Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Beautiful old building. Very classy. Close to lots of interesting things to do. Really fantastic restaurant inside too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Houston, TX

Lovely small hotel in a charming location.

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Love the staff, the coziness, the luxury and comfort. Room service food is excellent although expensive.
Cons: Charging $20 a day for wi-fi in this day is just silly; it detracts from the service justifying the prices. Wi-fi is free if used in the library.
Location: In the old quarter, close to most tourist attractions. A metro station is steps away. Montreal also has the short term car rental services located
The staff makes this hotel worth the expense. The staff remembered our names & the concierge/bellmen go above and beyond. I was waiting in the library (off the lobby and always stocked with great fresh fruit and good reads) when I experienced a severe low blood sugar attack. It was so bad I could barely articulate what was wrong, but Abdullah rushed into action, appearing in seconds with a regular coke and a plate of chocolate toffee. He stayed with me until my husband arrived and did all he could to insure that I had recovered. This was our second stay at the St. James and our second visit to Montreal. I think we will always stay at the St. James when in Montreal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

St. James Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: the "quaintness" of it. The room "key" was soooo cute. And the staff went above and beyond. The silver in the dining room and room service trays was
Cons: ice stations on perhaps every second floor would be nice, had to call room service for ice.
Location: so much to do, shopping at the port, quaint cafes, the Notre Dame church, the horse drawn wagons, what more can anyone want!!!
Beautiful hotel, close to old port, great for shopping. The staff were excellent, no language problems. The spa was terrific!! Would recommend to a friend, but summer would be a better time to visit.>
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Inadequate Heat, Intermitent Internet

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Charming, great location and the staff was pleasant although sometimes inadequate.
Cons: Policy concerning the thermostadt, Internet conectivity. Temperature valve on shower.
Location: Right downtown, everything there.
We checked into our room which was 66 degrees, moved the thermostadt up to 72F but it kept going to the OFF position. After a cold night the Building engineer said he would bring a space heater however I told him, not at these rates. He said I should call the front desk for a new room, we did. New room was an improved Junior Suite and we set that thermostadt to 73 degrees. Heat would never build up because the front desk kept turning it down or OFF. Called the manager and he had the front desk set the thermostadt to 73 while in our room. It stayed set for the rest of the time. Internet did not work day 3 so I took my computer down tot he conciege and wired it there for my email. Shower did not keep a consistant temperature. This was a very expensive Hotel, $100 per night more than anything around it and I don't understand why I should have to deal with such issues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Christian from Ottawa

You will have to pay extra for ice...

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The building is beautiful, service is great but the rooms are extremely austere for a hotel of this category and price (no bath tub in a 350 dlls per night room!). Price is the key when it comes to Le Saint James, I took my wife as a surprise for her 30th birthday and after all the extras they charge the night worked out the be around 650 dlls. They will charge you for Wi-Fi, they will charge you 40 dlls plus tips to park your car, they will charge you room service if you order ice... it's just absurd. One block away from Le Saint James, you'll find L'Hotel, a much nicer hotel, with beautiful rooms, exceptional modern art, fantastic service and no hidden extras...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Fantastic.

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Spent a weekend in Montreal to attend a wedding. Everything about the hotel was perfect. Room was gorgeous and spotless clean. Service was impeccable. Weather was nasty cold so spent a lot of time in the room which was perfectly fine with us. Walked to several fabulous restaurants within a couple of blocks. Only improvement would be to provide coffee in the room. Other than that excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from New Jersey

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: It was upscale but yet still charming. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful and never pretentious.
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. It was a wonderful choice! The hotel was beautiful and the staff was extremely friendly! Our room was clean and comfortable. I had a massage and spa experience which was the best massage I have ever had! The restaurant "XO" is excellent! It is a bit pricey, but definitely worth it for a special occasion. I would stay here again in a heart beat!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mont Tremblant

More than Boutique, Less than Corporate

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Good location in Old Montreal, close to downtown and Old Port; beautiful bar/dining room in old bank location, lofty ceilings. Felt quite business oriented. The rooms are decorated more classically and rococo than modern. The room was one of the quietest I've ever been in (not facing the street).