Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Carmel charm

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Something misses here for the price - rooms are decorated from Kirklands and for a art town rather disappointing and the breakfast is way below average. Great location for walking thou-
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quaint Inn, Lovely Experience

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Let's straighten one thing out. If you're looking for a luxurious hotel, you've come to the wrong place. If you would be pleased, instead, by quaint rooms, peaceful surroundings, and accommodating staff, then this is your getaway. Cost of the stay might be on the pricier side, but Carmel is not a cheap place in general. By choosing this place as a destination, you pretty much agree to spend more than $150 a night for a small room. The size of the single queen room we booked might have been barely big enough for the bed, but as we intended to spend most of our time out and exploring, this was not an issue. There's no AC (which usually is fine for the oceanside town), but there's a lovely fireplace! As we visited during an exceptionally warm time, I will have to come back to use it. They serve wine and various finger foods 4:30-6pm, which is a great opportunity to just relax and converse with your partner; breakfast is delicious!! Stores and restaurants are just a walk away, and the beautiful beach is nearby as well. While you may choose to take a walk to it, we were advised to drive, as heading back into town would have been a steep uphill hike. Some suggested places to visit: The Cheese Shop, La Bicyclette, De Tierra Vineyards, Galante Vineyards, and Caraccioli Cellars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay here if there are no other options

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Oh dear. Not what I expected based on other Expedia reviews. First room was the saddest space I think I've ever seen. Dark and smelly. A larger room with more windows cost an extra $70 which I paid because the other room was too depressing. Bed was comfortable. Soaking tub was nice once it finally filled, which took 30 minutes. Overall, the place is musty, sad and shabby. Overhaul stat!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: I noticed the home on the corner next door is for sale. I would suggest they buy the property, Doze the motel and house, and start from scratch.
Location: Location is one of the best. Close to performing arts and Ocean Avenue and Carmel's great restaurants and galleries. No car needed after arriving.
This was a $ 90.00 room,max . . . even at Carmel pricing. The room was small, Shower (no tub) measured 3'x3', rest of bathroom about 4' x 5'. Toilet was the smallest I've ever seen. I have no idea how they got a three diamond rating from AAA. On a more positive note, the staff was great . . . friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kradlefrom West Coast

Great place to stay in Carmel

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a very nice hotel with excellent service. Complimentary wine and snacks in the afternoon and a full hot breakfast. Very well maintained and idyllic with a superb location. Water pressures are weak and the bathroom was small but otherwise everything was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good overall experience

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a good overall experience during a stay in Carmel. Hotel was a good value for the area and the wine & cheese and breakfast were nice touches. Only small issue was that hotel rooms don't have air conditioning, although I think that may be the case with many of the "Inn's" in the area. Overall, very enjoyable and great location in the middle of downtown Carmel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ron

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by joanfrom santa barbara

Great location

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was delightful - great service, very comfortable room, comfy beds, great location and the breakfast was ample and delicious.