Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley, CA

Fantastic stay in Monteverde

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Wonderful experience. Our family of four spent three nights and loved it. The friendliest, most helpful staff imaginable, from arranging tours to emergency clothes drying. And the food was terrific. Delicious and extremely ample breakfasts every day. An amazing pumpkin soup one rainy afternoon. And great comida tipica too. Great location right next to Reserva.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lucymorafrom Arizona

Quiet and close to national park

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Trapp is the last hotel, at the top of a dirt road, on your way to the national park. Walk to the park is 10-15 min and beautiful. If your goal is hiking in the park, which is amazing by the way, this is the place for you! If you would rather scroll around the town ($8 cab down the dirt road), you may not want to stay here unless you have your own car. There are only a few rooms and the restaurant will only remain open if you have a reservation. One night we decided last minute to get food from the restaurant but they sent the staff home because there were no reservations - totally understandable but not convenient because you are far(ish) from town. Overall we loved the hotel with its beautiful Costa Rican wood floors and furniture, and the staff were extremely helpful and kind. The only complaint are about the showers. Hot water runs out if more than one room is showering at the same time, plus our shower had NO water pressure and showering with a trickle of cold water is not fun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, isolated from town

Posted Jun 18, 2014
The hotel was very nice and very much matched up with the photos you see of it. Clean rooms, clean facilities, and a great setting in the rainforest. However, it is about 2 km outside of Monteverde proper, and while that doesn't sound very far the reality is that the roads for driving and the terrain for walking are not conducive to getting into town. The drive over very rocky roads consists of putting your vehicle into 1st gear and keeping it there the entire distance while you bump over very rough roads. Walking on the other hand means a steep, strenuous hike. While it is the closest hotel to the entrance to the Monteverde Reserve, we found that all of the tours, hikes, and activities we wanted to experience in Monteverde were not located in the Reserve, but were back down toward the town Monteverde. The isolation from the town and activites is the sole reason I would not recommend this hotel to others. The hotel itself is great - friendly helpful staff, great food, very good breakfast (included), clean and quite rooms. But a hotel is a base of operations, not a destination and it the isolation that would prevent me from recommending the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

prime location in monteverde

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
short walk to reserve, great views of cloud forest and garden, saw coaties, birds from room, good restaurant and staff, shower wasn't always hot, overall very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2014
The staff was very helpful with directions to Manuel Antonio. They guided us around a road closure and were very patient. Dinner and breakfast were very good and our waiter was terrific!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kaylafrom los angeles, ca

Friendly hotel close to Cloudforest entrance

Posted May 4, 2014
This lodge is beautiful, with great staff and a tasty restaurant, breakfast included. Walking distance from entrance of Monteverde cloud forest, but keep in mind it's pretty far away from everything else in town.
3 out of 5
by family of 5

Nice hotel for a night

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Clean basic place for a night but not very charismatic and slightly pricy compared to alternatives in the area. Reception staff friendly but not going above and beyond. Could tell the rather high tourist volume that must go through during peak season. (We came right after)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bill Moorefrom Monteverde

Nice View

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in the rooms at the top of the hill. We had a very nice view of the Cloud Forest. It was a short drive to 2 minute drive to Monteverde Cloud Forest. The breakfast was very good. The dinner we had was good but a little pricey for Costa Rica. We went to Stella's bakery for lunch which was excellent plus they feed the birds in their back garden. They have great desserts. The roads are a little rough but most Costa Rica dirt roads are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Julienfrom Melun

Situation idéale proche de la réserve Monteverde

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nous avons passé un agréable séjour au Trapp Family Lodge. Bien qu'un peu éloignée du centre de Santa Elena, la situation est idéale, toute proche de la réserve de Monteverde. Il est donc plus pratique d'avoir son propre véhicule : la piste n'était pas aussi difficile que prévue (le temps était sec). Très bon accueil par le personnel. Chambre spacieuse et propre située au rez-de-chaussée, avec vue sur le jardin. Petit-déjeuner simple.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brookefrom Colorado

Close to preserve, close to town

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great. Clean. Comfy. Hospitable. And convenient.