Ratings based on 696 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williams Lake BC

Very nice hotel.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Location, rooms, staff.
Cons: Just the stuff I mentioned above.
Location: Lots of historical things to see. Chinatown just a couple of blocks away. Also close to a Metro station for easy connections.
Very nice hotel in Old Montreal. The room was very nice. The bathroom blew us away. All staff that we interacted with were very nice and helpful. Now for the not so great things. We checked in at midnight and the desk clerk had to go up to our room to make up the hide a bed. They had all day to make it and they knew we were coming as we booked for three people. Street noise from the bar across the street had us worried, but it was only on Saturday night, the rest of our stay had just the normal street noise. Also when we left, my son left his handheld game in the taxi, and when we called back to the hotel to see if they had a taxi log, they told us that they didn't, and that the valet that had helped us had gone home for the day. They should have had a record. All in all it was a very nice stay and we would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Birthday Vacation

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The entire crew of great people and it's great location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Sightseeing, horse drawn carriage rides, seeing some beautiful churches, fabulous restaurants, music and ballet.
This hotel and it staff are fabulous. The location is perfect for walking through Old Montreal, for getting to the Metro system, bus tours and taxi's. Of course, taxi's will arrive at the hotel's main entrance. Restaurants and sightseeing ideas were expertly handled by the knowledgeable Concierges. Every morning hot coffee is available in the lobby area and in the afternoon, cold drinks are offered, both gratis. We enjoyed our Jr. Suite that had a nice living room with a gas fireplace. The fireplace can be used without the heat feature and one can just enjoy the ambience of a fireplace. The desk area was perfect for using the stationary provided and for writing my purchased post cards. A nice table and chair area was great for sipping Champagne. The Jacuzzi in the HUGE bathroom was awesome as was the separate shower. We never needed for hot water no matter how much I filled the tub. We ate brunch in the dining room downstairs. One night (beautiful lighting in the dining room and bar area), we just went there for drinks. Pretty place, good food, great coffee and drinks. The valet parking was perfect. We didn't need our car for the entire stay as the location of the hotel is perfect. Everyone was so gracious at this hotel. Even though we do not speak French (only English), their main goal was to make certain that our stay at their hotel was perfect, and it was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MIAMI

CLOSE TO NORTRE DAME, OLD TOWN

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: ROOM WAS CLEAN, AND CENTRAL LOCATION WAS IDEAL.
Cons: FRONT DESK STAFF COULD BE BETTER TRAINED.
Location: CLOSE TO NORTRE DAME AND OLD TOWN.
THE HOTEL WAS CENTRALLY LOCATED AND THE ROOM WAS LARGE, AND BATHROOM WAS OVERSIZED WITH GIANT SHOWER. COULD HAVE USED THE SPACE TO MAKE COUNTER AND SINK AREA LARGER. STAFF AT DESK WERE NOT TOO KNOWLEDGEABLE AND UNABLE TO DIRECT PEOPLE TO CORRECT ELEVATORS. WERE THERE ON FRIDAY NITE, BAR BISTRO WAS LOUD WITH YOUNGER PROFESSIONAL CROWD.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Old Montreal across from Notre Dame

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Wonderful staff - first rate. In the middle of Old Montreal close to all its sights. Highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Beautiful hotel with great design, great location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Very helpful staff, great location close to the Old Town. Great bar.
Cons: Internet access not good enough for this std of hotel. Daily basis, only ltd bandwith free. Bed had wooden surround which is good for bruising knees!
Location: Close to Old Town with loads of good restaurants and things to see. Close to Metro and Place des Artes.
We stayed 4 nights in Sept 14 and had a lovely quiet rom, spacious and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

A Work In Progress

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Let me start off this review with some positive comments; the room was top notch, the hotel itself was also excellent. Beautiful area and views of the old town, especially the Notre-Dame Basilica. My only complaints were that the room was not ready at the 3pm check-in time, instead it was 4. They did give us two complimentary drinks for the hotel bar, but while waiting the extra time for our room we were given a $53 parking ticket right across the street from our hotel.....ouch. Not exactly a great first impression. The hotel restaurant service was very poor, we went for breakfast one day and were completely ignored. Suffice it to say, we left and went elsewhere. Overall this hotel, despite its high rating and beautiful surroundings, is average. If you have stayed at the hotel 'Le Crystal' or 'Saint-Sulpice', you know what 5 star means. This hotel is a work in progress.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Le Place'd Armes Hotel was an excellent hotel, located in a great area. The staff was extremely polite and helpful and the accommodations were exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Luxurious and a great location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
We loved everything about Le Place de Armes Hotel! The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The room was very large and so lovely with a great view of the square. We hated to leave!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Good location for tourists

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel room size is decent with old fashion design. Facilities are pleasant with good cleanness level. Staff was efficient and friendly.
Cons: It's a shame there's no bathtub in the room.
Location: It's at the nice neighborhood in old montreal. Easy to get about with the metro stop nearby
We are glad we chose this hotel. It's very convenient to get about, metro stop is just a few minutes' walk and it's easy to get a taxi. The neighborhood is very nice with all the OLd Montreal buildings around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick

Must stay in Old Montreal!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Service, room size and quality. Two lower level bars-restaurants and a great roof top patio.
Cons: It pretty much has it all
Location: Within walking distance to all attractions, restaurants and bars in Old Montreal. 20-25 minutes from shopping along St-Catherine St.
If you feel like spoiling yourself while in Old Montreal stay at the Hotel Place D'Armes. While maintaining its historical charm the hotel has very modern amenities. Check out the roof top patio on the 8th floor. The staff are excellent and very helpful. I was upgraded upon arrival and the room was spacious and had an awesome washroom.