Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but could use some changes

Posted Aug 22, 2014
The hotel was nice, our room was spacious, bright and overlooked the port. However, the room comfort was significantly impacted by lack of wifi signal in the room. We stayed on the second floor and we had to stand in the hallway to use the wifi. We are from the U.S. and being our first time in Montreal this was very inconvenient for us. Also, the refrigerator in the room was quite noisy. At points during the night it made an elongated high pitch sound waking us up. The door to the room was also extremely squeaky. This posed a problem because my wife likes to get up early and run yet I enjoy sleeping in a bit. The staff was pleasant and tried to help with the wifi. We believe it is a nice hotel but it is probably more suited for travelers from Quebec or for travelers who have been to Montreal before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

Loved it

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Great location Wonderful rooms with lots of character Friendly, helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

great little hotel, in the heart of old montreal

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: charm, cleaness and location.
Cons: the carpet on the stairs....
Location: you're in the centre of old montreal, good quick eats, lots to see and walking distance to everywhere in the downtown area
quite charming, pleasant little hotel, rooms are nice and comfy, very easy to deal with staff and responsive, we enjoyed our short two day stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for Old Port; Easy I-10 access

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Located above a cafe with reasonably good food, service and prices. Architecture of old building makes the rooms unique.
Cons: Wifi was pretty slow, but reliable.
Location: Good location for old port area. 20 min walk to Chinatown. Across from Science Center. 5 min. walk to Metro.
The staff were very accommodating and eager to make our stay enjoyable. The suite was spacious and comfortable. About a 15 minute walk if you want to watch the summer fireworks from the clock tower beach. Parking is a bit difficult because it is limited in the old port. We chose the science center lot (24 Canadian per 24 hours), about a 10 minute walk, but you can park outside the hotel (if a space is open) to unload. Good cafe right outside the door. Did hear street noise and trains at night, but not loud and reasonable for being right in the city. 5 flights up and deep tub will make this unsuitable for anyone with mobility challenges. Our suite (#303) had the queen bed in a separate alcove with french doors which adds a bit of privacy if you have guests using the two pull-out couches. Sound proofing between rooms was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: The AC, while it seemed new, did not cool our top floor suite sufficiently(undersized? Mid 80s F). We moved chairs in front of A/C to be comfortable.
In old town Montreal. Beautiful room in older building with lots of character. We enjoyed our short stay. Enjoyed the "guest" guitar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Charming hotel in Old City

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Charming, very old hotel. Our room was very large, well-furnished, and had a good view of the harbor.
Cons: Hotel has no elevator, and our room was 3 floors up from street level. Not easy for an older person with heavy luggage.
Location: Harbor, Cirque de Soleil, abundance of good restaurants, shops and galleries, Notre Dame Cathedral.
Great location for us first-timers visiting Montreal. We took Via Rail from Vancouver BC to Montreal and then to Old City Quebec. It was like taking a train to Europe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2014
It was nice. We enjoyed our stay in old Montréal. It was good good good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is NOT a hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The location and the quality of the room.
Cons: Inform the customer clearly that this is not a hotel and they will not find a reception desk when arriving.
Location: Hey, it's Montreal, get out there and have fun!
Great location, great room. There was a guitar in the lobby for whoever wanted to play it, that itself made my day!! However, I wish I had known, and informed by Expedia, that this was not an actual hotel, but something more akin to B&B's and AirBnB. When I drive into city with my big truck full of kids and their junk, I expect a $300 room to also provide a valet and/or bell service, there was none of that and I just had to be the annoying american with my fat wheels parked on the sidewalk! Also, the wifi was a joke and I had to leave the room to be able to get some work done somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from Pennsylvania

Wonderful hotel in old Montreal

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Access to ice.
Location: You are in Old Montreal, just a short walk to the ferry if you're going to the island.
This hotel is in the prime location of where you want to be. The room was very comfortable, but if you're expecting a modern place forget it. The ambience was wonderful. I have to caution anyone who cannot do stairs. I never had a problem with noise but before I stayed, I read some who reported am noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tammy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com