Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2014
A very pleasant place to visit Carmel, with exceptionally goodnatured and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Excellent get away. Would love to go again and would dieffently stay at the Tradewinds
4 out of 5
by Clayton from Sacramento, CA

Great location in Carmel near all the shops!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location was the best part of this hotel.
Cons: A little pricey for the hotel type. Just under $400/night is a little high...
Location: All the Carmel shops and Ocean near. I like the Tommy Bahama store right on the same street, right up the road.
We had a great stay. Not quite the Carmel Valley Ranch, but ok. I like being close to the shops in downtown Carmel. It is a wonderful walk to the ocean. This is one of the better hotels in the area for sure. Dog friendly and the best location to walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tony A from UK

Far East Zen Influence

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked 2 nights at this hotel. On our arrival we were booked into Room 26 which is a groundfloor room. Having completed a long drive we were dissappointed the room was so dark, this was created by the balcony being surrounded by palm leaves and other tropical plants blocking out the natural light. The following morning we asked to move and we given a bright room with a wonderful lookout with a sea view. The staff were very helpful and friendly. This hotel is in a good location for the shops and restaurants. The hotel has a zen/far eastern influence in it's decore with the sound of running water as a relaxing influence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2014
very cosy Asian inspired feel I would highly recommend for a couples getaway
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from Bay Area

Will return!

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We only stayed one night, but would have willingly stayed more! Excellence is seen throughout the hotel: maintenance, service, design... and a nice walk to downtown. Probably better suited for couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colleen Renshaw from Martinez, Ca

Carmel Getaway

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was great! The hotel way very clean and quiet. There was no noise in the adjoining rooms and the room itself was very relaxing having been decorated in an Asian/Zen theme. It was also very clean with plenty of towels. The shower/bath combo was great and I think older guests would enjoy the safety bars placed on the tub, a nice touch actually. Front office staff was excellent and they show you to your room as well.
3 out of 5
by GNP from San Jose, CA

Nice rooms off the main strip but walls are thin!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Not sure if you could improve the soundproofing between floors but that would be a major bonus
Location: Had a great time having pre-dinner drinks at Grasing's down the road though wished we ate there as we didn't care for our dinner we had elsewhere.
Pros: Liked the room and ambiance. Beds were comfortable and room/bathroom was well appointed. The continental breakfast was perfect on our way out of town. There is a fire pit that they light in the evenings in the communal outdoor space. We came back from dinner too late to enjoy but loved the idea of it! Cons: We had the unfortunate luck of being on the 1st floor and heard every movement from our upstairs neighbors (luckily they were in bed before us!). This really gave the place a more "motel" like feeling. Overall good stay but perhaps not worthy of the price point? Or maybe would be good if you were on the 2nd floor?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by R. Elder from Pleasanton, Ca.

Very zen and peaceful. In the heart of town.

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I would recommend the Tradewinds for peace and relaxation. The room is cozy and well appointed. The staff is accomodating and friendly. The bathroom, about which I am fussy, is nice. We had issues with the wifi and tv and they were addressed immediately with an attitude of apology and quickly resolved. The reasonable rates are a bonus and you can walk to everything downtown. All the tourist attractions like the aquarium, butterflies and beach are 15 minutes away. Don't go during rush hour! There are fountains everywhere and the firepit and gardens are very amenable to meditation especially in the garden with the great Buddah statue and water fountain. The property is between medium and smallish. Without pretense but with such special amenities like the robes that feel like rich silk, the orchid that is given on arrival, the olive oil soaps & lotions and the amazing well tended plants and gardens. You don't see many other guests and can have the gardens or firepit to yourself. The accomodating attitude towards our pets was warm & welcoming. Christain was professional, more than competent and made us feel very welcome. As did Theresa & others with suggestions and recommendations. We consider this a special gem and we will certainly return.