Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlantak, Ga.

Wonderful hotel and convenient location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Location, grounds, restaurant and staff were all excellent.
Location: We ziplined at Selaventura which was one of the best experiences of our trip. Cloud Forest tour was great as is just exploring the town.
This hotel has beautiful grounds with some nice hiking trails. It is within walking distance to town and some great restaurants. The hotel restaurant is also excellent and we chose to eat dinner there twice. The views from the rooms were very nice. We saw quite a bit of wildlife just sitting in our room. The rooms were a bit smaller than our previous hotel in Arenal so we had to get two separate rooms for our family of 4. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The night tour with Carlos was excellent! We saw so many things that we would never have seen during the day or by ourselves - I would definitely recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bruce from Apple Valley, MN

Beautiful hotel, fairly pricey, but exc. service

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel and gardens around the hotel, in a good Monteverde location. A bit pricey but excellent breakfast service included in the price. Customer and maid service was excellent. They setup a number of tours with no problems and were happy to help with any details or questions. No pool but a very nice jacuzzi. Many animals in the gardens outside the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pete from UK

In the Cloud Forest

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location, gardens and wildlife.
Cons: Internet,
Location: Great for local Eco Forest walks/ tours - cheaper by far if you just go and pay admission plus local attractions if you want zip wire , canopy tours.
The hotel is in the cloud forest area of Monteverde - lots of local attractions if you like zip wires and hanging bridges. However it is also very much an area to walk in the various Eco forests which have a wide variety of wildlife and flora/ for . To reach the hotel means negotiating some difficult Costa Rican roads full of loose stone, protruding rocks and avoiding other locals driving twice as fast as you will be going !! The hotel was very quiet when we were there in June but the rooms were well appointed overall and comfortable ! Not TV in the whole hotel which some may not appreciate. WiFi was spasmodic for smartphone/ pad users although there was an internet room for computer connections. Breakfasts were good as were evening meals although you are in easy reach of the town of St Elena. The gardens of the hotel were full of flowers which attracted a wide range of birds and butterflies. Free coffee and cakes/ biscuits between 11am and 4 pm was welcome. Overall we enjoyed this location,
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Geoff from USA

Great place in MonteVerde

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice little hotel/lodge in the middle of MonteVerde. The beds were comfortable and the service was good. Nothing exceptional, but a good place to stay. You can't go wrong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to wildlife.

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: The natural look and closeness to wildlife.
Location: Butterfly gardens, bus to Hanging Bridges and zipline.
Great proximity to animals and trails. Saw white nosed coati walk right by our window, and agouti on property. Walked to butterfly gardens and beautifully landscaped property. Restaurant staff were fantastic! Recommend highly!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Vienna .Va

Overpriced

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: The grounds
Cons: bathroom and sink space
booked a more expensive second floor room with balcony and view. the view was iblocked by tall trees.no view!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2014 by Natalie Ewing, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your view did not live up to your expectations. Our name for the room you stayed in is the Forest View Balcony room since the view we offer is of the forest itself. We offer our guests the opportunity to observe the wildlife, sitting on their private balcony. Many guests tell us how they have spotted an agouti or colorful cloud forest birds, all while sipping their morning cup of Costa Rican coffee. Thanks again for taking the time to share. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jay from Houston

Decent Hotel

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
First, getting to Monteverde is an adventure...plenty of un-paved and bumpy roads. Once arrived, The hotel appearance is nice and clean and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The rooms do not have a/c and have spotty wifi, but are clean and the bathroom is well appointed. There are patio screen doors to allow some outside fresh air in; however, it also allowed a number of bugs in as well (not sure how many I swallowed while sleeping :). Overall, it's a nice hotel and the staff made it very enjoyable, but know what you're getting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from laguna niguel, california

Great hotel in the mountains.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The staff, they could not have been nicer. The tours guides were excellent. We ended up essentially having private tours which was great.
Cons: Room comfort slightly. But it is a lodge in the mountains. The food could also be a bit better. Breakfast was great but the rest was okay.
Location: Selvatura park, Monteverde Cloud Forrest Reserve, Santa Elena Reserve & Curi Cancha reserve were great. Spend time bird watching. Lots of hummingbirds
The staff were wonderful. I've never felt so welcome. All of the tours through the hotel were terrific. The grounds were beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

you have to go!

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel and staff are amazing!