Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great lodge!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Location: Location was good! So many things close by to do, day and night! If you don't have your own transportation, there is plenty of taxis.
Great location, room 6 had an amazing view! Breakfast was really nice, fruit with a choice of 4 options. All the staff and owners are so friendly and would help you out with anything! There is no phones in the room, but reception will help call taxis, tours, food, ect for you! There is also no tv but with the view and the sounds of the forest you really don't need one at all! The grounds are nice, the photos don't do it justice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Rustic and beautiful in Monteverde

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The staff and the beautiful rooms!
Cons: When it was especially windy and rainy, some water would come in around the door. Maybe this could be sealed better?
Location: Close to all reserves and an easy taxi ride or a good walk into town. We also went on the Don Juan coffee, chocolate, and sugar cane tour - very cool.
We stayed at the Cala Lodge during what is their "winter," and although it was colder and rainier than we were expecting, our room was never too cold and we had plenty of blankets to keep warm (also, fully functioning hot water - not a given in Costa Rica!). My husband and I were perfectly comfortable here, as were my middle-aged parents. The wood in the cabins and the lodge is beautiful and smelled nice, too, giving the facilities a special, rustic touch. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, helping us to have a wonderful visit and to feel right at home. Breakfast was good, as were the views. The hotel is not super close to the variety of restaurants in Santa Elena, but it is walking distance to several good ones (I would recommend DeLucia's and The Green).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pedro from Dublin

charming lodge in a peaceful environment

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
it was great. the place is lovely and the view from the room on the forest is amazing. Toucans live right by the lodge and you can see them at any moments. Awesome quality for the price. The breakfast is a little bit simple and could be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by PJS

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff are very friendly. The hotel is off the main road so it was very quiet with an amazing view. Nice new and comfortable rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ashley from Boynton Beach, FL

Perfect mountain lodge!

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Raquel and Francisco have a great thing going here. Amazing views, great breakfast, help with scheduling tours, etc. Large bathroom with great water pressure, comfy beds. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lisa from Wisconsin

What a Beautiful Lodge with Beautiful Views

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were so pleased to find this lovely lodge with incredible views of Arenal. Gorgeous grounds and hikes around the area were spectacular - especially the hike up to see the view of the lake and volcano. The hike with Miguel was great. We loved our rooms with the lovely woodwork and character - and the porches overlooking the grounds and the view could not have been better. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from St Paul, MN

Neat location among the hill forest

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cala Lodge was a very good choice in the Monteverde area. Excellent personal attention by the staff and owners who really want to make your stay pleasant. There are many opportunities to get outdoors staying here with a few nice options within close walking distance for dinner/grocery. The only difficult part was being away from most of the downtown area and a little too far to walk to the cloud forest. Luckily the staff is eager to call taxis for you if necessary. The only real problem was the very loud wind noise which may be partially due to the location of our specific room which made it impossible to sleep comfortably.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Amy from Colorado

Tranquility in the rainforest

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Francisco, owner, (also designed and built the lodge) happily checked us in early and was so helpful in immediately booking our activities- ziplining and a night hike- and dinner recommendations as well. The lodge is quiet, peaceful and perfect for monteverde. The rooms are all wood and quaint- no tv, heat or air conditioning- none of which are needed at all- as temps were perfect and the blankets on the beds were even needed. The views off the deck were amazing and it feels like you are all alone on the hillside of the rainforest - yet very close to town and restaurants to walk to. The breakfast was good- cooked to order- and many birds could be seen from the deck while eating and wildlife too. Francisco was so kind and an excellent host- our family would definitely return and this peaceful setting was exactly what we like when traveling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pete from Boulder Creek, CA

quiet part of monte verde

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stumbled across this lodge by pure luck and were very happy. It is a bit outside of Monte Verde, but not so far as to make it difficult to get around. It is in its own little first, off the main drag. Breakfast was good, service good with access to all the area tours, and the rooms, although a little small, were intelligently and beautifully conducted.