Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and hospitality

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: I liked the manager Sergio who so commited. He appaches every guest helps and adivces/
Felling that you are in foreset ............................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tonygerads from California

Best Hostel I've stayed in!

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I wrote this review while keeping in mind that this is a hostel, and not a 5 star hotel. This place was great! From the moment we walked in, we had absolutely great customer service. Our bus got us into town early, so our room was not ready. The girl behind the desk told us we could leave our bags behind the desk and go explore the town. When our private room was ready, they helped us carry our bags to our room. On the way, they showed us the facilities and explained where everything could be found. The room was clean and good sized. That night we decided to book a night hike with Sergio. This was BY FAR the best part of our stay. We walked around for a few hours and saw tarantulas, multiple insects, spiders, kinkajous and even a sloth! Sergio is part or the reason that the hostel was so great. Talking with him and listening to him speak about the animals, plants and his love for his work is amazing. His passion and attitude towards them is contagious. After leaving, we wish we would have stayed longer there. I would HIGHlY recommend coming back. The only think that kinda stunk was not having wifi in our room, but like I said this is a hostel, and that is the case at most hostels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kalen from Alberta Canada

great place to stay really cool hostel

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hostel is great its very clean the staff are helpful and its quite unique one of the best hostels Ive stayed at
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Molly from michigan

Great place to stay in Monteverde

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Great location, clean, great price. Sergio went out of his way to help us handle hit and run damage to our rental car (invest in the full insurance).
Cons: Hot water ran out in the evening, but was plentiful in the morning.
Location: Our 17 and 15 year old kids really enjoyed Sergio's night wildlife tour. We were all impressed with his knowledge and skill locating the animals.
We were really pleased with our stay here. The room was clean and the bathroom had a nice sky light. The common area had wifi, and there is a fridge and kitchen area available if you want to cook some of your own meals. They also have very good food available to order. If you purchase a stay that includes breakfast, be sure to ask for your vouchers at the front desk, and be aware of what that breakfast includes-it is not the full buffet, but still nice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Adriana from Miami

Beautiful setting, unfriendly staff

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The place is beautiful, well crafted, nestled in a natural paradise. When we arrived, they did not have a record of our reservation. They did not want to check us in, the staff was unfriendly and wanted us to leave. They mentioned they always have problems with reservations booked through this site and will be putting a sign on their door . It was very uncomfortable to arrive tired and be faced with such unwelcoming behavior. After speaking to a couple of managers and quite a bit of frustration and our refusal to leave, they found us a room. The setting was prestige, I just wish that the service matched the magical surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience all around

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Incredibly helpful staff, nice clean rooms, great price - there were a group of twelve of us staying at the hostel lodge and the staff was incredible helpful. They were very responsive via email, helped set up tours for us, and we're very responsive to any of our needs. I really can't say enough good things about our stay and the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steven from Toronto, CAN

Great place to stay!

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spent two nights here with my girlfriend. Our greeting upon arrival was a free drink! Staff are super friendly and have great hospitality. They were very helpful. The atmosphere is very relaxed and happy. The food is excellent, fresh, and sometimes they have all-you-can-eat BBQ! The drinks are also very cheap, particularly during happy hour. The room was clean, but the walls are a bit thin. The shower was nice. Rooms are beside a forest, and we saw some pretty bird, as well as monkeys! The monkeys actually came to the lodge for bananas, and we got to feed them. I guess they're like smarter and cuter raccoons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location next to the forest

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great staff and even has a guide that does night walks on their property. We saw scorpions, spiders, birds, a sloth with a baby, bats and a giant tarantula. One of the best experiences on our vacation. Was very helpful with choosing which tours and activities we should do while in Monteverde. Rooms might not be 5-star but it was good value for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

For the price, can't beat it.

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Yes, it is a hostel and we stayed in a dorm-style room with 3 strangers. However, it was SO FUN! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We walked over a swinging bridge to get to our room and a troupe of monkeys stuck around the buildings. If you want a memorable experience, stay at the Monteverde Hostel Lodge!