sleep was poor that night but the view made up for alot. 2) Shower hot water was only luke warm at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of the resort. I am sorry to hear that you didn't sleep well due to the firmness of the mattress. We hope to be able to supply a better nights sleep during your next visit to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Spent the Thanksgiving Holiday and it was lovely. They even allowed for our dog!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
We are glad you were able to spend the holiday with us! Thank you for leaving a review of the resort. We hope to see you again soon!