Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel w/ Rooftop access and ocean view

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The stay was great with complimentary wine & cheese + breakfast in the morning direct to room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great romantic place

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: The location in Monterey is our favorite place to spend a great weekend.
Cons: Nothing, except we would like to have a view of the ocean.
Location: Being right on the ocean and near some great restaurants, is a real plus.
We had a wonderful time and wish we could have stayed longer. The room was beautiful and the staff was very attentive. We will be going back real soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom clovis

the room smelt of smoke even with the windows open

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: the staff was kind and helpful
Cons: smoke smell in rooms
Location: it was all good
could not get rid of smoke oder. you should have an ice maker machine located where guests can get ice themselves. I made a trip to the basement to get my own and found out I was out of bounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hemet,Ca

Great location and wonderful staff.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: I loved the staff, balconies and wood burning fireplaces.
Cons: Down bedding would be nicer as well as some additional background music or something to make the beautiful lobby more welcoming.
Location: The Cannery Row Brewery and adjacent shopping are fantastic. Don't miss the Wax Museum History Tour!
I stayed at this lovely hotel recently on the recommendation of other travelers. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The Wine Reception was a great idea but a bit stuffy. The lobby needs some sort of music or other ambiance to make it a bit more comfortable and less conversation averse. The wood burning fireplace, while not necessary during my stay would be fantastic if it was colder. The Cannery Row View rooms are AMAZING! Sitting on the patio with your own private perch to people watch or enjoy a beverage or food is a huge bonus. One drawback was the bed. It was an overfilled liner which is normally nice but in this case produced a large bubble bed that was hard to provide a good snuggle. Breakfast choices were minimal but the quality was superb. Overall, this is a fantastic hotel to relax in and enjoy all that is Monterey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom P

Couldn't have found a better place.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
I absolutely loved this hotel. The room was gorgeous with so much character. I could live in the room! Breakfast delivered at my requested time. It was fresh and delicious. Fireplace ambiance was perfect. Will not stay anywhere else when visiting Monterey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect little cozy getaway

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Spent a night in the coziest room with chocolates at bed time and friendly staff. A few minutes to the aquarium and lovely ocean views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Awesome location! Fabulous view!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Cons: Beds were a little on the soft side (for people with back issues). Replacing the highly alkaline soap might help reduce water consumption.
Location: Recommend "Fish Hopper" on the boardwalk, and the C at Intercontinental. Excellent food at both places.
Get an ocean-view room on a higher floor. You won't regret it!! Very cozy and romantic. The rooms are GORGEOUS!! The view (especially on a cloudy day) is amazing (I caught sight of a couple of sea otters frolicking in the ocean right in front of my room). Excellent access to the beach as well as the restaurants on the boardwalk. The staff was SUPER friendly and helpful. Well worth the $$.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Everything was great. We would like to see more varied breakfast choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Great location

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Was a wonderful time! Quiet cozy place to stay at!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N.J.

Perfect Location for exploring Monterey on foot.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location! Central to all that Monterey has to offer. The lobby was beautiful and the perfect setting for wine and cheese in the evening.
Cons: Parking situation and would love a hot tub on the premises.
Location: Central Monterey on Cannery row. Lots of activities to enjoy for outdoor enthusiasts. Walking distance to restaurants shops monterey pier.
Luxurious room but small. Location is perfect and wine and cheese served each evening in the lobby added a great touch. Rooftop deck with great views of bay and stars. I did miss hot tub which would be perfect on the rooftop. The easy walk to the beach or along the trail more than made up for it.