Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Great staff, location and setup. Restroom needs work and lighting can be better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gatineau

Auberge de jeunesse

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: bien situé
Cons: divans de l'aire commune sont franchement dégueulasses
Location: zip line
malheureusement pas beaucoup de choix dans ce coin reculé de pays la plupart des autres hôtels de la place n'ont pas l'air tellement mieux de toutes façon promenade nocturne sur le site trop chère vous pouvez utiliser la cuisine commune mais très rudimentaire et sale près du village mais dans la forêt
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Genuine surroundings

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Surrounded with rainforest, yet only minutes' walk to 'downtown'. Large living area (internet, common kitchen, complimentary coffee/teas).
Cons: Reception/living area supposed to open at 6AM but staff often showed up late - can be an issue if you plan on an early tour.
Location: Many tours available - staff provided advice and arranged transportation.
These comments are for a 7-day stay, end of December, for two adults.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We only stayed in Monteverde for one night but this place was easy to find and located pretty central. Our lodge was right in the forest, gave for a nice atmosphere!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Problemas con la reserva

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nada más llegar nos indicaron en recepción que no tenían ninguna información sobre nuestra reserva. El trato y las formas de los encargados y el propietario dejaron bastante que desear. No se creían que la reserva estaba realizada y pagada, a pesar de demostrarlo por todos los medios posibles mediante los mails de la página de la reserva y los pagos bancarios. Las habitaciones son muy húmedas, no están bien aisladas (hace frío y llueve mucho en Monteverde) ni limpias. El personal, en su afan por conseguir las primas por las excursiones que ofertan en el hotel, llegan a resultar pesados y maleducados.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and hospitality

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: I liked the manager Sergio who so commited. He appaches every guest helps and adivces/
Felling that you are in foreset ............................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Amyfrom Wisconsin

Best party hostel ever!

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
So beautiful, in the rainforest, clean, friendly and social. The common area is spacious and perfect for meeting people. It is definitely a louder hotel so for those waking up early, bring ear plugs! The kitchen is very clean and has all the utensils you could ever need and the hosts are quite nice. If you don't book your day time activities with them, they get kind of cranky but the whole experience was just amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sergio was a great host. Met lots of nice people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jensfrom Denmark

THE placeret to stat in Monteverde

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic setting actually in the forest. We (family of 4) saw lots og animals at the hostel including monkeys and sloth. Great staff, great room. Coldn't possibly ask for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tonygeradsfrom California

Best Hostel I've stayed in!

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I wrote this review while keeping in mind that this is a hostel, and not a 5 star hotel. This place was great! From the moment we walked in, we had absolutely great customer service. Our bus got us into town early, so our room was not ready. The girl behind the desk told us we could leave our bags behind the desk and go explore the town. When our private room was ready, they helped us carry our bags to our room. On the way, they showed us the facilities and explained where everything could be found. The room was clean and good sized. That night we decided to book a night hike with Sergio. This was BY FAR the best part of our stay. We walked around for a few hours and saw tarantulas, multiple insects, spiders, kinkajous and even a sloth! Sergio is part or the reason that the hostel was so great. Talking with him and listening to him speak about the animals, plants and his love for his work is amazing. His passion and attitude towards them is contagious. After leaving, we wish we would have stayed longer there. I would HIGHlY recommend coming back. The only think that kinda stunk was not having wifi in our room, but like I said this is a hostel, and that is the case at most hostels.