Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pensacola Beach

Great hotel, right downtown

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: People, food, room, hot water, air conditioning all worked great.
Cons: Ventilation in the bathroom.
Location: Great food throughout town, lots of adventure options but be very careful who you work with.
Montezuma is definitely a funky place. This hotel was a great find. Moderate price, great staff, great food, really good hot water and water pressure, cold air conditioning. If you want a view from your room, this is not the place for you, windows open on walls or interior spaces. However, this makes the rooms very quiet and keeps them cool. Beds were very comfortable, reasonable pillows. Decor is Flintstones meets the rainforest, you feel a bit in a cave, but the murals are nice. Room comes with access to their sister resort, Ylang-ylang. Down the beach a walk, more than twice as expensive, absolutely spectacular but small pool. Great lizards, and monkeys wandering by. Don't pass on going over. Be very careful of the tour arrangers in town multiple reports of ripoffs, particularly on ATV rentals keeping your deposit by claiming damage. We had problems with the one across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary, alberta

Perfect hotel in "downtown" montezuma

Posted Jan 14, 2015
We had a wonderful stay here. It's right downtown (which is basically just a road) but is not noisy at all! The staff were so great - very welcoming and friendly every time we saw them. The breakfast is great - you get to pick off of a menu of ~10 items (the banana pancakes were the best) with a drink as well. We didn't eat at the restaurant because there were other great cheaper places in town (soda monte sol is highly recommended). The best part of this hotel is that you pay minimal amounts and get to go to ylang ylang (very fancy resort) to use their beautiful pool when you get sick of the beach!! Overall and excellent experience and I would stay here again for site!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kolleen San Pedrofrom usa

great customer service

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was very welcome surprise! The customer service was fantastic. They really go out of their way to make you happy. The breakfast portions were great and made fresh to order. Pizza with a movie was also a treat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and excellent restaurant

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We loved this place! It had the best staff of our travels in Costa Rica. The food was excellent, far superior to anything else in town. The only issue was the late night partying and music from nearby beach bar. We will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexisfrom Toronto, On

Great hotel in Montezuma!

Posted May 19, 2014
The El Sano Banano is a great choice for travellers on a budget! You have access to the gorgeous pool at the Ylang Ylang Resort without paying the high price. We stayed at El Sano for 3 nights. The staff are great and there are lots of choices for the breakfast that is included. Not your typical toast muffin and cereal here - hot breakfasts, fruit, yogurt, granola etc. Our only complaint was that the shower was not hot water, and you had to be brave in the morning! But it is perfect and much needed after a day on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and convenient Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2014
The only negative thing about my one night stay was I happened to catch the night there was a party in the streets and in the local bar and the deep base sound was so loud that I couldn't sleep. The hotel is very nice other than the proximity to the local bar that can be very loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the city and right next to beach

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Right in the middle of montezuma and right next to the beach. Good security. Great breakfast. The staff were friendly and went the extra mile to help us when we locked our car keys in the car. The room was small but clean and the shower was great. We would definitely stay there again. And if you go to montezuma you should definitely see the water fall!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nice place

Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
great breakfast included, pretty good beds and awesome shower. We were very happy with the place. Don't book any excursions there, the prices they quoted are outrageous. Also, asked them to call a cab for us since there were none down the street, and they said the "guy" they use was busy, so he couldn't call any. That's the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. Since they weren't getting a cut from my cab fare, they wouldn't call one... 10 minutes later the guy did ask nextdoor, and that guy was nice enough to call me a cab. But a hotel should have numbers for LOTS of cab drivers.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by GussTussfrom Malmoe

Bra läge

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotellet var ett billigt alternativt centralt i Montezuma, ett ställe man gott och väl kan sova en natt på. Jag hade ej valt en längre vistelse här då det är relativt lyhört och högt ljud både från baren och gatan. Billigt och bra läge kan man sammanfatta hotellet med.