Ratings based on 753 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lauren from San Diego, CA

Gorgeous, peaceful location close to beach

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: location views cleanliness
Cons: customer service
Location: Monterrey Sand Dune State Park Restaurant on-site was mediocre food but family-friendly
I typically never write reviews but I feel compelled since I really loved this hotel stay more than I usually do at this price point. Although it wasn't cheap, per se, the hotel really blew me away with its location and grounds which were located on a beautiful Sand Dune State Park. I'm 32 so I thought the golf cart thing was for old folks, but it was really cool that they provide one to all the rooms so you can get around the massive property. I have a 1-year-old and I felt like the onsite playground was fun for when the beach was too cool. Plus, beyond the grounds, the rooms were really, really clean, stocked with towels for the beach or pool nearby and the view was amazing. I brought my dog and he loved just lounging on the big, enclosed patio. The kitchenette was awesome and had everything we needed to store her baby food and make a quick cup of coffee. The fireplace heated-up the room and worked great, and the bed was so comfy! I will say I thought the front desk were a little unfriendly, and didn't provide the "free gift" for getting a suite that they promise on their receipt and check-in materials. We also did a late check-in and asked for a late check-out and they only budged an hour. I think it's ridiculous that hotels can charge a "day rate" when you're allowed check-in at 4pm and checkout at noon--that's not even 24 hours! That's not a day, people. I think it should be mandated that you receive an actual 24 hours for a room versus this janky math.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salinas, CA

A Mom's Retreat

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Exceeded my expectations. The setting with the blue ocean, sand dunes and occasional hang glider was truly a getaway. The junior suite with ocean view was lovely, with a comfortable sitting area in front of the fireplace and deck overlooking the ocean. The dinner from the restaurant was great. I spent the next morning listening to the ocean waves while I curled up in front of the fire and read a good book. It was truly a retreat for a Mom to rejuvenate. I'll be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel isn't just close, it's ON the beach.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: We like this hotel because they take pets, and are in the sand dunes on the beach.
Cons: The hotel was in the process of renovating the rooms while we were there, so they are improving.
Location: This hotel is ON the beach, so you can walk down a short path and into the waves. Monterey and Carmel are a short drive away.
My wife and I wanted a nice hotel, close to the beach that took pets. This hotel is nice, it takes pets for a very reasonable surcharge, and it's nestled into the sand dunes on the beach. We enjoyed our stay, our view of the ocean, and walking on the beach with our dog.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from Rancho Cordova, Ca.

15 year Anniversary

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: We visited the Point Pinos Lighthouse, Cannery Row and did some shopping at the outlets. We also had some really good Pizza at Luigi's.
I have never had a better experience with any other hotel. Michael, the employee who showed us to our room was very friendly and welcoming. We told him it was our anniversary and when we had left the room and came back there was an anniversary card and a bottle of wine on the table. The room was amazing, the staff was amazing and I just can't say enough about the room service. The Kula Ranch Restaurant's chef should be awarded! I can't wait to get back.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. I will definitely pass on your comments to Michael. He is certainly an asset to our bell staff! I am glad to hear that you had a great time during your anniversary. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Monterey area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by liz from northern ontario canada

It was just as we expected and hoped it would be.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: location. fresh inviting rooms. friendly helpful service. extra service like turning down the bed and filling the ice buckets.
Cons: a better restaurant. it was just ok.
Location: so many things!!! giant redwoods, tidepools, scenic drives, whale watching, great aquarium, wonderful restaurants, shopping, sightseeing.
Clean, comfortable, fresh and inviting. Great service, beautiful spot on the beach. We stayed a week and loved it! Would definitely go back and also recommend it.
Comment from
Jan 26, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful response. We always love to hear that our service exceeded our guests expectations. Hopefully we will see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by VC from San Francisco, CA

Oceanfront View Well Worth the Spend!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Cons: Smoke alarm went off 6+ times during our stay. Mgr was smart enough to give a slight credit to offset inconvenience. 2-ply TP would be nice.
Overall, my husband and I enjoyed our stay here. Would definitely come back. We booked a junior suite with an oceanFRONT view, which was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! The bungalow we wound up in happened to be at one end of the resort so we weren't surrounded by other bungalows. Plus, we also lucked out because were were placed on the 2nd floor so nobody above us. It's worth booking (or asking for) on the top floor because I could see where there might be noise from above if on the ground level and views of the beach may not be as spectacular if viewing from eye level vs. from a higher level. Nice deck to chill on and easy access to the beach. Rooms were super clean - meaning, I was able to walk around barefoot and not feel grossed out. Normal room wear and tear, but nothing material enough where the stay wasn't still over the top wonderful. Nice in-room amenities as well - robes, high-end shampoos/soaps, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, beach towels, flat screen TVs, etc.. Didn't use the pool, but it looked nice and heard it's heated to 80 degrees. Didn't eat at the restaurant either. Definitely worth the spend.
Comment from
Jan 20, 2014
I am so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time at the resort. It's always nice to sit in the sun on the deck and watch the waves roll in. Thank you for taking the time to leave such an amazing review. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

beautiful

Posted Mar 9, 2014
It was one of the most peaceful and romantic places I've ever stayed at. The view from our room was wonderful.
Comment from
Jan 14, 2014
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room. There's nothing more romantic than watching the sun set over the Pacific Ocean. Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful response. We hope to see you again during your next romantic getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Houston

Fantastic Location/Grounds. So-so room.

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: The area.
Cons: Room furnishings and maintenance.
Location: Besides the Dunes, we had great walks in Big Basin and Jack's Peak, great lunch at Phil's in Moss Landing, and dinner at in Paradise Cafe Capitola.
We stayed here about 8 years ago, and loved it. The Marina Dunes is still a special place, but the rooms left much to be desired. The rooms (or at least ours, which I think was typical) are not that big, but they are stuffed with eclectic, impractical furniture. There was no convenient place for my notebook, there was no bedside table on one side of the bed (Eyeglasses? A Book?), and the only table was a tiny odd-shaped coffee table that accommodated about two coffee cups max. Carpet was really frayed in places. Closet doors were off track and while I adjusted them a couple of times they continued to go off track. We could hear every step the people in the unit upstairs made. Staff was competent and accommodating, and we loved our walks on the beach, but it was really not good value considering the state of the room, and the time of the year (late February).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel near the beach

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Rooms had a romantic feel to them - I would definitely stay there again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Unique room In lovely spot. Unfortunately weather was not great but fire pit on beach a nice touch.