Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moorhead, MN

Clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Stayed 2 nights. Evan was very helpful in arranging tours. Breakfast was ok, rooms were clean, beds were very firm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Close to town
Cons: Parking up the hill for older patrons.
Aside from the restaurant being closed on Fri and Sat., this is a most acceptable place to stay. Did not experience anything unpleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, Colorado

Beautiful Setting

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms, great views, friendly staff, really good breakfast
Cons: easier parking
Location: We liked hiking in the rainforest, but also being close to town
We just wanted to stay in the Monteverde rainforest area so we could do some hiking. Hotel Ficus was perfect. Close to all the great hikes, close to town for eating out, and the rooms are on a hillside so the views are really nice. Very new and modern place, excellent hot breakfast. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and want to come back and stay longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bridget from Massachuesetts

Probably one of the nicest hotels in the area!

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
There is a reason it's called the sunset suites! The view from our room at sunset was amazing!! The room was quite large and a nice big shower and hot water. As other review mentions you do have to park down by the lobby and walk up to the rooms, but we were on the highest level and it was really not that far. If mobility is a problem for you then you can just ask for one of of the lower level rooms. The included breakfast is good - nothing fancy but definitely adequate. The restaurant is only open for breakfast though so you have to go into town for dinner which is really not a problem there are options close by. I would highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Claudia from Deutschland

Sehr schönes modernes Hotel in Monteverde

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Wir waren im Sept 2014 im Ficus mit 2 Erw. & 2 Kindern (7&10) im Ficus und es hat uns sehr gut gefallen. Die Zimmer sind sehr geschmackvoll und modern mit 2 sehr großen Doppelbetten. Restaurants sind fußläufig schnell zu erreichen und auch zu den Parks Selvatura oder Monteverde ist man per Auto innerhalb von einer 1/4 Stunde. Frühstück war gut und ausreichend, Service & Sauberkeit top. Die beiden unten liegenden Häuser bieten keinen Fernblick (Bäume davor); ein ganz klein wenig 'störte' uns der morgendlich Strassenlärm. Alle Aktivitäten konnten wir direkt an der Rezeption buchen, teilweise sogar auf's Zimmer. Die Shuttleabbholung vom Hotel war incl. (selber fahren hätte keine Preisreduzierung ausgemacht)... Selvatura & Monteverde NP gleichen sich sehr...es reicht eigentlich der Besuch eines Parks; viel interessanter und ein wirkliches highlight war die geführte Nachtwanderung mit Taschenlampe. Sehr zu empfehlen auch ziplining im Selvatura Park...übrigens mit Kindern kein Problem; die Sicherheitsvorkehrungen waren verlässlich, der Ablauf sehr professionel. Wir empfehlen das Hotel gern weiter. Die Anfahrt dauert recht lange (40min), bietet aber sehr schöne Ausblicke bis zum Pazifik. Die Strasse wird gerade ausgebaut. EIn Tipp... Tanken und Bargeld 'unten' besorgen- insbesondere die Banken erheben horrende Gebühren beim Geldabheben 'auf dem Berg', welche direkt vom Auszahlungsbetrag abgezogen werden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stefan Evenseth from Eskilstuna

fint ekohotell

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
Fräsht med miljövänligt initiativ. Turer osv utgick från hotellet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

BON RAPPORT QUALITÉ /PRIX.

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Très belle chambre spacieuse avec une belle vue. Petit frigo dans la chambre et coffret de sécurité. Wi-Fi gratuit. Pas d'air climatisé. Pas de piscine ou spa où terminé la journée après les excursions. Déjeûner inclus (serveur peu souriant et distant). Les fenêtres s'ouvrent mais aucun moustiquaire. Une seule débarbouillette à chaque jour pour 4 personnes et ceci malgré nos demandes. Le personnel à la réception est courtois et répondent bien à nos demandent de renseignements pour les excursions. L'accès aux commodités de la ville accessible à pieds (épicerie, et restaurants). Cependant, la rue menant à l'hôtel n'est pas très éclairé pour le retour en fin de soirée.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Great view, quite room.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: View, price, nice staff.
Cons: Nothing
Great little place in paradise! Just far enough away from the in town crowd to get a peaceful nights rest! Would stay there again!