Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, UK

Great location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Location, quality, staff and parking
Cons: Hard to find fault but air con would possibly be the only thing I could think of.
Location: Boardwalk, pier, beach all within minutes walk.
Sat slightly above the boardwalk, close enough to see all the sights (most from our room or the balcony that wraps around) but far enough away to be quiet and away from the crowds. Great overnight stop although we wished we could have stayed longer. Nice to have breakfast included as well as the wine and cheese in the evening, very welcome after a car journey. The pier is less then 10 minutes walk and has a huge selection of restaurants to choose from and our selection, Fire Fish Grill, was great food and at reasonable prices. Check out the sea lions along the pier, great entertainment!
3 out of 5
by Kate from San Carlos, CA

Absent staff, disappointing stay

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Beautiful. Convenient location
Cons: Better service.
Location: Close to the boardwalk and beach, west cliff drive is lovely. Natural Bridges State Beach also close, but probably want to drive.
The staff called us en route to say they were going home early and we would have to use the lockbox and let ourselves in. It was 7 pm. The room was 75 degrees despite the outside temperature of 62, and there was no way to cool it down except to open the windows which do not have screens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lisa from Hughson

Perfect!

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We absolutely loved our stay here! The hotel is within walking distance to almost everything we wanted to do. We brought our bikes so we could literally get anywhere in town within 5 minutes. The staff was pleasant, the breakfast was delicious and our room was large and beautiful! I wouldn't have changed a thing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deana from California

Great Victorian, Beautifully restored.

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The jetted tub in the 3rd floor spa room was wonderful. Very relaxing and soothing. Not much of a view, only 1 window and it was very small. Well worth it though. Great location, walking distance to the pier and boardwalk. Comfy bed and seating area. The breakfast was nice, pancakes, english muffins, fresh baked scones, juice, coffee, cold cereal, and fresh fruit. Very enjoyable experience, hopefully will be able to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautifully located small Inn with lovely views

Posted Apr 30, 2014
very nice room lovely wrap-around front porches for use by guests overlooking the pier and bay. full breakfast and home-made baked goods on offer and a lovely touch: wine & cheese available early evening. Santa Cruz is a lovely small city with some quite good restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Scott from Cupertino, CA

Good Stay - View not as Good as you would think.

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good Stay - View not as Good as you would think.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by MarkC from Nottingham

Excellent B & B (not Hotel!)

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was excellent, but note that it closes at 8 pm every night - we had problems getting in at 9 pm because we weren't aware of this.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Bait and Switch

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Saw a wonderful picture of a Victorian building and ended up staying in a refurbished tool shed. Barely room for a bed and a bathroom. Very disappointed in the room. Fab breakfasts though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val from Utah

One Bedroom Cottage

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: The cottage was behind the Inn and we liked the privacy and then being able to go over to the Inn for wine and food and breakfast. Location to beach.
Cons: Coffee machine was on a small table & difficult access. Couldn't turn on the cold water without moving the soap dispenser (counter space limited).
Location: Just walk across street and down to Santa Cruz Pier. Close to a lot of places to eat on the pier and small shops.
We stayed in the one bedroom cottage behind the West Cliff Inn. We walked a short distance to Santa Cruz Pier and upon returning to the Inn they had wine and food for all their guests. Most other guests took the food and wine to their rooms. However, we stayed and sat in the living room and watched the sun set. The cottage is small but has everything you need. The coffee machine was hard to get to but coffee is always accessible in the Inn and our breakfast was excellent with fruit and Eggs Florentine, juices, teas, etc. Everyone was really nice and we would stay there again.