Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2014
very cosy Asian inspired feel I would highly recommend for a couples getaway
3 out of 5
by GNP from San Jose, CA

Nice rooms off the main strip but walls are thin!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Not sure if you could improve the soundproofing between floors but that would be a major bonus
Location: Had a great time having pre-dinner drinks at Grasing's down the road though wished we ate there as we didn't care for our dinner we had elsewhere.
Pros: Liked the room and ambiance. Beds were comfortable and room/bathroom was well appointed. The continental breakfast was perfect on our way out of town. There is a fire pit that they light in the evenings in the communal outdoor space. We came back from dinner too late to enjoy but loved the idea of it! Cons: We had the unfortunate luck of being on the 1st floor and heard every movement from our upstairs neighbors (luckily they were in bed before us!). This really gave the place a more "motel" like feeling. Overall good stay but perhaps not worthy of the price point? Or maybe would be good if you were on the 2nd floor?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by R. Elder from Pleasanton, Ca.

Very zen and peaceful. In the heart of town.

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I would recommend the Tradewinds for peace and relaxation. The room is cozy and well appointed. The staff is accomodating and friendly. The bathroom, about which I am fussy, is nice. We had issues with the wifi and tv and they were addressed immediately with an attitude of apology and quickly resolved. The reasonable rates are a bonus and you can walk to everything downtown. All the tourist attractions like the aquarium, butterflies and beach are 15 minutes away. Don't go during rush hour! There are fountains everywhere and the firepit and gardens are very amenable to meditation especially in the garden with the great Buddah statue and water fountain. The property is between medium and smallish. Without pretense but with such special amenities like the robes that feel like rich silk, the orchid that is given on arrival, the olive oil soaps & lotions and the amazing well tended plants and gardens. You don't see many other guests and can have the gardens or firepit to yourself. The accomodating attitude towards our pets was warm & welcoming. Christain was professional, more than competent and made us feel very welcome. As did Theresa & others with suggestions and recommendations. We consider this a special gem and we will certainly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jodi from Wheatfield, IN

A very pleasing last minute reservation

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: The location to downtown Carmel was very convenient and outdoor areas are very nicely done in a tropical garden setting with lots of water features.
Location: Lots of dining and shopping options within walking distance.
We booked this hotel last minute. We wanted someplace within walking distance of downtown Carmel. We were very pleased with accommodations and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cristina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Julie from London

Beautiful room with fire place and water feature

Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a lovely hotel - no gym or laundry though and very patchy Internet. As I imagine Carmel is a logical stop off on the way from San Francisco to LA or vice Versa I think we could have made a better choice for amenities. Having said that the chocolate covered strawberries on arrival and an orchid plus the fountains in the small courtyard all added to a Lovely calm vibe and as a romantic get away would be anazing. I also didnt really rate Carmel as I thought it very overpriced and a bit pointless really - great for couples but as a stop off en route we wouldn't choose it again. This is as I say a very nice hotel if you want luxury and quiet.
1 out of 5
by Raj from Los Angeles, CA

Clogged up toilet

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Clogged up toilet that the hotel staff didn't bother to fix or give any refund back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jose

Service, charm, decor were tops

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Carmel town is a beauty and cozzy
A great place t stay. The ambiance, the location, amenities, the room and the service was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

just fine

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Could hear noise from rooms next door, including a dog, but overall was just fine. Not close to the action in town-