Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Loved the lodge after a hard day's drive. IT was very comfortable and clean. Balcony was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice calm hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Access, pool and staff at reception
Cons: Service at restaurant.
Location: Walking distance to city center.
Very nice and well maintain. According to the picture we found on their website, we were expecting a much larger room, but that size of the room was large enough. Service at the restaurant was just ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Beautiful area

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Stayed only two nights. Loved the food served and the walking possibilities, seeing local sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston TX

Awesome jungle view lodge in the mountains

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: The wood lodge feel and the genuine concern of the staff and management that we were happy with our stay.
Cons: Fireplace on in the morning as well as night!
Location: 100% Aventura Don Juan Coffee tour
The lodge was wonderful. Upon arrival, we had booked for a balcony room for two nights, and were told upon arrival that the reservation had been incorrectly processed and would have to move to a garden view room for our second night. We were given a total credit for the second night, along with a free dinner to make up for our inconvenience. All was arranged and credited within 24 hours of the mistake. In spite of the mistake, we felt very well taken care of and attended to. The garden view room was equally as beautiful as the balcony room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ALAN Pfrom Westchester, NY

Sympatico Monteverde Destination

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bravo for our three nights in this clean, cozy and well-situated rustic hotel. Its comfy design nestles well in the striking Monteverde countryside. Hilly walks lead to nature reserves or Santa Elena restaurants; taxis are quick and inexpensive. Our quiet downstairs double room 101 faced lush green forest, as the web site shows. Just sun on wind-swirled mists made a hypnotic vista. Front desk and wait staff were beyond helpful, and some were remarkably hospitable. A waiter engagingly coached me in Spanish Tico-isms. Cheery waitresses greeted us first-name, took interest in our activities, but never intruded. If you lack Spanish, English is well-understood by most, and mastered by someone nearby. We hotel-dined twice daily, enjoying reasonably-priced and savory food, beverage, service and views. The front desk offered cheery concierge help (especially Juliana, as I recall?). She detailed many local attractions, helped prioritize our limited time, and arranged transport. Unobtrusive improvements will soon make the pool area lovely as the gardens. Three full days in Monteverde Lodge were barely enough to discover nearby flora, fauna, terrain, countless rainbows, and Tico ambience in this most wonderful area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katherinefrom New York, NY

Fascinating Stay

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Three of us stayed at the Monteverde Lodge and Gardens for a couple of days. The hotel was very nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. Some interesting amenities including their own butterfly garden. Many trails around the property and lush greenery. Monteverde is a facinating ecological destination with weather, topography, and nature all combining for a unique experience. The only caution/caveat is that the roads into and out of Monteverde are very rough and unpaved. There was also ongoing road construction on the main road headed west that shut down the road from 6:30am-5:00pm every day! We found out by accident and had we not, it would have cost us an extra travel day. This work was supposed to run from mid-Sept 2014 to end of Oct. However, as of early Dec 2014 it looked like they still had months of work to do. If you are visiting Monteverde, be sure and call your hotel ahead of time and confirm road conditions and potential closures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ray Cfrom Ontario, Canada

Early Dec 2014

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location! Close to town & nature. They were working on grounds,....it will be nice when finished! Staff very friendly & helpful! No tv or ac but fans in room...room was very comfortable without it. Wildlife can be seen from hotel !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel within the rainforest

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Staff, lodge, restaurant
Cons: adding bug plug in repellents in the rooms
Location: cloud forests, zip lining, atv, hiking trails
We stayed 2 nights here, its a nice lodge with great staff. There were quite enough veggie options. i liked the fact that there was no TVs in the room. The roads getting here from Arenal were quite rough, however that has no bearing on the hotel itself :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom parsippany

First trip to Monteverde

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The staff and location
Cons: not much..if any I recommend adding better ventilation in the bathrooms and add TVs to the guestrooms
Location: Lots to mention or write.. The hanging bridges & zip lining are definitely recommended
Great place, excellent staff who are eager to help always..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by rafrom los angeles

amazing staff in a charming hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for a few nights during rainy season and loved it. The staff is what makes this lodge. They go above and beyond what is expected. They are friendly, helpful, and overall provide great service. We were celebrating a special occasion and they even surprised us with a treat. We booked all our tours with the front desk and were very satisfied with the guides they work with. Transportation to and from the activities were provided. Some came with a fee. It's a 15 min walk into town so you don't need a taxi for that. There is a supermarket on the way to town. Score! We bought snacks and souvenirs there. The hotel itself is great. They aim for a rustic cabin feel with a fireplace inside and wood everywhere. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a dispenser with shampoo, conditioner, and soap in the shower. No TV but there is WiFi. No a/c either but it's not needed it since this area is chillier. Very comfortable blankies! That was also a pleasant surprise. The restaurant which serves delicious food overlooks a huge garden. I thought it was on the pricey side but when we'd go into town, we spend almost the same. And the results weren't as good as the in hotel restaurant. Looked like they had a full bar. Free coffee/tea and snack in the afternoon. Being that it rains LITERALLY every afternoon during rainy season, we spent a few afternoons sitting by the fireplace. I'm from California where rain storm usually means drizzle. Bring an umbrella, poncho, and bug spray. (That's just a bonus tip!) We would stay here again if given the choice.