Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annette from Manchester England

Nothing was too much trouble

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: The attitude of the staff -friendly, helpful but not familiar.
Cons: Breakfast was a bit basic for such a nice hotel.
Location: The hotel is right in the heart of the old town near lots of art galleries and good restaurants, and near to museums and the old docks.
We visited Montreal for a birthday treat and stayed at the hotel on the basis of previous good reviews. We were not disappointed. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent and our requests for sightseeing information were just what we were looking for. When it came to leave, we asked for directions to the autoroute, and were handed printed directions!!!! That was impressive -and really helpful given Montreal's notorious one way road system. Well done
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenn from Long Island, NY

Ten Year Anniversary Trip was a Winner!

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Pros: Loved the location. Loved the staff.
Cons: There is no gift shop to speak of, only a small woman's clothing boutique on the property.
Location: Close to so much! Notre Dame Cathedral, ice skating rink, waterfront, countless restaurants, bars and shops.
My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Nelligan for a long weekend in January of 2014. The Hotel is lovely and quaint, the staff beyond reproach and the location phenomenal. We couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is well within walking distance to many Old Montreal attractions including but not limited to the waterfront, ice skating rink, Notre Dame Cathedral and many shops and restaurants. In better weather it is even a short walk to the larger city and the business district. The fireplaces in the rooms, as previously mentioned, are not wood burning but do have the ability to give off heat if needed. We found they added to the ambiance of the room and liked them a lot. We also had a jacuzzi type tub in our room that we liked and requested a quiet room away from the main atrium area of the hotel -- which we were given and enjoyed. We would definitely recommend this hotel! But bring your winter boots in the winter. The streets and sidewalks can be treacherous this time of year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Melissa from San Diego

A great place to stay

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay at Hotel Nelligan overall. Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a great location in Old Montreal. The only downfall is that the hotel is really loud. We were up by 8am each morning due to other guests waiting for the elevator or downstairs in the bar. The walls are very thin and sound carries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Roy from Toronto

Great location and service

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at this hotel a few times now and each time we have a new experience. This hotel has excellent staff which make the experience of stay at this hotel that much better to enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by AA from Toronto

Super

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ross from Winnipeg

Wonderful hotel! Expensive but worth it!

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Stylish modern in a lovely old building.
Location: In the heart of Old Montreal Perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephen from Washington DC

Wonderful Boutique Hotel in Old Montreal

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Boutique feel, even fully booked (aka. doormen/good and helpful concierge service). Skip breakfast in the room and check out the bakery left a block.
Cons: The 'clutter' on the limited counterspace in the main room could have been freed up some with less wet/minibar mess.
Location: TONS to do nearby. Good access to the metro, shops, restaurants, science center, river front (beautiful), several park spaces, notre dame, and a SAQ.
Just got back from a 6 night stay at this hotel over the new year's holiday week. We had a couple days where the hotel was completely empty and a few (NYE and the days around it) where it was fully booked. We stayed in an interior courtyard facing petite suite. The room service food/restaurant downstairs (Verses) was tasty, but there's better options out there in Old Montreal that are close by. Luckily, the location of the hotel is smack in the middle of these, so venturing into the cold to hit the restaurant/bar scene was effortless. The room itself was cozy. It had 3 drawbacks: (a) the 'fireplace' was (as other users have noted) simply a space heater dressed up with a screen - but it came in quite useful during the cold snap that sent temperatures into the -30's F, as the otherwise solid room heater couldn't keep up. Kind of gimmicky, but it got the job done. (b) the whirlpool tub was super confusing and we had some difficulty operating it. I don't have one at home, so not sure if it was that tub's design or if that's normal, but it seemed to have a 'super bubbles' setting only - nothing more moderated. (c) lack of storage! The hotel room's storage options would have been fine for a 2 or 3 day stay, but wintertime in Quebec requires a lot of cloths for a 6 night stay and we basically had to leave it in the suitcases, as there wasn't really a dresser/bureau chest to unpack into. A great stay otherwise, I'd stay again. Very nice accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: perfect location, clean and elegant room, lovely staff
Cons: the menu at the hotel restaurant is somewhat limited
Location: in the heart of Old Montreal, perfect location
Lovely hotel, fantastic location, clean room, very comfortable. The staff's politeness and eagerness to please is what stands out. Perfect location in the heart of elegant Old Montreal. Each time I stay here, I am amazed by the professionalism and politeness of the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014