Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael from US

Almost perfect

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service was great here, esp the restaurant leader/waiter! He accommodated our personal schedule on short time with their delicious breakfast. The room was nice though was not aware of lack of A/C. Was quite hot in daytime after (wallking) climbing hill back to hotel from the nearby town. Breeze and sliding glass doors were good alternate cooling esp at night. Obscure glass at bathroom facing driveway was uncomfortable. Overall enjoyed our over night stay though. Nice location and grounds well kept and everything clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
A great hotel but a little too close to the town for our comfort - we would have preferred to be deeper in the forest. Rooms are huge and the service was great.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Construction till 3am

Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
There is a heavy machinery workshop next to the hotel. They were working till 3am and that was the time we could start sleeping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Californa, US

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, great staff. We were here for 3 days in April 2013. The rooms are large yet private. Great view of Monteverde. Beautiful sunsets. They’re clean and neat. Loved the shower. It was pretty big. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was great with a great view as well. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful for what we needed. We were going to eat in the restaurant one of the nights we were there, but they said the restaurant was closed, but their sister hotel had a restaurant and they had transportation to it for their clients. Maybe they don’t have enough staff to keep it open I guess. Every time we had breakfast we were the only ones in the restaurant. But that made it more enjoyable. I just wish they had internet in the rooms. You have to go to the lobby to use it. Also, you need to be pretty fit to go into town. Santa Elena is within walking distance, but the streets are really steep to get down there and get back. So if you’re a little older, you might want to get a taxi even though the town is right there. It only costs a couple of bucks. We hiked it the first two nights we were there and took a taxi the last night. If we were younger, I’d hike it all the time because it was good exercise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bonnie from Chicago

Huge rooms with very private beautiful grounds

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Patio was very private and beautiful - room was very spacious and clean
Cons: Nothing to do at night
Location: great location - easy 10 minute walk to town
This hotel room was HUGE and very elegant. It was nice being able to spread out with 3 large suitcases barely making a dent on the space in the room. We had parrots frolicking outside our room on our arrival. Not much wildlife other than birds but lots of birds for sure. And beautiful surroundings. very well kept grounds. and the room was really private - felt like your own little house and yard. What was especially nice was that this hotel was easy walking distance to town - maybe 10 minutes at best. Restaurant was only open for breakfast. They also had a shuttle to another restaurant but we didnt go there. The walk was up a bit of a hill in the way back but no problem for anyone who is in reasonable shape. Many of the other hotels are deep in the forest and not in walking distance to town which is ok if you have a car but we didnt have a car. The only issue was there was no pool and so nothing really to do at night with the kids after we ate dinner. Make sure to bring a deck of cards or game for nights here. We found one or two English speaking channels but not much for kids. We did the ziplining at selvatura and this was the most amazing experience!! DO NOT MISS THIS! 16 runs and the last one was a full kilometer long - it was like flying!! This area is cooler (mid 70s in March) and so is a nice break from the heat of Arenal or the coast...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

very average hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: actual hotel
Location: great activities.would recommend zip lining and walk in selvaturna park.
the hotel lacked character.went for happy hour in thr bar to watch the sunset and we were told it was not open because the bar man had to go to another hotel as it was busier.rooms was not very clean.had laundry done but it didn't come back that clean.breakfast was ok.good location for the town.activities in the area were good.would not stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Angeline from Vancouver, BC

Clean and friendly staff

Posted Mar 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Only stayed one night but was a very refreshing change from the cheaper hotels. We wanted to splurge one night and this was it. Met our expectations for the price. Staff was very accommodating in terms of booking adventures/tours. Only downfall was that the hotel restaurant/bar closed at 8:30 and the merlot I was served tasted like it was old and had gone bad. But bartender super friendly. Breakfast included and yummy. At breakfast get the bacon instead of ham (packaged, processed).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katie from London UK

One of nicer hotels in Santa Elena

Posted Mar 8, 2013
Pros: Breakfast: food and service great
Cons: No hot water or heating
Location: Just outside town can walk to restaurants
Hotel has big clean rooms in a good location near to Santa Elena town. Breakfast is nice and front desk helpful. All have good English. There was no hot water in our room and it was cold when we visited. Also rooms have large glass shutters which are fab for the view but do not close properly and so were drafty and cold at night also v noisy when windy. We saw a lot of the other hotels and it does look like one of the best just prepare for cold! The other hotel we saw that looked nice was Eco Iris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Feb 27, 2013
The only issue is that there was not hot water from shower. Forgot to ask the staff.