Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Basic Hotel in Old Montreal (Chinatown)

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The location. Free internet access.
Cons: Lower parking rates. Small fridge and microwave in room.
Location: Located in the Chinatown area of Old Montreal. Close to downtown.
The hotel is situated in the busy Chinatown area of Old Montreal. It is a in a good central location for getting to both Old Montreal and downtown. The check in process was handled quickly when we arrived. On site parking is very expensive at $27/night and there are many other cheaper parking options in the area. Do your research on where you will park ahead of time if using an alternative option. The lobby is nicely themed and includes a bar and pool table. The room was basic with 2 queen beds, a desk with chair, a table with 2 chairs and a bathroom. Plenty of sheets and towels. The air conditioner worked well and there was one window which could be opened for fresh air. It did not have a small refrigerator or microwave. They would have been nice but not essential. We used ice from the machine and the sink in the bathroom to keep drinks cold. The wifi internet access worked well. The check out process was also quick. Overall it was everything you could want for a basic stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kitchener, On

good location - OK hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: needs to be updated
Location: walking distance to old montreal close to metro to make the whole city accessible
nice location - easy to get to metro, walking distance to old montreal and located in china town hotel is a bit dated - but it was fine - bed was comfortable - did not spend much time at hotel parking was expensive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little worn down.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Good location for old montreal but a little on the dated side.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Annie, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that according to the high standards of Holiday Inn, we will be initiating a complete renovation program of our guest rooms beginning this year. This project will be completed in approximately three years. We are hoping to welcome you back then! Best regards, Annie
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, in the heart of Chinatown.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Quiet, convenient basic hotel, perfect base to explore from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Annie, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for sharing your comments with us! We are hoping to welcome you back upon your return trip to Montreal! Best regards, Annie
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not to the Holiday Inn Standard

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Front Desk; breakfast; gym, swimming pool
Location: parking was bad, so not muh to do with a car. If walking around, that would be more fun; we never did this though.
The front desk lady was not friendly at all. She asked for the deposit of the possible car parking; however, it was charged everyday! We never parked there. The breakfast was terrible, with the high fees they charged! The gym was terrible; it was not a gym, it was a cage! They even locked the door to the yard, the air was bad inside the small gym. The swimming pool was dirty, and the terrible smell and the dirty water. Wonder if they ever changed the water. I would never stay in this one, not in my life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2014 by Annie, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like to take this opportunity to tnform you that according to the high standards of Holiday Inn, we will be initiating a complete renovation program of our guest rooms beginning this year. This project will be completed in approximately three years. We are hoping to welcome you back so that you can see the changes that are happening in the hotel. Best regards, Annie
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed

Good area and restaurant, but rooms need updating

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: very good Chinese restaurant inside the hotel
Cons: rooms are in an urgent need of an update
it was OK, expensive because it was a busy weekend, but the hotel needs a serious upgrade, especially the rooms. it was close to the bars and restaurants of St Catherine street so that was good. overall decent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2014 by Annie, Hotel Management
Dear Ed, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have started a 3-year renovation program, which will include all of our rooms. We do hope that you will come and visit us again, giving us your opinion on our new look! Best regards, Annie
1 out of 5
by Faraway

very bad, do not recommend

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Cons: WIFI! I live there for 4 days in room 833; can NEVER successfully login to gmail. Complaint to the front desk but they can do nothing.
Poor bedding; low wifi (can NEVER successfully login to gmail to send an email during my 4-day stay!!) If it was not for the conference (close to the convention center), I should have left the hotel right away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Annie, Hotel Management
Dear Faraway, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have started a 3-year renovation program, including WIFI which should be done shortly. We do hope to welcome you back so that you can see the difference, Best regards, Annie
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2014 by Annie, Hotel Management
Dear Faraway, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am trully sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As part of our 3-year renovation program, and we are beginning with this, we are currently working on the WIFI system to change it completely. Upon your return stay to Montreal, please contact me directly at achampagne@yul-downtown.hiselect.com as I would like assist you into making your reservation. Best regards, Annie
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

China Town Themed Hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
The hotel was very nice with a China-esque feel. The front desk were kind however when I checked out and asked for a receipt the man behind the desk was kind of rude and said I don't get one because I booked it through Expedia (this was my first time booking a hotel from Expedia). I would have appreciated it he politely explained it to me rather than giving me weird looks and telling me rudely. I only stayed for one day, the room was clean and the sheets looked clean, however there were some spots (maybe stains) here and there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2014 by Annie, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveller, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is unfortunate that you ended your stay on a wrong note, and I would like to apologize for that. Rest assure that your comments regarding the sheets will be shares with our housekeeping team. We are hoping to welcome you back in Montreal soon, Best regards, Annie
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2014
We had no hot water for the two nights of memorial day weekend. The parking garage is very difficult to get in and out of.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2014 by Annie, Hotel Management
Dear verified traveler, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am truly sorry that you experienced problem with the hot water through your stay with us. I would like to invite you to contact me upon your return trip to Montreal at achampagne@yul-downtown.hiselect.com as I would like to assist you into making your visit a memorable one. Looking forward to hearing from you, Annie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julianna from North of Toronto, On

Decent hotel central to so much

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: proximity to things, well priced, staff was efficient and accommodating. Room and washroom good size
Cons: feels a wee bit dated. A/C units are old and noisy, curtains don't shut out all the light, not unusual really, but not ideal.
Location: Right by old town for lots of restaurants, sights and people watching. Close as well to Catherine Street for lots of shopping.
Pleasant hotel, friendly staff, close to Old Montreal (5 minute walk)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2014 by Annie, Hotel Management
Dear Julianna, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your stay with us. I would like to inform you that we will be initiating a complete renovation program of our guest rooms beginning this year. This project will be completed in approximately three years. We are looking forward to welcome you back, Annie