Ratings based on 1,017 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice family place

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Loved staying here with the family. The room had a great view and we were able to walk to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto

Beautiful resort at an amazing location

Posted Jul 2, 2015
From check in to check out...all needs met in a timely manner. Clean, spacious rooms. Beautiful views. Attentive staff. All around perfect get a way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our room was right on the beach

Posted Jul 2, 2015
My mother is 88 years old and blind - she wanted to put her feet in the sand one last time - the layout of the rooms at The Sanctuary allowed her wish to come true 😊
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great eco-friendly stay. Love the rustic look.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The rustic look to the rooms.
Location: Great location for hiking Mt. Tallac, Rubricon trail, and other hikes.
Very nice hotel in a great central location. We also really enjoyed the massages there. Friendly staff that ran the office area and the bar. Super place for people who appreciate simplicity and the environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary Weekend

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: unknow this was set up for my son and wife.
My son and his wife were on the 2nd Anniversary and they told me they were overcome with happiness and joy. The room was decorated beautiful, the staff was fantastic and the manager was on the ball. Everything was wonderful. The spa was wonderful, loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view.

Posted Jun 12, 2015
View was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. The bed was very comfy. Grounds were clean and we enjoyed the beach access and restuarant on the grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord Ca

Great location & Staff

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: THe location was PERFECT!!
Cons: The size of the suites are almost the same size for a higher price than a regular beach front room at a hotel. Increase the amount of fire-pits too!
Location: We really took advantage of how close the Old Warf and Canery Row were. We enjoyed an amazing 1.5 hr horse tour on the beach with instructor "V"
I was very happy with the stay overall but the room was much smaller than the images showed and what was portrayed in the description. I was expecting a larger room with a bed in an actual bedroom but the Jr Suite beach view was basically the same as a studio apartment minus some of the square footage. The sofa bed was so comfy for our friends who joined us and said that was the bed substitute bed they have ever slept on. We were all so happy with the ocean view and the staff was more than accommodating, Especially Danielle! Each room gets a golf cart assigned to them, which was great. The golf carts is great when you have stuff to carry to a room and want to have the whole get away feel. :) One major downside was that the carts given really only accommodate 4 people so if you have 4 people staying in your room like our allowed for, than you have to make multiple trips to get all your belongs to the room. Another thing was the bonfires. We did wish that there were more than 2 bonfire pits but it was awesome getting to meet all the people around them and that the resort lit them for everyone. The overall feel for the price is really good. Considering we have stayed in many beach front resorts and hotels before this was among one of our favorites. It is really great for a romantic or family getaway. We went up to celebrate my birthday and had such a blast. Your so close to Caneray Row, Old Warf, the beach, and many other attractions that it really kept the cost of gas down
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice weekend getaway

Posted May 29, 2015
My family had a wonderful time with my 3 year old child. Bon fire, casual beach walk and a golf cart. What can you ask for more?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am glad that your family was able to enjoy our amenities. The golf carts are always a huge hit with families. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, Florida

Beautiful beach front resort

Posted May 21, 2015
Although we arrived 20minutes before check in the staff welcomed us warmly and whisked us off to our room, everything was much nicer than expected, beautiful view, exceptional accommodations, we'll definitely be back . Thanks to all the staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback! We look forward to your return to the resort!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Great hotel next ti beach pity about the weather!

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Comfort and location
Cons: Yes better restaurant
Location: Location great,Monterey was great with plenty to do.
Loved the situation of the rooms with sea view and very comfortable. Could do with better restaurant,food was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of the resort! I apologize about your experience with the restaurant! We hope to see you again during your next trip to the US.