Ratings based on 845 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

A Great Escape

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Location: A beautiful beach for long walks and sunsets. A bit of a drive to everything else.
Had a great time. Peaceful, quiet, right on the beach. Sat on the patio watching whales blow and breach. Not right in the center of the action so be prepared for 15-20 minute drive to Aquarium and other venues in Monterey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Great resort

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Beautiful and peaceful place to stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Watched humpbackwhales just offshore in late Sept!

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Beach, adirondack chairs, tall dune from which to view the whales and dolphins.
Cons: There was a group of people at the fire pit who were monopolizing the wood, actually told us there wasn't any when their fire was blazing.
Location: Drive south on Hwy 1 for amazing views and hikes. Big Sur Bakery - yum!
Great customer care! A bottle of wine was delivered just because a new staff member made a tiny mistake when we checked in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
I am so glad to hear that the problem was resolved to your liking. Thank you for leaving a review of the resort and we hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

Just okay

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Bed was very uncomfortable. No hot water in shower. Man upstairs sounded like he was going to fall through the celing at any moment! Woke up twice in the middle of the night by phone calls. Not worth $500 for two nights! A lot of nice places to stay in Monterey area for that price... Don't waste your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buckingham UK

Great location by the beach

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Lovely relaxed hotel with very nice room and superb location.
Location: Whale watching at Monterrey was fantastic.
Stayed for one night whilst whale watching at Monterrey. Lovely room looking straight out to the Ocean. Felt the hotel was quite remote despite being quite close to freeway. Great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the resort! The sound of the ocean does a great job of blocking out the sound of the freeway! We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

A little piece of heaven

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The hospitable staff, the proximity to the ocean, the fire pits, the easy-to-use Wifi.
Cons: Nothing. This hotel was wonderful.
Location: On Marina State Beach, driving distance (within 10 minutes) of Carmel-by-the-Sea, Pacific Grove and Monterey Bay.
Wow, where do I start? My husband and I decided to stay at this hotel because it was on the beach. Boy, was it ever (see photos). We could see the ocean from our one story cottage and hear the ocean waves every night. Our room, a suite, was huge! We had clean beach towels every day and (my favorite part) our own golf cart to get around the hotel/resort. Note that the hotel is affiliated with Wyndham Worldwide, but, for the best experience, spring for the rooms (cottages) : You will not regret it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Reading your review was such a wonderful experience. I am so glad to hear that you were able to get so much pleasure out of our golf carts! They are my favorite part too! We hope to see you again during your next trip to California!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stoney Creek, Ontario

Unique experience in the beach dunes

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Natural location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to Monterey - waterfront and shops
Very nice room overlooking the beach and ocean. We ate breakfast while watching dolphins swim by. Good size outdoor pool and whirlpool. Evening beach bonfire was enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of the resort! The marina life have been very active the last couple of weeks! Come back and see us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Would love to go back!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Great staff! Well kept rooms.
Cons: Better restaurant.
Location: Visited Lucky's Restaurant in Seaside which was fantastic!
Great place to stay near beach with a quiet pool. Unfortunately the restaurant did not come highly recommended otherwise we would have never left! Watched the sunrise and sunset from our balcony and loved sleeping to the sounds of the ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. I am glad to hear that you were able to relax to the sounds of the ocean while you were here. Come see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A true sanctuary.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Beautiful surroundings and comfortable room.
Relaxing and rejuvenating. Great staff. Rooms are clean, cozy and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Utah

Nice hotel. Beautiful beach views and very private

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Awesome ocean views, 50 yards from the beach where daily we saw dolphins, sea lions and even a whale. Beautiful sunsets, very private. Nice rooms and friendly staff. A great place to relax and get away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of the resort! The marine life has been very active the last couple of months and we love it! :)