Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Huntsville, AL

Hotel close to Cross Creek and Wind Creek Casinos

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Free Parking, Hot Breakfast (sausages and make your own waffles), Free Wi-Fi, Early Check-In, Late Departure, Smelled Fresh, Nice linen,
Cons: Exterminate, New Ironing Board Covers, Don't put floor mats on the lobby furniture when cleaning the floors, Clean breakfast area floor (saw popcorn).
Location: Cross Creek and Wind Creek Casinos, Civil Rights historical sites, Restaurants,
We called the hotel when we were about 30 minutes away and they allowed us to check in early instead of waiting until 3:00 p.m. The hotel smelled clean when we arrived. My husband and I dropped his parents at the Wind Creek Casino and we went to the Rosa Parks Museum. After the museum, we took a walk along Dexter Avenue and saw the Dexter Avenue Baptist Church and the Capitol Building. It was awesome to see such historic sites. We then met the parents at the Wind Creek Casino for a Seafood Buffet dinner. The seafood was worth the price $25/person. I even ate more crab legs than usual. We then proceeded to the Cross Creek Casino. We were surprised we had to pay a toll $1.75. My husband asked when are they going to make these places non-smoking? My eyes burned from the smoke. No wonder I saw a few people walking around in masks. Anyway, no one won big but we did break-even. The hotel lobby still smelled fresh when we came back that night. The temperature in the room was unstable. The low AC was very cold and the fan was too hot. We did have a nice flat screen tv and a comfortable king size bed. The ironing board look old and worn but the rest of the room was nice. In the morning, we noticed a cup that my husband drank soda from that night had ants all over it. The hotel gave us a 10% discount; however the 10% was on their price not the price through Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Mold in bathroom. No milk at breakfast. Rooms were clean and comfy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Hotel is convenient, but beside some other not so great looking hotels. Its recently renovated, comfortable, roomy and clean. I'd certainly stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Danykafrom Fairhope

Wedding Visit

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
The service was nice and so was the atmosphere. However the curtains had some sort of mold or dirt on them from not being washed and the window sill was covered in mold. My children was looking out of the window when I noticed it and I took pictures. It may be from the air conditioning unit, but please clean thoroughly. People can get sick this way!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gracielafrom Arkansas

Breakfast

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Breakfast they put a lot of stuff, But didn't taste good, orange juice horrible, as well the coffee and the scrambled eggs. They made the effort but they need to change brands and cook :(
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2014
It is an older hotel but was clean and staff was nice
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2014
The room was clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable also. The main thing that keeps me from rating it a 5 is the breakfast is a bit spartan when compared with a Holiday Inn Express. Overall it was a very good option for business travel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Billfrom Mobile

Last Minute Booking

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I should learn to ignore most of the reviews. I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews, but, needed to be close to another hotel that my children were staying in for a state track meet that was booked. The hotel was clean, well maintained, and quiet. The breakfast, while not an order-off-the-menu breakfast (we knew it wasnt), was your typical free buffet and everything tasted fine. The bed was wonderful, clean, and fresh. The "smell" referred to in a previous review, I think, was new paint and carpet. Would definitely recommend for overnight clean hotel! Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suefrom Montgomery Alabama

Conference weekend

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: The location was great and so was everything else.
The only problem we had was it was a little hot and when we turned on the air, the fan was so loud we had a hard time sleeping. Also, we could not find the way to close the curtains and it was so very light in the room we felt like it was daytime. Both of those problems can be fixed very easily. Everything else was wonderful.