Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fl

Wonderful volcano view

Posted May 8, 2015
Very comfortable beds, awesome staff, wonderful hot spring pools, and breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Overpriced for the value

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Good hiking trails onsite. The shuttle service save the strenuous hike back up to our building.
Cons: The pool, breakfast, and internet access were below average for the cost of the room.
Location: Good location close to the cloud forest and walking distance to off-site restaurants.
Brutal drive both to and from this hotel. Roads were terrible. I expected a lot more for our room rate but was disappointed to find a dated hotel with 1 of the 2 restaurants closed. No A/C in the rooms and, if you walked back up to one of the higher buildings, you needed a shower to cool off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The views and sunsets were amazing and the staff was lovely. Breakfast was a good spread.
Location: The hotel has it's own zip line and night walks which was very convienient as some of the larger zip line operations are 30 -40 minutes away.
We stayed here for 2 nights. There are lovely views and sunsets. The pool was very nice. Staff were very helpful and accomodating. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The bathrooms have as a very large tub and and even larger walk-in shower. We did the night walk at the hotel and Ronnie our quide was amazing showing us so many creatures we would have otherwise walked by. He had a great sense of humor as well. Being first time zip liners we did the hotel zip line and loved it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kamloops, BC, Canada

Hotel spread over a hillside.

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Staff were excellent.
Cons: Preparation of room.
Location: Lots of nearby activities once you get to the location. Very poor road for last 21k which took 40 dusty minutes. Hikes, zip lines, ATVs, horses
Shuttles were required to reach the reception and restaurant for the majority of rooms. The rooms had good views of the Monterverde Hills and area. Room had no coffee machine. Requested one but got no cups. Only 2 electrical outlets. One in bathroom and one under a desk. No wifi in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom connecticut

beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: very clean, well kept, nice landscaping. owner (owners) must pay very close attention to details in running the place. Breakfast was great!
Cons: ha... the roads leading to the place.
a pleasant surprise after an awful long three hours trip on gravel roads... (with big rocks and potholes everywhere) The place is beautiful on a hill side. The way the place is built guaranteed every room has a the view. Very high end place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view and nice updated room

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: modern but felt like it was part of its surroundings. Not overly commercial yet very comfortable and affordable.
Cons: parking up near the rooms.
Location: lots of outdoor activities and local restaurants to explore.
We arrived mid afternoon and couldn't check in but the front desk was great and let us store our bags while we went ziplining! Came back and went to our room, it was great. Big, high ceilings with a huge bathroom. Loved the deck and the view. We were in room 721 so could see sunset, the water and the clouds comng from the rainforest. Made for a nice rainbow!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Good hotel, but difficult to get around the resort

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The hotel was nice, but had a few issues. The extra costs/fees for our family of 5 to share a room were unreasonable. Also, it was very difficult to get to the hotel (the last hour of the 5 hour drive from San Jose Airport was on an unpaved bumby road). Even getting around the hotel property was difficult and required having to use a shuttle to get to the pool and other amenities. On the plus side, the staff was nice, especially the front staff. The views and setting were great and the hotel was walking distance to much better food than was served on the property (We suggest Johnny's, Don Luis, and Taco Taco). Although we enjoyed our visit, we probably would not come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Okay hotel, beautiful view, nice staff

Posted Apr 10, 2015
This hotel is moderate. The views are fantastic, the best part. We had a room with a loft, which was nice, but the rooms are rustic with lots of wood paneling. It felt like we were in the 70's living in Three's Company. The breakfast wasn't very good and very much like being in a cafeteria. Didn't eat at their other restaurant which you have to have reservations for. The pool near the reception desk was hard to see the bottom so I wouldn't let our children go in b/c they aren't the best swimmers. Plus this one had bugs in it. There is another pool up the hill which is much nicer, plus they have a small bar up there to order drinks. Much cleaner and able to see the bottom. All staff was very nice and personable. Bottom line, if you like rustic and not all the upscale stuff it's a great hotel. If you are looking for a little more luxury, not the best place. It's an okay hotel for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mexico

Bonito hotel, pero muy caro para lo que ofrece

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: La vista
Cons: Las almohadas, colchones, baños, y la atención del personal
Bonito concepto, un poco viejo, muy caro, desayuno incluido regular, la atención de los recepcionistas terrible, la atención de los meseros muy buena, excelentes vistas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the nicest hotels in Monteverde

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The hotel staff was very helpful with pre-arrival questions and at check in. We had our own car and were able to park by our unit but I could see how walking up or down to the 9 different units would be tough. The shuttle runs up and down so that is an option. But we could hear it all the time from our room. The grounds are beautiful. They have a heated pool up near unit 5 a d another regular pool by unit 1. The one restaurant used for the free breakfast is at the very bottom of the facility. They also do Lunch and dinner. We did not check it out. We did go to their very nice restaurant up the hill. The food was excellent and the staff was wonderful. The honeymoon suite we were in was very nice. But, as people have mentioned their is no door to the toilet and no toilet paper holder. Very strange. My only complaint is they do not offer internet in the rooms. Very hard to go without when it can be used to find things to do and places to eat via the web.