Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento Calif

our stay was safe. good bed. clean. I would go bac

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: already said under experiance
Cons: already said under experiance
Location: good and not far from activites
when we needed direction the manegment was polite and helpful. I celebrated my birthday there. I was raised in Santa Cruz and memory lane was great. This is a older Motel but done very nice. I would add breakfast rolls like danish sweet rolls to breakfast. It was served very well. clean and well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento ca

Nice hotel. Not too far from beach.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
It was very clean and nice there. The bed was very comfy. The pillows were kinda flat..but wasn't that big of a deal. Overall a great hotel and good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

One night visit

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The large bathtub/ shower. The already cold refrigerator The four electrical outlets in the base of both lamps (!). The very comfortable bed.
Cons: A minor thing, but since the bathroom is fairly small, fix the bathroom door to not swing open so fast. Fortunately there is a door stop.
Location: A good walk to the Boardwalk, and also downtown. It is near a bike/jogging path along the river. Restaurants nearby also.
I arrived at 2pm, checked in, and walked to the beach. I left my car behind and walked all over Santa Cruz and got back by sunset. Everything was clean and comfortable, and spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price but I would not stay there again

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Closed to the beach.
I did not like the bathroom at all, the tub had stains and was chiped plus it was corroded all over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2015 by Islander, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cali

Hotel was a hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
A little bit of drama in the hotel between other guests. Chilly rooms. Had everything I needed and slept fine. I would stay again due to its location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient & Reasonable for Price

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Restaurants and store within very easy walking distance. Owner/wife very nice
Cons: no coffee machine in room.
Location: close to major points of interest in S. Cruz. Easy to get to from Hwy 1.
Comfortable and convenient. Several restaurants in walking distance, store 1/2 block away. Close to Ocean which is abit noisy but not too bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing fancy, always reliable.

Posted Feb 6, 2015
We stay here when visiting our son at UC Santa Cruz. It's clean, reasonably quiet (there's some car noise from the road), convenient, and there's even a little pool!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Krisfrom Woodland Hills

Simple and easy.

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
There were only 4 other cars in the lot, so it was not very busy/noisy. Several restaurants within easy walking distance. The room was simple (a little small) but everything was in good condition, clean and functional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Solid, but not glamorous

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
It's certainly nothing fancy, but it was a clean room with fairly comfy beds and a nice mounted TV unit. The office seemingly doubles as a living area for the owner, who is, how should I say....unwelcoming - as other reviews here have noted. It is really close to downtown Santa Cruz, however, which is great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento, ca

Typical beach hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Thin walls is my biggest complaint. Unfortunately this is the story of every place I've stayed at in SC. You just have to hope you don't get young energetic couples or drunks staying next to you. Parking spaces need to be relined they are way too small. And I don't get why when the hotel only has a handful of people staying, they put them all in the same area. That's annoying when you want some rest. Staff is usually good though. Breakfast is a joke.