Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by winemaker from England

Decent 2 star hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fairly typical 2 star French hotel. Decent restaurant, very friendly staff, good location with tram line station nearby. Rooms clean and comfortable, but in no way "plush".
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andy from Hull

Worth the money

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed for 3 nights while here on business, the rooms could do with a refurb as the carpets are very shabby and the bed linen has seen better days! Location is perfect as supermarkets and eateries all around. Staff are friendly and helpful and all speak English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Penny from Kent, Greater London UK

Convenient and charming small hotel on a budget.

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Comfortable and welcoming. Quiet quarter at night. Pleasant surroundings and 5 min. drive to nearest sea resort.
Cons: Redecoration, new bedspreads and curtains. There was a very odd smell in the corridors- a vain attempt to cover smoking smells? Better ventilation.
Location: Although near main drag to the sea, quiet at night. Close to Pavalas la Flot and other nearby coast. Boat hire, nature watching (flocks of flamingoes)
Our welcome was warm, and facilities and meals indicated straight away. English spoken. Small swimming pool and good outside space during summer. Family friendly, and would spend more than one night there. Bed comfortable, but small, and up against the wall. Clean but a bit shabby. A decent choice on the menu. Small bar, quite well stocked. Near a busy road, but quiet at night. Air conditioning. A pleasant experience - would stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by rossviews from England

Extremely disappointing

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall extremely disappointing. The hotel does not come anywhere near to living up to its website profile. The ONLY good points about "Le MeJean" were the hot water was hot, the Internet connection was good and the staff were friendly. In spite of several attempts contact etc., no "complimentary" airport shuttle on arrival. A taxi cost me 16 euros. When I enquired at reception I was just given a dismissive response. Whilst one may understand that being off-season the swimming pool was closed, the hotel generally has an unkempt air. I always consider if an establishment gives value for money. By comparison, for what “Le MeJean” provided, I would have paid half the price in North West of England. The room was almost cell-like overlooking air-conditioning extractors. Room furniture is so basic that even UK social services would not dare allocate it to anyone. I stayed for 12 nights and in that time, even though I asked, the bed sheets were never changed and I resorted to washing the pillow cases myself. The bathroom is adequate provided you accept that it is extremely small. I ended-up staying longer than I would have wished because it turned out that the better hotels in Montpellier were full. My room, at rear of the hotel, overlooked the main highway and there was traffic noise and at night music from a nearby disco could be heard until the early hours. Unless you are desperate I would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ from San Diego

Quiet comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: They should have told me if they could not provide shuttle service The shower was draining very slowly.
Location: It's not a central city. There are some business near by but the hotel restaurant is pleasant, food is good and inexpensive
It would have met my expectation if they have kept shuttle service to pick me up from the airport. They could not pick me up because they did not have a driver available on Sundays. I had to take a taxi.
3 out of 5
by Traveller from Tx

Did not work for me

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Veru quite
Cons: Advertize working hours for shuttle
Chose this hotel based on affordability and proximity to airport to catch a few hours of sleep before an early morning flight. The hotel description says the hotel offers shuttle service to the Airport. Should have remembered that this is France......and upon arrival was informed that the shuttle is only available after 9 am. Had to leave the hotel at 4:30 so had to book a taxi. Trip to Airport is about E10 worth, but here again, forgot that this is France! Even though the Taxi driver could have lived next door, his station was at Gare de Monpellier and by the time he showed up at the hotel there was already E 20 on the meter and by the time you make it to the airport is is over E 30! I never received the wake up call the front desk said they had set up for me, so got a call only when the taxi showed up. So I suppose part of the E20 is for the 10 min or so he had to wait for me to get going. Based on this French system where you pay from where ever the taxi is stationed when it starts rolling to pick you up, you are better off spending the extra money for an Hotel right at the airport or make sure the hotel you choose has a shuttle service operating according to your schedule.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Relaxed atmosphere

Posted May 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not a bad 2 star hotel. Nice people. Could do with a refurb
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

great for single traveler needing airport access

Posted Jul 29, 2012
Friendly people, small pool, good service, quiet - only 5 minutes from airport which was a big plus, and also only 20 min from the beaches and resort area - all the things I was looking for. Even spoke some english, which was a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Katie

Friendly staff, room fits the bill

Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff at Hotel Le Mejean were lovely. We booked our stay rather late in the evening, and even after some trouble finding our reservation, they set us up for the night. The nighttime staff treated us to lively discussion at the bar, and made our evening - after a VERY long drive - a very pleasant one that we wouldn't like have found at your standard budget hotel. The room itself was very basic, but was clean and provided all that we needed: a comfortable bed and a working shower. Good for a night's stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Antti

Posted May 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
We chose this hotel based on the hotels.com websites. They promised the airport transfer to and from the hotel. "Guests have complimentary access to a roundtrip airport shuttle at scheduled times". When we checked in we asked about the airport shuttle and the receptionist promised to organize it for us. He said "tomorrow at 7:30, i'll be working here so no problem" Next day when we came back to the hotel from the city center at the scheduled time an other receptionist informed us that it's impossible to have the airport transfer. So we ended up running to the tram stop and took the tram "near" the airport and running two km at the side of the highway to get to the airport in time. Luckily we came a bit early to the hotel.... Otherwise the hotel was ok.. the service was good before the "airport transfer" episode. The hotel is a bit worn but it has an easy access to the city center.