Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is to noisy and the neighborhood is terrible.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
The first night we cannot sleep because it is too noisy next door, people turn on their music loud and in our room we can hear people laughing and talking all night. And starting from Friday, every Saturday is the same. Every night, starting from 8:30, we will heard police siren. It is scary. It seems something is happening outdoor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashua, NH

Perfect for what was needed

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: I liked the room, the staff, the common areas, the breakfast, and the ease of transactions.
Cons: If the rooms were slightly bigger that would have been great, but not necessary.
Location: The location was right downtown! I could easily walk to any food or thrift shop, as well as the world film festival that was going on.
My experience with Hotel des Arts was great. The staff was helpful and straightforward, the room was clean and had just enough space to be comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful and the common areas were clean and well decorated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel with great customer service

Posted Aug 31, 2014
I want to let everybody know that this hotel has a great location. Walking distance to the Old Port, and to St. Dennis street where you can enjoy great restaurants, especially Anga, Brasilian BBQ and for change Venezuelan arepas and tequeños in Pasa Palos. Also, the Museum of Contemporary Art is walking distance and therefore you can see the city and interact with their artistry culture, which is all over.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

location is good, easy to find the metro.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
I do enjoy this trip, for the beautiful buildings. Montreal's transportation system is good, and this hotel is near the metro and the bus stop, so it is very convenient for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice one for the price

Posted Aug 26, 2014
It's close to DT, it's very clean. But the room is a little small, I don't like the style when u open the door, u see ur bed in front of u. If I open the room door, the people outside can see everything on my bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not good except the breakfast and location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Breakfast and location are good, but room condition is disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Stay ANYWHERE else!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
If I could give negative stars to this hotel I would. I've stayed in hostels with better rooms and service. The room was very old and the hotel had an awful smell of age. The bedspreads themselves looked at least 20 years old. I wish I could say something nice about the front desk but they were beyond rude and didn't really care about customers. The only thing I can say is that the hotel was located near all the major things I wanted to see. I never had to cab I just walked everywhere. However, make sure you are back at the hotel before 12am because afterwards the surrounding streets don't feel very safe. One night I was out there were dozens of homeless people and beggers walking the streets. I noticed smashed glass on most side streets indicating a lot of car break-ins so avoid this hotel if you are bringing a car. In conclusion, just save yourself the headache and stay somewhere nice. It might cost a little more but it will be better for your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Most disgusting place I have ever stayed

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: need major remodeling and deep cleaning
Location: great location and close to everything in old town
There is only one plus that hotel located just perfectly in old town. The rest is just horrible. Rooms are so dirty. Wi-fi - well you may will have it but mostly its working only at the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
I was a nice hotel. Close to the metro, so travel was very easy. Nice staff and comfortable atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very cheap hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
It is absolutely worthy to stay here spending just 79 dollars. But only one king sized bed for three guests sucks.