Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel close to university

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Very friendly staff and in a great location! Pubs and restaurants were minutes away and we had a nice view of Mont Royal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seacoast, NH

Lovely stay in Downtown Montreal

Posted Feb 19, 2015
If you're looking for a nice stay that doesn't break the bank and still offers you access to downtown Montreal this is your place. Stayed here for two nights Sun-Tues and really enjoyed the experience. At the bottom of the a hill the Ambrose can sneak up on you if you're not paying attention. Take a spot on the street if there is one. There is a 15 minute spot for hotel guests so you can bring your things in and get set up. Parking on the street is the best option. They do have spots for $15/day and there are plenty of parking structures in the area, but you can park as long as you want on the street for free so give it a shot. The employees are helpful and understanding but also do not bother you on your stay. We stayed in the "Family Room" which had a queen bed in a large room with an attached extra room with a fold out bed. The bathroom featured a large tub and plenty of hot water. Location is excellent. We stayed on a particularly cold weekend in February and still could walk to several locations. As of 2015, taxis like to sit at the end of the street so finding a quick cab to get where you're going is easy. Metro station stops are also close by if you need one. Really is an excellent stay if you want a place that gets the job done and makes your life easier at the same time. Clean, friendly, great location, easy to find.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Cheapest around the area.

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Just going for a conference near Mcgill staying only for 2 days. Excellent for those who have a strict budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Yarmouth,N.S.

Nice & Quiet, Close to Everything

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: As a personal preference I like a hotel to be off "the beaten path". It was nice& quiet with none of any sort of drama.
Location: Located centrally in Montreal was within easy walking distance of shopping on St.Catherines, the Bell Center for sports fans,enjoyable dining.
The signage on the building could be a little bigger for even some taxi drivers didn't know it was there.This being an older building one could tell some details should have been improved upon. Whether I had forgotten the fact but the hotel did have some ingredients out for people to make their own breakfasts which I thought was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value for Money.

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Location. Clean and comfortable beds and pillows.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Very good for McGill University visitors.
Location is great. It is in the heart of McGill campus area.The hotel is highly aged but the room is spacious, the beds are comfortable, the staff are courteous. The breakfast is simple, the eggs are rock-hard, all other food is filled with carbohydrates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Nice central hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Convenient & pleasant
Cons: Everything fine IMO
Location: For my purposes it is just fine.
Fine staff & hotel well located in Montreal. No more to say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Fit my needs

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Location, price, staff
Cons: Nothing that wouldn't require major renovations
Location: Close to McGill University and downtown Montreal (with all the shopping malls).
I was a student going to a conference at McGill University, so the two biggest criteria for me were cost and location. Hotel Ambrose fit both wonderfully (much lower than other hotels in the area, and only 5 minutes from McGill). As can be expected from a renovated 100-year-old building, Hotel Ambrose had some eccentric features: The hallways are a bit on the narrow side, and the stairs were slightly steep (and, as other reviews pointed out, no elevators). There's also a three-step "hump" that one has to go over to reach the second building (they tore down a wall, but it's right where a staircase was so they had to improvise). Also, there were some cracks in the wall (purely cosmetic), and if you looked REALLY closely, there were hidden corners with some dust. The majority of the room and bathroom were clean, however, and my stay was comfortable. The included breakfast was nothing to fancy (they admitted as much), but I appreciated there being food (potatoes, eggs, cereal, and toast), juice and coffee. I didn't use any of the facilities (laundry, business area, parking, etc.), so I can't comment on that. What really impressed me was the friendliness of the staff. From the moment I walked in I felt welcome. So if you're looking for a fairly inexpensive place to stay, and don't mind older places, I would recommend it. If you like the usual modern hotel, then maybe not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location with wonderfull staff

Posted Jan 23, 2015
When I first checked in the room was very small but clean and had basically everything I needed and for the price, the room represented fair value. When I returned from the hockey game there was a note to contact Judy the owner / manager. Apparently the room that was initially booked for me was out of service and as a result I was unknowingly (to me) down graded. Judy appologized and booked me into a "superior " room for the next evening ... AND did not charge me for the first nights stay. She certainly did not have to do that, especially given that I was not dissapointed with the initial room. The hotel has a community feel and reflects the owner's pride in the facility. I will definitly be staying there again. The location is central to everything Montreal has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com