Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay here if there are no other options

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Oh dear. Not what I expected based on other Expedia reviews. First room was the saddest space I think I've ever seen. Dark and smelly. A larger room with more windows cost an extra $70 which I paid because the other room was too depressing. Bed was comfortable. Soaking tub was nice once it finally filled, which took 30 minutes. Overall, the place is musty, sad and shabby. Overhaul stat!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: I noticed the home on the corner next door is for sale. I would suggest they buy the property, Doze the motel and house, and start from scratch.
Location: Location is one of the best. Close to performing arts and Ocean Avenue and Carmel's great restaurants and galleries. No car needed after arriving.
This was a $ 90.00 room,max . . . even at Carmel pricing. The room was small, Shower (no tub) measured 3'x3', rest of bathroom about 4' x 5'. Toilet was the smallest I've ever seen. I have no idea how they got a three diamond rating from AAA. On a more positive note, the staff was great . . . friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ron

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by joan from santa barbara

Great location

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was delightful - great service, very comfortable room, comfy beds, great location and the breakfast was ample and delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by edgy9

comfy beds

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really great stay. Beds were really comfortable, room was very clean, and service was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by nowbatting19 from Pasadena CA

Nice for the price

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cozy but small room & bath. But that was all we needed. Rooms were clean and service was good. They serve breakfast too but we missed that but they do have good coffee and tea available most hours. Within walking distance of shops and beach. We were very happy staying here. The only negative is the rooms are not soundproof and staying on the first floor we heard creaks and bumps from above and next door. But we were able to get a great nights sleep nonetheless. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pete Chavez from Visalia, CA

Awesome place

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were there for one night and the place was very nice and cozy. Staff was great and very hospitable. The breakfast was great. They provided a full breakfast with eggs, potatoes, waffles, sausages, fruit, cereal and other great items. Coffee was also good and strong. Top noch place. Only a few blocks from businesses and the beach. The room was very clean and cozy. You can't go wrong here. We are planning on coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Angela

Close to the beach

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Parking challenge