Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The physical surroundings
Cons: Staff at the desk ca be more lenient and a few minutes of making a guest feel good is worth a million
Location: Great location; walking distance to shops
Arrived at the hotel at 2:40pm after a long 5 - hr drive and was not allowed to check in till 3pm . Just a flat no from Teresa that made me feel as an unwelcome guest. Considering I'm Oriental ,hospitality is utmost in our culture and should be embraced and practiced by the staff. Luckily the serenity of the place and the rest of the staff' s kind and pleasant service and made our stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Loved being so close to downtown, but very quiet area for sleeping in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove, CA

Just lovely...

Posted Jun 8, 2015
The hotel was beautiful! Just as the photos presented and very comfortable. The atmosphere was fantastic and I loved how close it was to the great restaurants and the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Georgia from San josr

An ideal Get-a-way

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
The experience was enjoyable from start to finish. The reception crew greeted us and answered our questions in a very warm and friendly manner. They were very thorough in answering g out questions. The room decor was beautiful and the Hayden landscaping was a 10. A beautiful serene environment, with soothing fountains in various parts of the garden. The morning complimentary breakfast was excellent . It catered to a healthy nutritional value and had a few indulgences as well . A perfect blend. My only grievance was that I upgraded to a "garden view" which ended up being a view of a bad of ivy growing along the wall of the building across the balcony. So, that was a bit misleading in my mind. Other then that, it was a lovely experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Zen getaway

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Quiet neighborhood, small/intimate. Nice fireplaces/patios and low key staff. Chocolate covered strawberries in the room a thoughtful touch as well as the complimentary bar snacks. Unique decor compared to nearby inns. Very zen. Only suggestions are that the mattresses could use an upgrade as could the small breakfast room. That said, very enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Victoria from The Peninsula

Beautiful boutique hotel with paper thin floors

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
My best friend and I stayed for a girls' birthday weekend. We arrived in the evening and was met with a friendly cat, delicious cookies, amazing chocolate covered strawberries, beautiful orchids, Zen-like atmosphere, just a couple blocks from downtown Carmel. Unfortunately, we had a family with a toddler and small dog staying in the floor above us and were woken up at 6:30am to the sounds of a toddler screaming, running around, slamming cabinet doors, what sounded like a clog-dance, small dog barking... FOR OVER AN HOUR. I have dogs and 4 kids, so it's not that I don't like either. However, after paying almost $400/nt, this was not the Zen getaway I had hoped for. After complaint to the front desk, some sort of restitution was promised, but I have yet to hear from the management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William from Redwood Shores

Far Eastern Gem

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
The Tradewinds Carmel is a gorgeous little boutique hotel, in the heart of Carmel-by-the-Sea designed in the style of the Pacific Rim and Far East. The staff greeted us upon check-in with an orchid stem for my wife, a puppy treat for Ruby and two chocolate covered strawberries in the room with a brief description of the amenities. That level of service continued to be offered throughout our stay and we couldn't have been happier with our experience. There is no reason to stay anywhere else in Carmel village. Absolutely loved it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bizarre Behavior

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: grounds
Cons: Better trained employees, although they were very courteous.
Location: Only shopping. Plenty of restaurants in town. Visit to "Sticks" restaurant overlooking the ocean at Spanish Bay and the bagpiper at dusk a must see.
Deluxe king room in the back of the hotel not worth $300/night. Grounds are excellent with the tropical plants and water features. Hard knock on the door with young man handing me three bags of nuts and dried fruits but did not say anything, checking to make sure our dog was not alone? Another employee visit to move my car to accommodate more cars, but there are no lines in parking lot. I said okay and parked the car in a more efficient way. (???) Only room for nine cars. We must now have someone check our room for cleanliness since we have a dog and have 11 rules to follow. No dog walking areas nearby, only asphalt and cement in the vicinity. Dining room continental breakfast was very good, employee very nice. Last gripe, people above us decided to turn on whirlpool in their tub after midnight for about an hour, so we stayed awake until they were done. Overall, not bad but cost not in line with facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

In town and close to beach

Posted Jan 15, 2015
This was our third time staying at The Tradewinds. Love everything about this hotel. Very dog friendly. Relaxing and quiet. Beds are super comfortable. Even bought the robe they have in the rooms. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. A must stay in Carmel.