Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Canada

Petit paradis

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Excellent lodge au coeur de la forêt de nuages. Grandes chambres avec fenêtres immenses permettant d observer les singes et les oiseaux même lorsqu on est au lit! Il faut savoir cependant qu il se trouve en dehors du village de Santa Helena, environ 20 minutes a pied. Restaurants à partir de 5 minutes à pied. Tous les tours et activités viennent cueillir les clients directement au lodge, donc ne pas hésiter a y séjourner même si on est un voyageur à pied comme nous. Parfait pour les amants de la nature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed the view, the cleanliness of the room, the comfort and all around a good experience.
Cons: Our room was loud because of the wind, but I think most other rooms were protected.
The hotel was great and was in a good location in Monteverde. The view was spectacular from our room and the staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice B&B close to national park

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Very friendly staff, we had a great room - it feels like waking up in the Forrest - hearing the birds and looking right into the Forrest when you open the window. Certainly enjoyed the help at reception to book dinner and plan our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful B&B in Monteverde

Posted Jan 1, 2015
My husband and I travelled in Costa Rica with our adult daughter. Cala Lodge was our favourite accommodation during our trip. The hosts are kind and helpful, also making reservations for any tours you might want to do. Our room and private bathroom were large, clean and very comfortable, with excellent mattresses. The B&B is quiet, but close to all attractions in the area. Breakfast was wonderful and and abundant. You can eat inside or out on the terrace. Coffee and tea are available in the afternoon, which is nice when you get back from a tour or hike and can sit quietly relaxing with a hot drink. The B&B is set in natural grounds and one can watch different animals and birds while sitting in the lounge or on the terrace. We really enjoyed our stay at Cala Lodge and felt we were seeing real Tican hospitality - unobtrusive, friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Lovely, quiet location

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Quiet, clean, convenient, comfortable bed, great shower.
Location: Location was a little out of Town so was quiet. Tour buses will pick you up from the hotel. Restaurants are walking distance away.
We very much enjoyed our stay here. Lovely views, quiet location yet close to the Town and the activities. Room was clean, functional and comfortable. The owner was very helpful with tours. Breakfast was very satisfying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Very helpful staff. Nice location slightly outside of the main town and surrounded by trees.
Nice location slightly outside of the main town and surrounded by trees. Larger units with kitchenettes would be great for families. Smaller rooms are higher up and have good views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Great lodge!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Location: Location was good! So many things close by to do, day and night! If you don't have your own transportation, there is plenty of taxis.
Great location, room 6 had an amazing view! Breakfast was really nice, fruit with a choice of 4 options. All the staff and owners are so friendly and would help you out with anything! There is no phones in the room, but reception will help call taxis, tours, food, ect for you! There is also no tv but with the view and the sounds of the forest you really don't need one at all! The grounds are nice, the photos don't do it justice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Elisafrom Finland

Great place to stay in Monteverde!

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here two nights in July and enjoyed our stay. First of all, the customer service is superb! The lady in the reception was super friendly and had great knowledge of the trips and things to do in the area. She also arranged us very good transportation to the Nicaraguan border with few phone calls whereas the guy in the tourist information in the centre of Santa Elena clearly wasn't aware of the proper options. Cala Lodge is a bit out of the centre of Santa Elena, however, there are nice restaurants and grocery store just close to Cala Lodge, about 5-10 minutes by foot. The location is really beautiful and rooms clean with balconies and great room height. Breakfast is simple, yet tasty. During our stay there was heavy wind and the noise it made affected sleeping quality. Also wifi was down in the area for about a day. However, these are things out of the control of the hotel and could well be expected in a bit remote location as Monteverde is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, VA

Rustic and beautiful in Monteverde

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The staff and the beautiful rooms!
Cons: When it was especially windy and rainy, some water would come in around the door. Maybe this could be sealed better?
Location: Close to all reserves and an easy taxi ride or a good walk into town. We also went on the Don Juan coffee, chocolate, and sugar cane tour - very cool.
We stayed at the Cala Lodge during what is their "winter," and although it was colder and rainier than we were expecting, our room was never too cold and we had plenty of blankets to keep warm (also, fully functioning hot water - not a given in Costa Rica!). My husband and I were perfectly comfortable here, as were my middle-aged parents. The wood in the cabins and the lodge is beautiful and smelled nice, too, giving the facilities a special, rustic touch. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, helping us to have a wonderful visit and to feel right at home. Breakfast was good, as were the views. The hotel is not super close to the variety of restaurants in Santa Elena, but it is walking distance to several good ones (I would recommend DeLucia's and The Green).
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com