Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and excellent restaurant

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We loved this place! It had the best staff of our travels in Costa Rica. The food was excellent, far superior to anything else in town. The only issue was the late night partying and music from nearby beach bar. We will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexis from Toronto, On

Great hotel in Montezuma!

Posted May 19, 2014
The El Sano Banano is a great choice for travellers on a budget! You have access to the gorgeous pool at the Ylang Ylang Resort without paying the high price. We stayed at El Sano for 3 nights. The staff are great and there are lots of choices for the breakfast that is included. Not your typical toast muffin and cereal here - hot breakfasts, fruit, yogurt, granola etc. Our only complaint was that the shower was not hot water, and you had to be brave in the morning! But it is perfect and much needed after a day on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and convenient Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2014
The only negative thing about my one night stay was I happened to catch the night there was a party in the streets and in the local bar and the deep base sound was so loud that I couldn't sleep. The hotel is very nice other than the proximity to the local bar that can be very loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the city and right next to beach

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Right in the middle of montezuma and right next to the beach. Good security. Great breakfast. The staff were friendly and went the extra mile to help us when we locked our car keys in the car. The room was small but clean and the shower was great. We would definitely stay there again. And if you go to montezuma you should definitely see the water fall!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nice place

Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
great breakfast included, pretty good beds and awesome shower. We were very happy with the place. Don't book any excursions there, the prices they quoted are outrageous. Also, asked them to call a cab for us since there were none down the street, and they said the "guy" they use was busy, so he couldn't call any. That's the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. Since they weren't getting a cut from my cab fare, they wouldn't call one... 10 minutes later the guy did ask nextdoor, and that guy was nice enough to call me a cab. But a hotel should have numbers for LOTS of cab drivers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kjlb2281 from UK

Great hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were very welcoming and looked after us very well. The room was clean and comfortable, with a good bathroom.Good wifi availability. Restaurant service good food, and it was lovely to eat in their outside area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark from Columbus

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice. The showers are nice, and big enough for activities. They have a really great breakfast menu. It isn't a buffet, its a selection of made to order food. The hotel is small enough were it doesn't feel like college spring break all the time, but has everything that you would need to have a good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by santa from costa rica

beatiuful hotel but montezuma is not a town

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Pros: clean simple room,friendly staff,excellent breadfast and a fine dinner and movie.
Cons: alarm clock in room and a much larger tv.
Location: the hotel is located next to the bus stop,perfect if you arrive by bus as i did. you need a car to get around town or you at the mercy of tour company
enjoyed my stay at the hotel.no problems. would like an alarm clock in room and a much larger tv. i ate at the hotel. breadfast was great and i enjoyed the dinner i had at the hotel. very friendly staff. the only regret i have is not the hotel ,but the town of montezuma. montezuma lacks development. hardly any services. i believe a family would not enjoy montezuma. montezuma is design for an single person or adults. very little to do except for those menton activities around town. the road to montezuma is a dusty but smooth road. yes,you need a car to go places.if not you will depend the tours to see things. the food variety is limited. food is rather expensive. really no fastfood. as for nightlife,really only one bar. i enjoyed my stay at this hotel because every night was movie night with dinner. helped relieve the bordom of a too laidback boring town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Helene from Miami

nice-close-pleasant-very reasonable

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: proximity to town and the free parking
Cons: our room did not have a window to the outside... that would have been nice
Location: watch baby turtles go to the water.... book a tour to the isla Tortuga... restuarant on the waqter
We loved the movie night in the hotel restaurant.... staff are friendly and accommodating.... the breakfast which was included was delicious with lots of options..... while there is no pool we were able to walk 10 minutes to an associated hotel with a lovely pool where we spent the day....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anjan from Vancouver, BC

Top hotel in Montezuma

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Room is clean and comfortable. a/c works well. Excellent service at the restaurant. Free breakfast ends at 10 but they gave it to me at 11:30AM
Cons: Water is warm, not hot. More towels
Location: Everything is nearby in this 2 block village. Beach minutes away.