Ratings based on 886 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice hotel perfect for exploring the old port.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Location: It's a two minute walk to the basilica (a must see), which is also the meeting point for the Old Montreal Walking Tours - also a must do.
A great surprise was the size of our room (suite 305). It was huge with king bed, sofa (extra bed), arm chair, coffee table and large corner desk area which my husband made good use of. The unusual leather trunk style tables and chest of drawers were very roomy and sturdy - and attractive. The art is everywhere in the hotel, a plus if you appreciate the diversity on display. Breakfast is served in a very nice room and with a good selection of pastries, croissant, fruit and cold cuts/cheese. The only thing we weren't impressed by is the bar area, it's a bit cramped with a lot of large sculptures in the area. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location: The hotel is located in the Vieux Montréal section of the city, and is convenient to many attractions, stores and restaurants.
The hotel is in an older building, but the rooms are furnished and decorated attractively and comfortably. The bed was comfortable. The staff people are friendly and helpful. The lobby and corridors have interesting modern-art paintings and drawings, including some by Andy Warhol and Roy Lichtenstein.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jay from Melbourne

nice clean service is great central

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: everything
the staff were lovely and welcoming. the hotel is clean. the room is spacious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Quebec City

Old charm.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Staff was very efficient. Surprisingly quiet, old charm. Good restaurants and old Montreal within walking distance. Good quality vs price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Good location, but extremely disappointing.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Location, that's it.
Cons: See above experience!!
Location: Food, shopping, tourist attractions in Old Montreal.
Judge for yourself: 1) Staff charged my card without notifying me why (I got a text from my bank thankfully). 2) The cleaning staff suggested we take the stairs for some reason instead of taking the elevator with them. 3) When asking for more necessities (ie. coffee - that the room comes with), they said I would be charged... 4) The hotel was always HOT. 5) Half of the outlets didn't work. We had to unplug something to charge our phones. 6) Our bed was hard as a rock. 7) Valet (listed as an amenity) is a $22 charge / day. The parking lots charge $10 / day right across the street. We went for our honeymoon, and while we loved the convenience of the location (everything was within walking distance), I would not recommend it to anyone. It was simply just a place to sleep during our vacation. I booked this hotel due to a lot of positive reviews, but found our experience to be just the opposite. We are American, but I speak and understand french ~ Not sure if this had anything to do with it. Natives were otherwise friendly. Truly a bummer, I hate writing negative reviews!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel, very pleasant stay.

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Cons: Unique, boutique-style hotel. So much better than the large chains.
Location: Close to all the restaurants and shops of Old Montreal, also the Cathedral.
The hotel is filled with interesting Modern and Pop art pieces, which provides a nice contrast to the older style of the hotel itself. Large rooms, good bathrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ilia from Laguna Beach

Unique hotel located near the Congress Center

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: PROS: - convenient location, walkable to downtown and Old Montreal - reasonable rates for location - friendly staff who are very responsive
Cons: CONS: - lack of onsite services such as shoe polishing or dry cleaning - need to request iron & ironing board for the room
I stayed at L'Hotel for 5 days while attending a conference at the Congress Center. The location was very convenient, and the hotel rates were better than other chains that were located farther away. My room was tidy and comfortable, with high ceilings. The building across the street had a spot light pointed towards the window, which shone directly into my room day and night, which was annoying since I like to sleep with the curtains open. The blackout curtains worked well to block this out. I didn't make much use of the other facilities of the hotel due to other obligations. The art throughout this hotel is really fun and makes it quite distinct. Its easily identifiable from the street and very close to the old city. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Shelburne, VT

Easily walkable to anything in Old Port

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: location, layout and decor
Cons: Simpler and less expensive breakfast options. Our room had no artwork - just blank walls. The artwork in the hallways and lobby was very impressive
Location: Old Port of Montreal - great restaurants.
We had a great one night visit. Primary purpose was to see Circue Du Soleil, but we also visted the Biodome. We would definitely choose this hotel again and for extended visits in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay in an Art Gallery

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: The art. the staff
Cons: Mechanicals...both air conditioning and room safe not working.
Location: Perfect location in a fabulous city. Great restaurants nearby.
Stunning concept. Thrilled to experience the art. Great price for what you get.Soooo creative!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very cool hotel!

Posted May 16, 2014
This hotel is amazing value. For the same price, it's chic and hip with all the amenities of a mid-tear business hotel like Hampton Suites…a great alternative.