Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by GW from Vancouver, Canada

BAD

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Better beds, cleaner bathrooms, friendlier staff
Location: close to national park and downtown Fortuna
Experienced car problems and could not make it there in time for the lst of the 2 nights that we booked. Driving is a real challenge and car rental are not in the best condition. The front desk was not understanding at all and charged us for 2 nights. The room was dark and small and we ended it sleeping in the bunk beds as the double bed was too uncomfortable to sleep in . A sewer odor came from the bathroom. It was a good thing that we only spent one night. Of our 2 weeks stay in Costa Rico, this was the only place where that the staff WASN'T pleasant and helpful.. It did not ruin our great trip and we will definitely come back to Costa Rica, but not to this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon from Toronto, Ontario

Excellent staff/owners.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The staff and owners were very welcoming and friendly.
Cons: Less beds in the private rooms. A few little bugs in our room as well, but it was to be expected in such a rustic setting.
Location: The 100% Adventura zip lining tour is excellent, I would highly recommend it to any visitors to Monteverde.
Camino Verde is an excellent B&B in Monteverde. The rooms are rustic, but this is common place in this town, and reflected in the price. You won't find better value in Monteverde. Andres is very helpful in planning any activities you'd like to do and is always smiling and friendly. The staff makes a wonderful, healthy breakfast each morning. It felt as though we were staying at a friends place for a few nights. My only drawback is that there were too many beds in our private room, which made the room feel smaller and made it feel as though we were staying in a hostel dorm. But other than that, it is located in a great spot and is a great location for a night or two in Monteverde.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kristin from Montana

Loved It!

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great for those on a budget. 5 minute walk from downtown. Breakfast is delicious!! Jose the manager is super cool, friendly and accommodating. Will def be back! Not disappointed at all except maybe the comfort of the mattress. It was extra firm. Small price to pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would Recommend

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Overall I would highly recommend this place! The hotel check-in for the hotel was gorgeous with lots of natural building material. The host was wonderful and really took his time with explaining the area to us. The odd thing was we checked into the Camino Verde then walked across the street to another hotel building that had a sign for Atardecer. This joint-hotel was also very nice. Pros: Staff was excellent. Felt very safe. Everything was very clean. Lots of great community/reading space. Great breakfast. Walking distance to everything. Con: Our room had paperthin walls with the neighboring rooms. Overall, I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Keri Fockler from Brampton, ON

great breakfast, great value!

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel takes great care of their guests, the breakfasts are amazing. good people, good time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by susan from toronto, canada

Reasonably priced hotel close to town

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: The room was very clean with new curtains and new shower curtain. The staff was very helpful and friendly. the breakfast was good, with five choices.
Cons: When you book a room for four and it is obvious that they are two couples they should be accommodated in two double beds, not bunk beds, like a hostel
Location: Location is excellent if you don't have a car....everything in the town is within walking distance, including restaurants, loved the Treehouse rest.
We arrived fairly late and stayed two nights at Camino Verde bed and breakfast. We were warmly welcomed by Jose the owner. Though we had our own car, the hotel is idealy located for those arriving by tour bus or taxi. It is a five minute walk to Supercompro (a large super market) and the downtown area. We were a little disappointed with our room as I expected two double beds as we were two couples, but instead the small room had two bunk beds and one double bed in the centre. It was very crowded with no room for even a chair. But it was very clean and the mattresses were decent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sal from Canada

Cant recommend this place enough!

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing friendly staff, Jose and Andres treat you like family. Shared kitchen available for your use, amazing views and great location, 5min walk from the centre of town. Breakfast in the morning was really nice, included fast wifi, iPad use and local phone calls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place close to town

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff. The convenient location.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Lots of restaurants close by. Easy shuttles to the activities in Monteverde.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice. The location was very convenient - walking distance to the center of Santa Elena.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cody from NY

Incredible quality for the price..

Posted Feb 16, 2014
We loved this hotel. It was in the perfect part of town where it is quiet, close to the cheaper restaurants, and a few minutes walk to anything. The staff were very friendly - Jose will get you set up for any transportation, activity, or tour efficiently and even at a last minute's notice. Breakfast was excellent as well.