Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Lovely property, Great Staff

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The staff were excellent!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Sabor Tico is just down the hill from this hotel. It has the best food I've tasted in Costa Rica(I have now been here for 9 days).
We fully enjoyed our stay at this hotel. My wife,daughter and I spent three nights here. We were very happy with the accommodations as well as the included breakfast. The front office staff made all of our arrangements for tours. We were happy with their recommendations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tom from Washington DC

Great hotel for family and budget

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness
Cons: The road getting to the hotel
The staff is beyond accommodating. They will help book tours and find anything you need. And the two toed sloth that lives above the hotel is a nice touch.
3 out of 5
by Zhaq from Boston, MA

It is all relative

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: relatively good review for a hotel close to town center
Cons: for one, get rid of that bathroom smell.
we have compared several hotels nearby. This one is relatively OK. It is close to town center by walking distance. There are other ones with better review, but far away from town. The room is not sound proof. I can hear clearly unpleasant sound from bathroom of next room. Our own bath room has a stinky smell from sewage. Shower water is like drizzle down. Breakfast is very simple, like egg + pancake + fruit for everybody.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jeannie from port Townsend, Wa

A convenient hotel away from the town

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and being away from town.
Cons: Better soundproofing.
Location: Day walks, night walks, SkyTrek, hanging bridges, zip lining, abundant flora and fauna!
We stayed for three days. The hotel was very basic, but very clean with a wonderful balcony and a resident sloth that was very active one one afternoon. Staff booked a night walk for us on their property a short distance from the hotel. The walk into town is downhill and takes about 15 minutes. But for us, taking a cab back was necessary. Our only complaint about the hotel is that the walls are very thin and we could hear one neighbor snore, the neighboring TV, etc. also, as there are houses in the neighborhood, there were many dogs that barked a lot! The staff was fantastic, the included breakfast, substantial...we would stay here again! We did walk at dawn to see the Quetzal! Night walk was perfect, Sky Trek, hanging bridges and zip lining all so much fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jonathan from New York, NY

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was the perfect hotel for our quick stop in Monteverde. All we needed was a clean room with a nice bed to sleep in and a good breakfast. Sabor Taco was an excellent dinner choice (we ate at the one that is not in the mall area).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patrick from Ottawa

Close to the town

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room could of been a bit more clean. The front-desk was very helpful in suggesting and booking activities for us. The hotel is close to everything in town. The breakfast is rather average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by RIMike from Tampa, FL

Great place for Santa Elena/Monteverde

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
While this isn't the top line hotel in the area, it was more than adequate for our stay in the Monteverde area to see the world famous Cloud Forest Preserve. WE enjoyed our rooms, with a nice balcony overlooking the mountains. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. We found the water to warm in the shower, but not a lot of pressure. The other couple complained that the tile in their shower was very slick. Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would have no problem return to it again.
3 out of 5
by icarus627 from san francisco

Decent but noisy

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Stayed two nights here and didn't sleep very well. The hotel had paper thin walls and doors. We could hear the people talking in the room next to us and the people playing music downstairs. The staff was really nice but I wouldn't stay here again. The water in the hotel wasn't hot enough for a comfortable shower either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great Value for the Price and Location

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We went to Hotel Cipreses after having spent two nights in a lodge that seemed much more like a very low end hostel in the middle of nowhere. With that said, Hotel Cipreses would have seemed like a 5-star hotel in comparison. It was far from fancy and had basic accommodations (including a pretty firm and not so comfortable bed), however, it was a very clean hotel and room, and was definitely way above the Motel 8 level of hotel that would be within that price range in the US. the front desk staff was very nice (they gave everyone fresh watermelon juice upon check-in), and the complimentary breakfast was very good. It was about a 10 minute walk into the downtown Monteverde area with the restaurants, but it is only a 1 mil cab ride ($2 US), so everything is easily accessible. I would stay again!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

dirty bathroom

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
smelly bathroom . Beds ok but all bedding very old and needs urgent replacement. Had tears in it. breakfast good. service good. nice garden