Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view and nice updated room

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: modern but felt like it was part of its surroundings. Not overly commercial yet very comfortable and affordable.
Cons: parking up near the rooms.
Location: lots of outdoor activities and local restaurants to explore.
We arrived mid afternoon and couldn't check in but the front desk was great and let us store our bags while we went ziplining! Came back and went to our room, it was great. Big, high ceilings with a huge bathroom. Loved the deck and the view. We were in room 721 so could see sunset, the water and the clouds comng from the rainforest. Made for a nice rainbow!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Good hotel, but difficult to get around the resort

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The hotel was nice, but had a few issues. The extra costs/fees for our family of 5 to share a room were unreasonable. Also, it was very difficult to get to the hotel (the last hour of the 5 hour drive from San Jose Airport was on an unpaved bumby road). Even getting around the hotel property was difficult and required having to use a shuttle to get to the pool and other amenities. On the plus side, the staff was nice, especially the front staff. The views and setting were great and the hotel was walking distance to much better food than was served on the property (We suggest Johnny's, Don Luis, and Taco Taco). Although we enjoyed our visit, we probably would not come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Okay hotel, beautiful view, nice staff

Posted Apr 10, 2015
This hotel is moderate. The views are fantastic, the best part. We had a room with a loft, which was nice, but the rooms are rustic with lots of wood paneling. It felt like we were in the 70's living in Three's Company. The breakfast wasn't very good and very much like being in a cafeteria. Didn't eat at their other restaurant which you have to have reservations for. The pool near the reception desk was hard to see the bottom so I wouldn't let our children go in b/c they aren't the best swimmers. Plus this one had bugs in it. There is another pool up the hill which is much nicer, plus they have a small bar up there to order drinks. Much cleaner and able to see the bottom. All staff was very nice and personable. Bottom line, if you like rustic and not all the upscale stuff it's a great hotel. If you are looking for a little more luxury, not the best place. It's an okay hotel for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mexico

Bonito hotel, pero muy caro para lo que ofrece

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: La vista
Cons: Las almohadas, colchones, baños, y la atención del personal
Bonito concepto, un poco viejo, muy caro, desayuno incluido regular, la atención de los recepcionistas terrible, la atención de los meseros muy buena, excelentes vistas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the nicest hotels in Monteverde

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The hotel staff was very helpful with pre-arrival questions and at check in. We had our own car and were able to park by our unit but I could see how walking up or down to the 9 different units would be tough. The shuttle runs up and down so that is an option. But we could hear it all the time from our room. The grounds are beautiful. They have a heated pool up near unit 5 a d another regular pool by unit 1. The one restaurant used for the free breakfast is at the very bottom of the facility. They also do Lunch and dinner. We did not check it out. We did go to their very nice restaurant up the hill. The food was excellent and the staff was wonderful. The honeymoon suite we were in was very nice. But, as people have mentioned their is no door to the toilet and no toilet paper holder. Very strange. My only complaint is they do not offer internet in the rooms. Very hard to go without when it can be used to find things to do and places to eat via the web.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alajuela, CRC

Excellent view from the room

Posted Apr 5, 2015
This is one of the Best mountain hotel I have been acommodate, it has a great view, service, location and breakfast. We stayed one night in a deluxe room, the biggest room in our block.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston, usa

needs to know

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: the morning buffet breakfast.
Cons: front desk reception staff.
the lights are very tricky, you must insert your room key into a socket to have the lights on. do not pay for the walk either morning or night, you can do it for free just yoursel. front desk supervisor lacked customer service. not friendly at all. if you do not expect an inviting front desk reception the place is ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was better then other hotels on our trip with far more offerings, restaurant at the top of the hill had a beautiful view and friendly staff.
Cons: this is a nice upper end hotel and neither of the two pools were heated. Because of the wind and location of the property a heated pool is needed.
Location: not a bad walk into town. mostly down hill!
Easy to walk into town and downhill from your room. The shuttle up the hill to your room is a must and was simple and often.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new hampshire

Hotel designed for large tour groups.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The views were beautiful, rooms clean and comfortable.
Cons: When the large tours come in the staff is to busy to deal with regular guest. Breakfast could have hundreds of guests or ten depending on the tours.
Location: Zip line Extremo!! Wow, not for the faint of heart.
Although the facility is beautiful it is designed for large tour groups. We did not have a car so we relied on the shuttle system for the hotel. More then half the time we ended up walking because the wait for the shuttle was excessive at best. If you don't have a car do not stay at this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Tx

Cloud Mountain Resort

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Staff and Views
Cons: Internet access should be expanded as it realistically only works in lobby area.
Location: Mountain and trail walking including night hike.
Monteverde is fairly remote location with hotel located up on the mountain with great views. Excellent spot to stop for a couple of days of exposure to nature and forest. Bring a rain coat and a camera. Staff are very friendly. If you want a longer stay make sure to have transport arrangement. Location is well setup to handle visitors of all ages from very young to those needing assistance. Level of physical activity required is up to the guest.