Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fresh air - not possible

Posted Mar 6, 2015
The atmosphere of the room,the bed and the shower are good. BUT we lucky guys hab a window to the Street but we couldn't open the window, there is no possibility to open the Windows. Also in the bathroom is no window. Happy breathing! Many rooms habe a window to the floor, not to the street, that's why I call us lucky guys. There is no chill out area for the visitors just a Restaurant. Good: You can use the really nice pool oft an other hotel!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, but noisy. Surprise key deposit

Posted Mar 3, 2015
The hotel is right in the centre of Montezuma, so you can't beat the location. It's a quick five minute walk to the main beach. Guests also have access to the sister Ylang Ylang resort's pool, but be warned -- it's another 15 minute walk or so, which sounds fine in theory but can be harder under mid-day sun on scorching sand. It's also worth noting that the hotel has a $100 key deposit -- you obviously get your money back, but this surprisingly large deposit is not listed anywhere on Expedia or on the hotel website
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Petersburg FL

Convenient location

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beach, beach, beach.
We had a great room with a window (overlooking the roof, however) but the couple we were with had a smaller room with a window painted on the wall. We were happy, they were not. We found the hotel a great place to stay for the money. Montezuma doesn't have many options, but even if there were we would consider this hotel. We found it quiet at night and the movies they show a nice alternative for the evening. We ate at other restaurants but liked theirs the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pensacola Beach

Great hotel, right downtown

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: People, food, room, hot water, air conditioning all worked great.
Cons: Ventilation in the bathroom.
Location: Great food throughout town, lots of adventure options but be very careful who you work with.
Montezuma is definitely a funky place. This hotel was a great find. Moderate price, great staff, great food, really good hot water and water pressure, cold air conditioning. If you want a view from your room, this is not the place for you, windows open on walls or interior spaces. However, this makes the rooms very quiet and keeps them cool. Beds were very comfortable, reasonable pillows. Decor is Flintstones meets the rainforest, you feel a bit in a cave, but the murals are nice. Room comes with access to their sister resort, Ylang-ylang. Down the beach a walk, more than twice as expensive, absolutely spectacular but small pool. Great lizards, and monkeys wandering by. Don't pass on going over. Be very careful of the tour arrangers in town multiple reports of ripoffs, particularly on ATV rentals keeping your deposit by claiming damage. We had problems with the one across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary, alberta

Perfect hotel in "downtown" montezuma

Posted Jan 14, 2015
We had a wonderful stay here. It's right downtown (which is basically just a road) but is not noisy at all! The staff were so great - very welcoming and friendly every time we saw them. The breakfast is great - you get to pick off of a menu of ~10 items (the banana pancakes were the best) with a drink as well. We didn't eat at the restaurant because there were other great cheaper places in town (soda monte sol is highly recommended). The best part of this hotel is that you pay minimal amounts and get to go to ylang ylang (very fancy resort) to use their beautiful pool when you get sick of the beach!! Overall and excellent experience and I would stay here again for site!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't return

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Montezuma is much smaller than we had anticipated. It took 5 mins to walk through everything. I probably wouldn't bother returning to this remote beach town now that I've seen it. There's much easier to get to beach towns that offer more. Also we were disappointed that the hotel didn't have a pool. With the jungle extending right to the shore there were also lots of insects. The rooms were very basic but decent unless you plan on watching tv as they were incredibly old, fuzzy and small. When checking out also no one even helped my pregnant wife with her baggage. (There are no elevators) so I had to do 2 full trips on my own down the stairs and to our car. Disappointing altogether.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kolleen San Pedrofrom usa

great customer service

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was very welcome surprise! The customer service was fantastic. They really go out of their way to make you happy. The breakfast portions were great and made fresh to order. Pizza with a movie was also a treat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and excellent restaurant

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We loved this place! It had the best staff of our travels in Costa Rica. The food was excellent, far superior to anything else in town. The only issue was the late night partying and music from nearby beach bar. We will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexisfrom Toronto, On

Great hotel in Montezuma!

Posted May 19, 2014
The El Sano Banano is a great choice for travellers on a budget! You have access to the gorgeous pool at the Ylang Ylang Resort without paying the high price. We stayed at El Sano for 3 nights. The staff are great and there are lots of choices for the breakfast that is included. Not your typical toast muffin and cereal here - hot breakfasts, fruit, yogurt, granola etc. Our only complaint was that the shower was not hot water, and you had to be brave in the morning! But it is perfect and much needed after a day on the beach.