Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Boutique Hotel in Old Montreal

Posted Apr 21, 2014
This is our third stay at this lovely hotel. A former bank building which has been impeccably renovated - all rooms are unique and very well appointed. Staff is tremendous. Service is the best. We love this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John & Joan from Long Island, NY

Great Hotel in Old Montreal

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The staff. You could not ask for better service from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. The concierge was great.
Cons: Nothing to improve upon.
Location: There are plenty of museums and restaurants in the area. We also drove to the Expo center to see a special baseball game.
We stayed four nights. The room was a Junior Suite with a huge marble bathroom. The bed was one of the best we have every slept in. The room was perfect for a couple. It was clean and comfortable. We were there in March and there was snow on the ground. It was a little difficult to walk around Old Montreal. Spring and Summer would to a better time of year to visit. The front desk will exchange your currency and the Valet parks your car (extra cost).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to Old Montreal.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Charming ambience. Also, request for room cleaning as well as "do not disturb" were handled by pressing a button.
Cons: Turn up the outdoor temperature thermostat -- winter in March is a bit much! (Just kidding!)
Very helpful concierge(s). Very efficient maid service. Excellent bar with yummy food and fine wine. Unobtrusive attention to special requests. I requested ice for my sore knee; got it quickly and in quantity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2014
We stayed for 4 days, couldn't have been more pleased with the service and overall hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Grant from Ottawa

Good service

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
A bellman and concierge staff that paid attention, reception staff that remembered who we were and what room we were in, and very responsive to requests! Would go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul and Mary from British Columbia

great stay

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
we stayed one night at end of January, the staff was great and went above and beyond in accommodating us both for an early check in and a late check out. the room was impeccable and the hotel itself has a beautiful and rick décor. loved it and we would recommend it to anyone especially for a romantic couples getaway. close to old montreal and the restaurants along St. Paul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Beautiful old building. Very classy. Close to lots of interesting things to do. Really fantastic restaurant inside too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Houston, TX

Lovely small hotel in a charming location.

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Love the staff, the coziness, the luxury and comfort. Room service food is excellent although expensive.
Cons: Charging $20 a day for wi-fi in this day is just silly; it detracts from the service justifying the prices. Wi-fi is free if used in the library.
Location: In the old quarter, close to most tourist attractions. A metro station is steps away. Montreal also has the short term car rental services located
The staff makes this hotel worth the expense. The staff remembered our names & the concierge/bellmen go above and beyond. I was waiting in the library (off the lobby and always stocked with great fresh fruit and good reads) when I experienced a severe low blood sugar attack. It was so bad I could barely articulate what was wrong, but Abdullah rushed into action, appearing in seconds with a regular coke and a plate of chocolate toffee. He stayed with me until my husband arrived and did all he could to insure that I had recovered. This was our second stay at the St. James and our second visit to Montreal. I think we will always stay at the St. James when in Montreal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

St. James Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: the "quaintness" of it. The room "key" was soooo cute. And the staff went above and beyond. The silver in the dining room and room service trays was
Cons: ice stations on perhaps every second floor would be nice, had to call room service for ice.
Location: so much to do, shopping at the port, quaint cafes, the Notre Dame church, the horse drawn wagons, what more can anyone want!!!
Beautiful hotel, close to old port, great for shopping. The staff were excellent, no language problems. The spa was terrific!! Would recommend to a friend, but summer would be a better time to visit.>