Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

close to restaurants but not so great.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: bedding, towels
Location: lots of near by places to eat
Hotel was below par but you get what you pay for. Staff was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Good experience and nice to stay there. I don't mind stay there next time. Staffs were friendly. Hotel is in downtown and everything is nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

economical and well run

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: efficiency, cleanliness, care.
Cons: physical look. It seems very institutional, feels a little like staying at a well maintained but run down housing project.
Location: economical restaurants as it's a student district. But a little scuzzy neighborhood.
efficient, well run... we had a good experience, but the street the hotel is on is a little scarey, certainly bleak to look at.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Elegant, Montreal

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
The hotel room was extremely small. The bathroom was missing tiles and the shower did not work correctly. The staff was inefficient with the check-in process, as I was told two separate times to come back to check in. This added hours to the check-in process. The room was dirty, and the carpet and bed were both stained. The fees were over-priced. I will not be staying at Hotel Elegant or using expedia again. There are more customer-friendly services available. Goodbye, Expedia.com.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maine

Good location but that's it

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Continental breakfast was stale, stained blankets, burn holes in bedspread, counters and tub, not clean, WiFi and air conditioning was intermittent
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good location - and that's it!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
2 streets from Saint-Denis (restaurants galore). Quick walk from there to old montreal. Hotel staff is rude and room is simple, carpet is filthy and theres a smell... Cheap air freshner. (You must not be high maintenance). Lights are dim...multiple bulbs were out and I had to ask for more (and change myself). No AC. Would not eat their breakfast.... Wouldn't trust it. But they have hot water and a bed, which was clean (enough. Who knows, really...) Towels are rough... And some were stained (eww). Good enough for a weekend where all you need the hotel for is a few hours of sleep and a shower, and you can spend your money elsewhere (poutine!!).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oshawa, ON

Elegant it aint...

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: location was very handy
Cons: AC controls, general repair (clean grafette in elevator)
Location: Close to Metro subway and Jazz Festival
Unfinished repair in bathroom, broken toilet handle, old and rundown appointments, no microwave, towels that were very small and maybe a 100 count thread and to top it if when I asked for the AC controls they wanted me to stand on the bed or chair to spin open a vent in the ceiling...this is a 79$ a night hotel, at best and the free contenental breakfast is a farce, stale muffins, OJ and coffee (no cream)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to greyhound bus terminal

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Hotel is close to the many metro stations.
Cons: at the lobby computer for clients is not provided. Breakfast is very poor
Hotel is not big but the size is enough for one person.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kay Pow from New York, NY

Probably not again...

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
As a traveler for work and for pleasure I am used to staying in all sorts of environments from cabins to tents, to hotels to hostels. I am never one to complain as my lifestyle causes for flexibility BUT this place was probably the dirtiest place I have ever stayed in. As traffic in and out of a room is commonplace, I don't think you are supposed to know what kind of toothpaste the person before you used, the color of their hair, what they like to drink and eat. We pretty much came in right after whomever left and they didn't bother to clean. The room we stayed in looked "lived in". The place smelled sour and of mold, as their was no A/C or even a way to air out the room because the window in the room I stayed in was broken. The place was noisy, you could hear everything. I didn't think walls could be thinner than most NYC apartments, but they were. The towels were not changed, neither were the drinking cups, the bedspread had holes in it, the mattress was hard, and the sheets were paper thin. The positives were: it was close to a train stop and there was a decent amount of channels to choose from on the TV.