Ratings based on 1,044 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2015
It is a beautiful hotel and we enjoyed it very much. Hotel staff was very helpful and our bellman was terrific and went out of his way to help us with everything. Views and beach were great. Rooms were nice but smaller than I thought and s little noisy at times but over all a great place!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 28, 2015
The location was great. The property is right off the beach, it's quiet and the staff was very friendly. Not a lot of food options, but there is a restaurant on the property. Great place for families or couples. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Bernardino, CA

Comfort on a sanctuary beach

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The deck right outside our room where we could sit and watch the ocean. The restaurant is also excellent. The staff was wonderful.
Cons: Golly, the s'mores on the beach would have been a nice touch.
Location: Cannery Row, 17-mile drive, Monterey Aquarium, sea food restaurants.
This hotel is on such a large area that the guests are given individual golf carts to go from the lobby to their rooms. It's a lovely facility with comfortable beds but the rooms are a bit small for a suite. The bathroom is huge, about one third of the size of the room with two sinks separated by a tub/shower. The room configuration is the only reason I couldn't give this a 5-star rating. Perhaps it was expectations about what a suite involves. At any rate, we were facing the windswept beach which is a genuine protected sanctuary. The waves crash upon the shore and it's quite cool and lovely. There is a campfire on the beach each night but the s'more can only be had in the lobby, a golf-cart ride away. The manager, Reggie Kumar, gave us a complementary upgrade which was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Beautiful ocean front view...no a/c

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: I loved the view, the beach, ocean front, has small fridge, microwave, great bathrooms and golf cart access.
Cons: Put a/c in the rooms and I will be back year after year.
Location: Monterey Bay Aquarium, kayaking, elkhorn safari, beach.
This would have gotten all 4-5's had the room had a/c. The rooms are not air conditioned. I went out to buy a small fan, that relieved it a little but not like I would have liked. Even though the weather is mostly moderate, I like to sleep at a cool temperature. I ended up sleeping with the sliding doors wide open. I'm torn because it is an absolutely beautiful pristine beach, but without a/c I would probably try to find some where else to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollidaysburg

Dolphins right from our balcony!

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Location location location!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Monterrey was just south of here and so was Carmel by the Sea. Lots to do in both of those towns
Great way to start our trip! We were upgraded to a suite right on the beach! Great room with an even better view! Wish we could have stayed longer. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed the golf cart as well! Came in late at night, but the first thing we saw when we opened our sliding glass door in the morning to sit on the balcony were dolphins! Then a little later a sea otter. Absolutely a thrill and so beautiful! Wish we had time to enjoy the outside fire pits on the beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Sanctuary lives up to its name.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!
Cons: ???
Location: Monterey is 10 minutes away, but I came here to rest, not looking to be entertained.
Stayed 2 nights and wanted more. Ideal location to unwind and relax. Our room was ON the beach and quiet. Could listen to the waves all night long. Will certainly be back for several visits. Highly recommended if you want some solitude and unplug from the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful Resort!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Wonderful stay here. We stayed in the oceanfront suites. Two showers and double sinks make it very easy for families to get ready. Pull out sofa was the most comfortable we have ever slept on very nice! Amazing views and easy access to beach. We could see Dolphins from our porch! Nice pool, huge jaquzzi. Restaurant wasn't great just ok. We would definately come back and stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pampering on the beach!

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The well-thought out atmosphere.
Location: Walk hand-in-hand on the beach. Swim in the pool or ocean. Relax in the hot tub. Toast marshmallows and make s"mores. Aquarium is nearby. Dine.
Sanctuary Beach is the perfect get away for couples and families. The ocean view and beach itself is beautiful. The beach hosts nightly bonfires that are lit, stocked, and maintained. There is also a pool and hot tub that is even set up for someone handicapped. You get your own personal golf cart to drive around because car traffic isn't allowed, which equals quiet, traffic-free evenings. They turn down your bed, deliver your breakfast, and also have a delicious restaurant right onsite. You have a wish - they will do their best to make it happen. The room had a refrigerator, fireplace, double sinks in the bathroom, and a patio to watch the sunset. I don't know what more we would have asked for. We wished we stayed longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Pleasant and relaxing.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Wonderful location. Great beach access.
Cons: Front desk check-in staff could be more sincere.
Location: Easy access to all that Salinas, Monterey, Carmel and Pacific Grove have to offer but away from the crowds.
This was not our first time at this resort. The environment is still beautiful and appealing but the resort could use some detailing. Be careful with taking a good thing for granted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Amazing view! Really nice hotel! Golf carts to use for every room. Bonfires on the beach every night.