Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Good rate for budget travelers

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff.Book our tour for selvatural park and recommended delicious local restaurant at good price .ok if need to spend a night or two .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marilyn from NM

Nice hotel in a beautiful location

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Good location, quaint rooms, nice staff
Cons: Although the breakfast was a traditional Costa Rican one, it could have been a tad bigger. It was delicious, however
Location: Zip lining and cloud forest preserves
We loved our upstairs rooms with balconies. We had the feeling on being in a tree house. It was excellent for viewing birds, including Toucans, although we did not see any monkeys here. It was quiet, safe and very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boo yeah!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
just stay here. super friendly/helpful workers. breakfast was awesome, room was clean. parked car in a safe/convenient spot, friendly cats and dogs everywhere. short walk to town/rainforest
2 out of 5
by Steve from Victoria, B.C.

nice view from room but disappointing generally.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Walking distance to town.
Cons: Attention to detail and response to issues.
Location: Not the natural paradise it is advertised to be, much like the rest of the country. Mankind has really done a number on this environment!
There was no hot water for the shower. Even when complaints were raised, there were only poor excuses given. I had to change the light bulbs (twice) in the bathroom. The staff was nice but the hotel is falling into neglect and at the bottom of a hill in a somewhat ragged neighborhood, complete with barking dogs. The website gives the impression it would be nicer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice with a beautiful view (of a forest).

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Low price and courteous personnel
Cons: A little wardrobe or so ethi g where to place clothes.
Location: Lots of things! Monteverde is a paradise. To get there, however, you must go trhough hell: the gravel roads (from SJ or from La Fortuna- Arenal).
Basic stuff; coherent with price charged. Rooms in the back have a beautiful view. Our was at top floor. Animals roamed around during the night makine a lot of noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba, Canada

Quaint hotel in heart of Monteverde

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Cons: We were looking for Forest Dreams Hotel Manakin, but the little sign on the road identifies it as Manakin Lodge. It is important to be consistent
Although difficult to find in the town of Monteverde, Manakin Lodge is a little inn near all the amenities, with very courteous staff, comfy bed, and very good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hummer from USA

A place you can give a try - very basic

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
A place you can give a try to test yourself, one tiny bar of soap, no hot water for the sink, yes hot water for shower, no fan, no a/c due to the weather I assume, no chair , no table, yes TV, and old mattress and pillow. Perhaps it is what it is in the small town unless you stay at the finer hotel that cost a lot higher. The hotel location is in residential zone and a bit hard to find. The owners (two brothers) were very helpful. Breakfast items were just okay - eggs and rice n bean, or eggs and toast with coffee and orange juice; can't ask for too much in small town. By the way beware of rough riding on unpaved road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

more than adequate

Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
One of the owners was onsite everyday. The room was a typical Monteverde room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry

Not high end, but not bad

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: The owner/mangers were very friendly, very helpful, providing insiders tips on things to do and places to go around Santa Elena and Monteverde.
Cons: In a week's stay, my room was never made up once. The breakfast, while not bad, could use a little variety (eggs every day).Only a few parking spaces.
Location: The hotel is about a mile from either Santa Elena town and Monteverde village. Walkable, but a cab ride is only about $2.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Markus from Hobbs, NM

Not there but there

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
A bit hard to find, and once we found it we were told that they are booked out and our actual room would be in a different hotel. The room we got in the end was adequate and spacious.