Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daly City, CA

The Best Santa Cruz Innkeepers!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The experience of my short summer stay at the Super 8-Riverside East was extraordinary due to the kindness, thoughtfulness and professionalism of both the innkeepers and their staff. I wholeheartedly recommend this motel for anyone traveling to Santa Cruz who's desiring more than just a great location close to everything. The Boardwalk is 2 blocks away, but better yet is the year round convenience to everything. It's an easy walk to Pacific Ave. and RiverWalk for entertainment, services, Trader Joes, health food stores and shopping, the SeaBright Beach & neighborhood (where I found a great little java place and met nice people), museums, architectural interests, San Lorenzo River walking paths, the Municipal Pier, restaurants, many wonderful Santa Cruz city parks and other discoveries which are too numerous to put in this review. In addition to the location being great is the fact this motel is cared for and maintained by honest owner/operators. This always eases my mind when I travel so I wanted to share this positive experience with all my fellow Expedia travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
We stayed pretty comfortably. Parking lot is kind of small. Bed was clean. There were three kind of towels which is good. Bathroom fan was loud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the boardwalk!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Can walk anywhere from here
Location: Scant number of restaurants nearby
Had to choose this last minute, not too bad for a Super 8, but very expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
It was great..................................................................................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from East Bay, California

Walking Distance

Posted Jun 26, 2014
We really enjoyed it all. It's walking distance to the Boardwalk, 5--10 minutes. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Pool was clean. Check in was easy and quick. Staff was friendly and informative. Continental breakfast could have more choices, but filled our needs. Only complaints were parking can be tricky on a packed night and our window was right on the side street (main exit from most Boardwalk parking), which can make for a few noisy moments. But nothing that really bothered us. We will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Leandro, CA

Family Go-to

Posted Jun 19, 2014
The staff is always incredibly kind and gracious. Our rooms are always neat and clean, we have made this our regular hotel. Over the years, we've stayed pretty much everywhere there is to stay near the boardwalk an this is our favorite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the Beach Board walk and walking downtown

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: The breakfast buffet was good, The room was clean e air was quiet.Microwave,coffeemaker, hairdryer, frig and lots of plugs.
Cons: A few more coffee cartridges
Location: close to all the important stuff
Got to see most all of Santa Cruz in a general way. It was a week day trip so the beach board walk was quiet. Downtown was near by and lots of interesting shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by chris from northbay

A Keeper

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was as advertised. Surprised the pool had a 7 1/2 ft. deep end.The pillows (double amount) were like clouds. All in good working order The local area is very cramped so it seems small, 2 blks. from Boardwalk. Quiet and the curtains DO blackout. Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by marcy from Los Angeles

Adequate and clean and nothing fancy

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was very clean and large. The management very nice and accommodating but breakfast is served in the office. One must bring the food to the room or eat outside on a deck which was pretty cold the day I was there. There's no elevator to the 2nd level so make sure you request 1st floor if you need it. For the price and location, I will try elsewhere next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Amanda from Orangevale, CA

Centrally located

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This motel is about 4 blocks from the Boardwalk and Pier. We walked to both. It is located right next to the river. It is clean and the beds are comfortable. The pillows are especially amazing. The room we stayed in had a mini fridge and microwave, ironing board and iron, hair dryer and a coffee pot. (None of which we used.) They have a pool as well. The people are really friendly and helpful. The parking is tight and limited. The tv is too small in comparison to the room size and if you are the type of person to lay in bed and watch tv however, don't count on that. This place has the worst tv sets EVER! When you push the power button either on the actual tv or their generic hotel remote nothing happens. We attempted to power it on several times to no avail. We even tried unplugging it and starting all over again. We called the front desk and a guy came to our room within 2 minutes with a remote in his hand and did the exact same thing we did and said it needed to warm up. We are convinced he just used the remote in his hand though because we tried to use it the next morning and could not get the stupid thing to do anything. My husband looked up the tv and discovered they have zero good reviews. All are complaints about power. There are a few liquor stores within walking distance. I think they offer continental breakfast but we didn't partake. For a quick overnight trip this hotel was great.