Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by TJ from CA

Very Clean!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Provide at least a small chair for sitting. Post on website "non smoking facility". This would have changed my mind about staying.
Location: Close driving distance to downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. On a busy street with loud traffic.
Adorable Inn! Very clean! Beautiful sitting areas outside (one with fireplace). Close to downtown. EXCEPTIONALLY small rooms! No tables/chairs, coffee pot, or room to do anything but walk around the bed to the bathroom. Bathroom was very spacious, but zero to none on counter space. Also, it doesn't state it anywhere on the website, but this is a non-smoking facility. Not on balconies, not in sitting areas. You have to walk across the street to sit at the bus stop if you want a place to sit. (that was their suggestion) All in all, a very nice Inn, however, my preference is a bigger room where you can relax, and for me personally, sitting on the bed isn't relaxing. I'd never stay here again, but there wasn't anything "wrong" with the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

Road trip

Posted Jun 6, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and nice meet all of our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brandon from CA

bad service, refuse if they offer you room #9

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
note: this hotel does not have any personnel working at night, so do not expect to have any service until the morning should you have any issues. the room was clean and nice (did not seem to have the memory foam mattress as the description noted) but the amount of noise from the offices' kitchen next door and the unit upstairs were just ridiculous. We heard loud water sounds and footsteps from both units starting at 6am on a Sunday morning...Considering the amount of money paid for the room, you wouldn't think the deluxe king room would share a wall with the washroom and kitchen, but it does. I've heard less room-to-room noise in a motel 6. We also heard all preparations being done for the continental breakfast, including dropped pans/silverware etc. The room was also next to a small parking space, where one rude individual started their car at 5am and left it running for 10-15 minutes with music playing. We also heard every conversation and crying child noises taking place on the other side of the wall during the breakfast hours. Since their office is closed until the morning, I went to speak with the gentleman at the front desk who checked me in because he was the one who upgraded me to that room, (even though I declined the upgrade). He was on the phone and the woman who was working the front desk seemed to be oblivious to my concerns and did not apologize or offer any recourse for the inconveniences. We will most definitely not be staying here again. Just a terrible experience and waste of money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from southern calif

Very comfortable

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Off season stay for 3 nights. Researched area hotels by reading reviews of hotels moderately priced. None really stand out and all have more than a few bad reviews. This hotel is just a couple blocks from main part of town but it's easy to find and easy to park. Staff was nice and very helpful. Rooms have been recently upgraded and are better than hotels charging much more. Beautiful gardens with nice fire pit. Breakfast is continental type but food is plentiful and fresh. Saved a bundle eating there rather than eating at the over priced caf├ęs in Carmel. The street the hotel is on is moderately traveled but at night it's silent. Really didn't spend much time there in middle of day. Bed was very comfortable. Only complaint would be the shower head. It takes water conservation to a new level. Overall I give this hotel a "5". I'll be going back this January.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Clean b&b with great service

Posted Dec 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights over Thanksgiving. The manager at the front desk was very nice and upgraded us to a King Deluxe room, which was still pretty small but very clean and comfortable. There was complementary breakfast, wine and cheese in the evenings, as well as a nice little courtyard with a fire pit. We had a very pleasant stay. Even though the hotel is less than a mile from downtown Carmel, it's unfortunately unwalkable, as there are no sidewalks or streetlights along the small neighborhood roads. Thankfully there is plenty of parking in downtown.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carmel visitor from From Northern California

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very much enjoyed the stay and the facility. However, it seemed like the room had just been painted as there was a very strong oder as you walked in the suite. It wasn't pleasant, but eventually one could deal with it. The window may have been missing a curtain as well, which allowed some light to come in at night - again, not perfect but it seemed like the facility had recently made some nice improvements so we didn't make a big deal about it. The customer service was great - they even walked us to our room...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautifully uniquely decorated rooms. A wine lovers retreat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark from Half Moon Bay

Vendange

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's nice but glad I didn't pay the $350.00 going rate! Rooms are very small, but nice. No sound insulation to speak of. Morning coffee very weak - beautiful silver creamer contained HORRIBLE - and cheap - flavored "cremer", and no black teas available. I feel sorry for anyone who pays full rate.