Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Uk

Very good

Posted Oct 29, 2014
I would recommend santa cruz and the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Davis, CA

Nice little hotel close to the beach, downtown.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Super 8 is next to the river, 5 min to walk to the beach, 10 min to walk downtown, 10 min to drive to national bridges park and surfing place. Staff is excellent, room was super clean, bed is comfortable. Breakfast is big enough to feel you up to the late lunch. The price is very good, we would stay there again when we are in Santa Cruz.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SF

Nice hotel with flexible check in hours

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Excellent hotel closed to everything. Boardwalk is five minutes away. Municipal pier is six minutes away. The room is super comfy and the staff is very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't say I felt comforta le

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Location, free wifi.
Cons: Revamp
Location: Nice and close to the boardwalk and we got to eat $13 lobsters from the tank to the plat. Best thing ever
Stay here for the price and the location. Walking about the area all accommodation appeared the same - very tired in need of a revamp. Location was good for the money you pay. The lady that greeted us was lovely and was probably the highlight of the stay at the accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Remember it is a Super 8

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Well, if you remember you are renting a motel room you will be very happy ... hotels in this area are very expensive, so yes you are paying a lot for a motel and it may be frustrating. As far as motels go it is very nice. Friendly owners, good breakfast (hot waffles were a nice surprise) and location very close to the boardwalk (and that is what you are paying for). Rooms could do with updating here and there but overall pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CSfrom Merced

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was impressed with the cleanliness and the location to the boardwalk. My family and I go to Santa Cruz several times a summer and this is by far the cleanest, most well kept up hotel with great service. Definitely will be making sure this is the hotel we stay at in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you are looking to hang out at the Santa Cruz boardwalk, the location is outstanding. The hotel is not fancy or new by any means, but it is managed well and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend if you are looking for an inexpensive hotel with a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Motel

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only stayed for one night. Very friendly staff. Clean room. Very good location in relation to the beach, boardwalk and wharf. Couldn't get Wi-Fi to work. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Daly City, CA

The Best Santa Cruz Innkeepers!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The experience of my short summer stay at the Super 8-Riverside East was extraordinary due to the kindness, thoughtfulness and professionalism of both the innkeepers and their staff. I wholeheartedly recommend this motel for anyone traveling to Santa Cruz who's desiring more than just a great location close to everything. The Boardwalk is 2 blocks away, but better yet is the year round convenience to everything. It's an easy walk to Pacific Ave. and RiverWalk for entertainment, services, Trader Joes, health food stores and shopping, the SeaBright Beach & neighborhood (where I found a great little java place and met nice people), museums, architectural interests, San Lorenzo River walking paths, the Municipal Pier, restaurants, many wonderful Santa Cruz city parks and other discoveries which are too numerous to put in this review. In addition to the location being great is the fact this motel is cared for and maintained by honest owner/operators. This always eases my mind when I travel so I wanted to share this positive experience with all my fellow Expedia travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bobfrom San Diego

Would Definitely Return

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Strengths: Location was great (very close to boardwalk), staff was friendly, air conditioning worked great (but noisy), room was reasonably clean considering how old the hotel is and the fact that it's a Super 8. Weaknesses: Older hotel, so it was only "reasonably clean" after considering it's a Super 8, it's old, and it's basically a beach hotel (e.g., bathroom area wasn't spotless, carpet made our socks dirty). That being said, we went in with expectations of it being an older, budget-friendly beach hotel (although not on the beach). Therefore, we enjoyed it and would definitely return if not looking for anything fancy.