Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location; rooms somewhat tired

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Enjoyed the location - perfect for walking around Old Montreal and even into downtown. Close to good restaurants and attractions. As a four-star, my expectations were higher. The lobby area is wonderful, but rooms are tired; carpets need replacing; not spotless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Old Montreal

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Cons: The TV is a bit small and in the corner of the room.
Staff were very friendly, room was very large, close to several restaurant and shops in Old Montreal. Staff were even willimg to let us park the car at the hotel after check-out.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ontario

Hotel St. Paul Montreal

Posted Oct 13, 2014
From the outside beautiful Inside another story. The halls are all poorly lit with dim lighting trying to achieve a cool look, but it just gives you a feeling of dirty. Room was small with a great view of the fire escape and a brick wall. You can hear people every room above and beside peeing every time they went to the bathroom. Yes you read that correctly. Front desk staff were really nice. James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Great hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014
This hotel was perfect. Great staff, clean and in a great location. Will definitely be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location for seeing Old Montreal

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: grab bars in bathroom
The Hotel restaurant is quite nice. The bath tub is quite deep and there are no grab bars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fonthill, Ontario

2nd stay, most likely our last stay

Posted Sep 18, 2014
We stayed at the hotel St Paul about 2 years ago. We ended up with a corner room with no view but the room was quite large with a king bed. This time, we were given a tiny room (queen) that had scuff marks on the wall above the bed and it had a squished fly on one of the photos on the wall. I called down and someone from the front desk cane up right away and moved us to another room (king, much larger with a good view). While we were please with the upgrade and how the staff handled it, the hotel is definitely in need of some attention to detail. All the rooms seem to need some upgrades. For the price we paid per night, we expected better, especially as repeat customers. The one huge plus is the restaurant attached to the hotel (Hambar) I highly recommend it for drinks before dinner or after dinner and definitely for a charcuterie plate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, ON

Lovely hotel in a perfect location in Old Montreal

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Chic, comfortable and pet-friendly.
Cons: Nothing we can think of. Great place.
Location: Walking distance to wonderful restaurants and shops.
Loved our stay at this hotel. Our room was comfortable, well appointed and immaculate. We chose it as it was pet-friendly and in a great location in Old Montreal. Staff were courteous and efficient. This is our preferred hotel in Montreal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Amazing hotel in old montreal

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Excellent rooms well furnished with amazing cleanliness...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bellmore, NY

Decent hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: The manager willingly adjusted our bill because of the issue with the internet.
Cons: The hotel style is modern minimalistic, but could definitely have a cleaner fresher look.
Location: Just at the entrance to Old Montreal.
Hotel was okay. I'd rate it three stars, not four though. The location was good. The rooms were small but adequate and clean. There was very little ambiance. The rugs in the hallways were stained and frayed.The gym was minimal. Internet was unreliable and sporadic trough out our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

If you mind dark elevators....

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Staff was helpful, friendly, service was very good
Cons: Renovate rugs in rooms, revamp the lobby and furniture but especially.... remodel the elevators which are painted BLACK!!! and are very dark and small
Location: Location was good; steps away of places of interest in Old Montreal and restaurants and not far from downtown as well.
Hotel staff is pleasing and room cleanliness was good.... but I hated the small, black painted elevators and dark hallways on the room floors. If you don't mind that you then you might like it...