Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

A Room with a View

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The wonderful views, the remote location, the brilliant staff and the good breakfasts.
Cons: Bed wasn't the most comfortable and room facilites are basic but all that pales into insignificance when you see the view.
Location: The lodge is high in the mountains, a 20 min downhill walk into Santa Elena for shops and restaurants and a 1200 colones taxi fare back up - perfect.
We stayed in Cala Lodge for 2 nights and changed rooms on check in from a lovely big family room in the main lodge to a smaller cabin room with a balcony. We wanted to be able to sit out and admire the fantastic views which were worth the money on their own. The breakfasts were great and the staff were very friendly and willing to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable as possible. They have wonderful grounds with wildlife spotting encouraged by a bird table of fruit and an agouti trail on the grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stay and value

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay here - staff were excellent and will help you organize anything you need from transportation to tour bookings; breakfast was excellent. Rooms were very comfortable and each have their own private patio or veranda. It's set off in the trees so you can see wildlife right here but you can also easily walk into town although it is a steep climb back up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel moyen

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: L'environnement dans la nature, la proximité du village.
Cons: Les chambres devraient être rénovées. Il faudrait une piscine. L'isolation entre les chambres est trop faible.
Location: Monterverde, Cloud forest
Hôtel joli mais sans équipement particulier. Les chambres sont petites. La salle de bain devrait être rénovée. Le petit déjeuner est correct. La route pour accéder à Monteverde n'est pas goudronnée. Route difficile sur plusieurs kilomètres.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville, CA

Wonderful Retreat with Excellent Staff

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff, the atmosphere, the cozy feel
Cons: Not much. I would say improve the rooms, but I think they add to the charm of the place
Location: So much to do! Guided night tours, Selvatura hanging bridges tour.
Cala Lodge was a wonderful experience starting with the check-in. The man who checked us in (I wish I remembered his name!) was so friendly. He took the time to explain the general area, including things to do, places to eat, and how to get around. He asked us about our plans and immediately booked us on a guided night tour for that night. We were originally thinking we needed to pre-book activities, but now I'm so glad we didn't. He took care of everything. The lodge/lobby area is very comfortable with places to eat, couches to lounge on, bookshelf full of books of things to know about Costa Rica and its wildlife. The deck around back is a wonderful spot to enjoy the view and wait for birds to come out. The room itself was just fine. A cozy room with a big shower. It was great for us because we weren't planning on spending much time in the room. Even if we were, it would have been fine. We just would have had to be on the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by NAFTALI

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gayle from Chicagp

Hidden Gem

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
This is a hidden gem. Conveniently located to town and easily walkable. Eva is wonderful and will go the extra mile to help you. Watching wildlife while eating your breakfast is unbelievable. Added bonus is the waitstaff' excitement and interest in the wildlife adds to experience. Room was clean and comfy with a fantastic view. A must to stay at while in Monteverde.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 2, 2015
We loved this hotel. The views are amazing and the staff is so friendly. Best breakfast we've had in Costa Rica. We would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lula, Ga

Great place for nature covers

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Lots of room with everything you need. Within walking distance of butterfly garden and restaurant. Beautiful trail to lodging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susanne from Gloggnitz

Angenehme Lodge in ruhiger Umgebung

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Etwas abseits gelegene,an einen Wald grenzende Lodge mit großen, schönen Zimmern mit Panoramafenster im Haupthaus. Obwohl kein Frühstück bei der Reservierung angeboten wurde, bekamen wir ein sehr großzügiges nach Wunsch serviert, das nicht verrechnet wurde.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg FL

Great locaion/room too small

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds.
Cons: Include a few more amenities in he room such as a table and chair. Our bedroom was marketed as a 2 bed bedroom, it really is the size for 1 bed.
The hotel has a secluded, beautiful location which was marred for us by the size of the room. We had a great view but had no room to put our bags other than the floor by the window and door. We were there for 3 nights and being an older couple, found it inconvenient to have to kneel on the floor to get our stuff.