Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom paris

une étape a oublier

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Nous sommes arrivés avec des rafales de vents et de la pluie notre chambre était au dernier étage sans ascenseur impossible de dormir
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor, ON

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Pool area, hot tub and restaurant.
Location: We went zip lining and toured the cloud forest. We walked into town for dinner and shopped for souvenirs.
We arrived at hotel after travelling from the Arenal area on a road that provide a "Free Costa Rican Message"! We were a little early to check in. After greeting us with a complimentary drink we went to the on site restaurant for lunch. After lunch they had our room ready which was well ahead of the posted check in time. All staff were very helpful and accommodating. We were very happy with our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Poco a Poco, Hotel Management
Dear Elaine, thank you very much for your very nice review, we feel very proud everytime guests compliment our service and our staff. we have a lot to offer and many added values to make your stay the most comfortable. I´m very glad you enjoyed our restaurant and our service. we are the best value hotel in Monteverde and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colombia

Eran staff

Posted Mar 8, 2015
The hotel was nice , staff is friendly and willing to cooperate . We liked the jacuzzi a lot. The rooms are ok but could be furnished with modern bed clothing and more colors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Poco a Poco, Hotel Management
Dear Ani, hello and thank you for your review. we have been doing small repairs and some basic remodeling for the last year or so,, and we are almost ready for a more drastic make over in the rooms, decor, amenities, etc. We are very exited to be able to upgrade and better the quiality of pur product, I´m sure ur future guests we´ll be able to enjoy even more of their stay. thank you and we´ll follow your advise on the room decor. sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Meghanfrom dubai

5 star, great hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2015 
loved this place. was clean, great friendly staff, close to the centre, supermarket and bus station. very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Country Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Megham, thank you very much for your rating and your review. You have mentioned our biggest strengths and bonuses: our location, our staff and the nice grounds. we are really glad you enjoyed the place and the town. Come back any time, !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Overall a nice experience. Restaurant has good food, pool area clean and private. Our room was on the 4th floor, stairs only. Rooms are ok, no heating system on cool nights, get extra blankets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by Poco a Poco, Hotel Management
Dear former guest: Thank you very much for your kind review, please let me remind you there are no hotels in Monteverde with air conditioning. we are at 5.000 feet of elevation and its cool up here, despite de sunny days, the nights are cool. on the other hand, it does get cold once in a while and we offer heaters for the rooms. Our restaurant offers really good food and we have a veru nice ambience around the property. Thank you and happy travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2015 
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Country Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear guest. Thank you for your rating. We are working very hard to get a 5 stars rating and we are the best value hotel in Monteverde!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Richardfrom Iowa City, Iowa

NIce and rustic

Posted Jan 4, 2015 
Rooms were plain but clean. No air conditioning. We were in the rain forest, cool and misty. Lots of birds and insects. Restaurant had only one meal choice, the local Casada. Included breakfast had no meat,only eggs, potatoes, tortillas, muffins with juice and coffee. Plain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hannahfrom New York

Highly Recommended

Posted Dec 31, 2014 
My husband and I just stayed at Poco a Poco as part of our honeymoon traveling in Costa Rica. We had an exceptional experience at this hotel! I was skeptical at first because it was a boutique hotel in the rugged mountain area in Monteverde, but Poco a Poco was really something of a luxurious experience for us. First of all, they knew ahead of time that it was our honeymoon, and they (with some help from my mother who called to arrange surprises for us) gave us a room with a stunning view of the mountains, a bottle of champagne, several bouquets of beautiful tropical flowers, and a complimentary booking in the spa's private jacuzzi with two complimentary glasses of wine! This is typical of the warm, friendly, prompt service we received throughout our stay at Poco a Poco. They helped us re-book a coffee tour we'd already booked, they helped us compare rates and hire a taxi for our trip to the next point in our vacation, and they were consistently available and delightful throughout. The hotel's restaurant is terrific, and there are many really good places to eat in St. Elena, the town which is about a 5-minute walk from Poco a Poco. It was fun and very safe to walk into town for dinner. Poco a Poco is centrally located for all Monteverde excursions, too, so be sure to book some day trips because everyone knows where Poco a Poco is and tours regularly come pick up people from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by Country Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Hannah, thank you guys very much for a nice review and for sharing with us such a memorable event. We were just trilled to be able to put together these small details and to be able to assist your mother with her small presents for the two of you. Thank you very much and on belahf of all our staff, we wish you the best and many, many years of happines, Your recomendations and comments are very nice and I think it´ll help others make up their mind about what to expect and why to stay with us. Thank you and best to both of you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by caroleannfrom pickering

Great Place, great price, great location

Posted Dec 29, 2014 
We loved this place, it was walking distance to anything we needed and and short drive to all the attractions (pick up and drop off was available for everything) Our room was clean, bright, with the most comfortable bed imaginable after a day of hiking the cloud forest. The restaurant was great and the food priced reasonably.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by Country Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Caroleann, hello and thank you for your very nice comments, We have been working on small and big details like beds, bed clothing, paint, furniture, added values, pool, heated water, spa, jacuzzi, etc.. our restaurant: OTOCUMA is a very nice restaurant and it offer one of the best menus in Monteverde, live music shows everynight, and very good prices.. thank you and i´m sure your stay will be much pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Cute, modern hotel near Santa Elena square

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Rooms were drafty/cold
Location: Grocery store across the street, restaurants within a few minutes walking distance.
We loved our stay at Poco a Poco. The rooms were spacious and clean and had a great view. The hotel staff were extremely nice and went above and beyond with booking tourist activities and helping us with airport transportation. We had to get picked up at 2:45 am for our flight and they were nice enough to call and confirm and tell the on-site security as well. They also gave us a coupon for the on-site spa since we were honeymooning - so thoughtful! Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was also delicious! Only complaint about the room was that it was a bit drafty/cold. There are no thermostats in the room and it was in December, off-peak, so we had to put towels under the doors to keep cold air out. Otherwise, great location - 5 minute walk to Santa Elena where there were many restaurants and right across the street from the plaza with a nice grocery store for snacks and water. We highly recommend Poco a Poco!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by Poco a Poco, Hotel Management
Dear Youngji. Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are really proud of all the services and ammenities we have put together for the enjoyment of pur guests, We are the best value hotel in Monteverde. in order of the wind draft, we are going to be working on an isolation / fixing project that will stop wind from blowing directly to the rooms, we are very exited about these changes. it´ll help us provide an even nicer, more relaxed stay for our guests. The hotel´s location is one of our most important features, just across the street guests can visit many different attractions and local shops and more.. Thank you very much.