Ratings based on 997 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland

Great hotel next ti beach pity about the weather!

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Comfort and location
Cons: Yes better restaurant
Location: Location great,Monterey was great with plenty to do.
Loved the situation of the rooms with sea view and very comfortable. Could do with better restaurant,food was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of the resort! I apologize about your experience with the restaurant! We hope to see you again during your next trip to the US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dana point ca

Nice & close to beach

Posted May 4, 2015
The rooms are nicely appointed with access to the beaches within walking distance. They use golf carts to get from place to place within the grounds which is somewhat problematic. Parking is a chore. Staff is helpful and accommodating. Little out of the way from monterrey or Carmel. Overall above average.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by Management, Hotel Management
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Come back and see us again during your next trip to the Monterey area! Thank you for leaving a review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

serene hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
Perfect location view was astounding. Great place to get away from the hustle and bustle.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Resort! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Come back and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Beautiful resort right on the ocean.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The grounds, ocean front and ocean front deluxe rooms and suites.
Cons: Good cleaning in some rooms.
Location: Perfect location. Right on the ocean front next to the beach sanctuary. Close to Monterey, Carmel and Big Sur. this is the perfect place to explore
I love the Sanctuary Beach Resort.; it is one of the most beautiful resorts I have ever visited. You will love this place if you love the outdoors. I have stayed there several times and really enjoyed myself. However, on my last visit I noted that some of the suites could use some refurbishing. My suite was not as clean as it had been in the past and the rug sure needed to be cleaned. Could be that they were overbooked and not prepared for the crowd. I say that because I stayed at this resort in March of this year and my room was just perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the resort! I am glad to hear that you have visited several times. We try to keep the rooms updated. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom encinitas, ca

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Beautiful spot with sandy beaches as far as you can see. nothing in walking distance but within 10 mins from monterey. The room was much smaller than I was expecting as it said it was a suite. It was me and my husband and 2 teenage kids and very crowded. We did day trips each day to Carmel and big sur etc so werent in our room much but because it's just one open room no privacy for anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am glad that you were able to enjoy all that the Monterey area has to offer. Big Sur and Carmel are both beautiful places to spend the day. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montana

Relaxing and private

Posted Mar 29, 2015
We had a fantastic experience at the Sanctuary Resort. The staff was professional and genuinely friendly. Because the dunes are so large, our room had a moderate view of the ocean and beach was just a few steps down the path. The resort was near a walking/running path and close to wine tasting trails and Monterey. We can't wait to visit again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the resort! We are so glad that you had such a fantastic experience with us! We look forward to your return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV

Sanctuary is Right

Posted Mar 26, 2015
I have stayed here on two different occasions and it is a great, nice get-away spot. You're close enough to Monterey and any tourist attractions, but you can also just spend the day on the property if you're just looking for some quiet and rest. The beach and views are beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing such a lovely review of the resort. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed both of your stays with us! We hope to see you again during your next visit to the Monterey area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom n

Yearly retreat

Posted Mar 26, 2015
This was my second year at this hotel. The amenities are great the staff efficient and nice. Location is a dream come true. Spa services were excellent. I will continue to visit each year it is really worth while.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your continued patronage and your kind words about the resort. We look forward to your return to the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach get-away

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Rooms were amazing. Great service. Having a golf cart was a huge convenience!! Will definitely be back and will recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The golf carts are definitely fun for guests of all ages. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of the resort. We look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was lovely. We will be back

Posted Mar 11, 2015
The weather was great and the hotel was wonderful. We had a great time and will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of the resort! I am glad that we had some good weather for you to enjoy! We are looking forward to your return.