Ratings based on 917 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus ohio

Posted May 18, 2015
Great space and terrace was nice too! we stayed in the junior suite and the bathroom was sooo big and nice! Jets in the tub!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, ON

Best hotel I've been to yet!

Posted May 18, 2015
The valets were waiting when we pulled up and politely took care of everything, the receptionist quickly checked us in, the room was spacious, beautiful, clean, and the excellent service was given consistently over the 3 days we were in Montreal. Afterward, we headed to Quebec City and stayed at the Chateau Frontenac; we experienced a huge contrast! The Chateau was more expensive, crowded, slow, the room was tiny, the bathroom taps were leaking, and was a general disappointment. I would definitely stay at Place D’Armes the next time I'm in Montreal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Really enjoyed Expedia Upgrade!

Posted May 14, 2015
Thoroughly impressed - from valet, reception, bar & maid staff, to upgraded room (gorgeous roomy suite) courtesy of ExpediaGold, to free drinks - a wonderful stay! We're in Old Montreal 2 - 3 times /year and have tried several other hotels - this was definitely our best experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, ON

Independent Hotel in Old Montreal

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: - High-end, with high quality - Excellent location for our purposes - that's why we chose it
Cons: - Room on the small side - Lots of road works in Montreal right now, which made getting there a little complicated
Location: - Walking & dining was close at hand - Shopping, museums, performance venues, railway station all within reasonable distance.
- A single night's stay; check-in easy & efficient, as was check-out - Enjoyed the relaxing complimentary cocktail - Valet parking only. Very fast, responsive & courteous - Room small (no armchair), but comfortable & with high-quality furnishings & fixtures
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2015
We had a wonderful time! We went for our anniversary and it couldn't have been a better experience. Everyone is so friendly and so helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

While I don't want the secret to get out . . .

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Short answer, everything.
Cons: The neighborhood is in transition: it was once great, and is heading back that way.
Location: Just steps from Notre Dame Cathedral and Bank of Montreal (worth going into even if you don't need to transact business).
This is just an outstanding hotel. One of the nicest rooms we've stayed in, and we frequent nice hotels (though mostly in Florida and California). Staff is super friendly and very competent. Both restaurants do a very nice job, but the roof top bar/restaurant is a must if the weather is nice. The architecture of the building is wonderful and they do a great job using it to their advantage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great hotel in an excellent location.

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Staff provided excellent service.
Cons: No further need for improvement.
Location: Near the historic city centre (old Montreal). Within walking distance of the metro, and a resonable distance to the main shopping district.
I thoroughly enjoy my stay. The staff were attentive and polite; food &a beverage service was excellent. Location of the hotel was very central, near old Montreal and many other scenic parts of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC Canada

Great Hotel. Great Location

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The location.
We had a great experience from check in to check out. Staff was friendly and helpul. Suite 701 lounge was awesome especially Gavin, who went above and beyond to make sure we were well fed and watered. The rooms were small-ish but comfortable and very clean. Location was across from the Notre Dame Cathedral and an easy walk to many pubs, bars, restaurants, shops and museums.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Exceeded my expectations 10 fold

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: So much to tell but unfortunately my review is limited to 1500 characters. Luxury Luxury Luxury and amazing staff all around, shout out to Elvis
Cons: add Satelite TV to the current cable package Check my full review on Tripadvisor
Location: Right next door to Notre Dame Square, Basilica, block and half from water front. shopping and restaurants
***Sorry my review is limited to 1500 characters*** This was my 3rd trip to Montreal in the last 6 years and I decided I wanted to stay somewhere a little more unique and located downtown. Well I came across Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites on Expedia, then read many reviews and checked out their website and decided this was the hotel I wanted. So my week before arriving was horrible, worked 4 16 hour shifts in a row, plus my little dog was poisoned so had to take him to the hospital in between it all then the night before my morning flight there was not enough time to get any sleep and the night before I had 5 hours.. so I arrive at Toronto's Island Airport for my early morning flight... heavy fog grounded all flights. So my flight was canceled and rebooked several times. Finally 2pm I am on a plane but stuck on the runway for 30 minutes because a computer crashed.. once fixed we were airborne and all was good. I get to the hotel to check in into my Junior King Suite that I reserved but the front desk staff made my day by offering me their top room at no extra charge (Expedia Gold Member as well). I accepted and the room I am in is the Penthouse suite. The Penthouse suite is massive in size, couldn't tell you exact but I would guess over 2000 sq ft with 20 ft vaulted ceilings, fire place, very large rain/spa shower, 2 bathrooms, luxurious one person (should have been a double in my opinion but won't fault them) self cleaning jacuzzi tub. Massive floor to ceiling arched window
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location; great staff and overall great stay

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Cons: Unfortunately, the jet tub in our room was not working.
Location: Check out Barraco for a great meal!
We stayed in MTL for 3 nights/4 days and our stay was incredible. The hotel location was perfect as it was close to great restaurants, wonderful sights and we were able to do everything on our list. The hotel staff was really helpful and provided great service during booking and our stay. They were able to accommodate our early arrival for 11am and had everything ready for us! Check out Suite 701 for awesome drinks and lovely ambience. Our bartender, Louis, was great and made us some pretty great drinks (Try the Elderflower drnk and the Royal Old Fashioned). We also took the opportunity to check out Rain Spa which was the best part of the stay.