Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Kate from San Carlos, CA

Absent staff, disappointing stay

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Beautiful. Convenient location
Cons: Better service.
Location: Close to the boardwalk and beach, west cliff drive is lovely. Natural Bridges State Beach also close, but probably want to drive.
The staff called us en route to say they were going home early and we would have to use the lockbox and let ourselves in. It was 7 pm. The room was 75 degrees despite the outside temperature of 62, and there was no way to cool it down except to open the windows which do not have screens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautifully located small Inn with lovely views

Posted Apr 30, 2014
very nice room lovely wrap-around front porches for use by guests overlooking the pier and bay. full breakfast and home-made baked goods on offer and a lovely touch: wine & cheese available early evening. Santa Cruz is a lovely small city with some quite good restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val from Utah

One Bedroom Cottage

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: The cottage was behind the Inn and we liked the privacy and then being able to go over to the Inn for wine and food and breakfast. Location to beach.
Cons: Coffee machine was on a small table & difficult access. Couldn't turn on the cold water without moving the soap dispenser (counter space limited).
Location: Just walk across street and down to Santa Cruz Pier. Close to a lot of places to eat on the pier and small shops.
We stayed in the one bedroom cottage behind the West Cliff Inn. We walked a short distance to Santa Cruz Pier and upon returning to the Inn they had wine and food for all their guests. Most other guests took the food and wine to their rooms. However, we stayed and sat in the living room and watched the sun set. The cottage is small but has everything you need. The coffee machine was hard to get to but coffee is always accessible in the Inn and our breakfast was excellent with fruit and Eggs Florentine, juices, teas, etc. Everyone was really nice and we would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Florida

A Great Place to Stay

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a truely remarkable place if you are into beautifully restored historic buildings - it also has great views of the bay, and it's within walking distance to the Pier & beaches. The breakfast (included) was awesome too. The only problems I found was the vehicle access in and out of the parking area was tricky, whoever designed the turning lane should go back to traffic school - the visibility of oncoming traffic (especially when exiting) is limited - and approaching cars seem to travel too fast as they come up the hill and around the turn. There should definately be some warning signs posted on the road to slow the traffic down as they approach this area. Also, there are no elevators, or lifts - and this is a three floor building (and we were on the 3rd floor) - so if you are not up to climbing stairs - definately reserve a room on the lower floors. I also suggest limiting the size of bags that you bring in (unless you are going to be there for a while) - as hauling baggage of any size up the steps is challanging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Break from SF

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good rates, hot breakfast included, location to beach & wharf, comfort of room, great service by staff, and fresh baked cookies daily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff

Beautiful Victorian overlooking the beach

Posted Sep 19, 2013
The building is amazing. The location is great. The breakfast was mediocre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Suzy H. from San Diego, CA

Close to pier and boardwalk without the hotel feel

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was a real gem with it's victorian charm and home-like feel. The only complaint about our room was that the weather was unusually hot during our 2-day stay so we had to open the windows all the time and, because there were no screens on the window, our room was full of flies. Also, the big window of our room had no sheers so there was no privacy when the drapes were drawn. But the staff was friendly and helpful and the amenities nice. We were able to walk to the Boardwalk and the Pier for great crab dinners!