Ratings based on 931 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland ohio

Highly recommend

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Perfect location, very welcoming and caring employees and nice clean rooms. What's not to love ?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent hotel, great location

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Location: Basilica de Notre Dame, Archeology Museum, Old Port
We recently spent a long weekend at Le Place d'Armes and loved it. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room immaculate. Perfect location for walking to the sites in the old city and old port, and convenient to the Metro for easy access to other parts of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Hotel well located in the downtown, clean and well maintained. Staff was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely well run hotel in the heart of old Montreal

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, rooms
Cons: Even in summer, the hardwood floor with no rugs was a bit too cool.
Location: All of old Montreal.
I spent 2 nights here and thought it was a lovely experience and a charming well locatted hotel for visitors wanting to experience the old area of Montreal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Convenient Location

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Location and room size.
Cons: The disc jockey in the bar made it difficult to enjoy a meal, and did not seem to fit the character of the hotel.
Location: The location is excellent for walking to many of the great restaurants in Old Montréal. Being close to the subway station is an extra benefit.
The hotel is conveniently located to the Convention Center, Old Montréal, and public transportation. Numerous restaurants are within walking distance, and the St. Catherine's Street shopping area is nearby. The hotel has a pair of good restaurants, and the 701 also has an excellent bar. The rooms are large, clean, and well appointed. The desk was large enough to work on, which is often not the case.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel four blocks from Old Port in Montreal

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Quiet room. Attentive staff. Good restaurant. Close to Metro station.
Cons: Coffee maker in room would have been nice.
Location: The Old Port is advertised as a great place to go in Montreal but we found it quite boring. Not much to do there other than the Science Centre.
This is a quiet hotel very close to the tourist district of the Old Port in Montreal. Two blocks to the Metro station. Three blocks to many restaurants in the touristy part of the Old Port. Staff are very professional and will take care of any request you might have. No ice machines available for guests. No coffee maker in the room. We did not have a closet to hang clothes in which was a bit disappointing. No bathtub in our room. Shower could of had more pressure. Turn down service every night. Bedside lights and opera music playing when we returned to the room in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location is 2nd to none if you are looking to be in Old Montreal.
Delightful hotel with a superior location in Old Montreal. Great brunch in the hotel restaurant and a great rooftop bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Location, classy hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Great location, great room and décor. Very nice staff.
Cons: The one issue with the hotel is the very lousy internet service.
Location: Right in the heart of Old Montreal. Notre Dame Basilica was right across the street. The best street in Montreal- Rue St. Paul was 2 blocks away.
I travel very frequently but this was my first time in Montreal. I could not have asked for a better location to be in. Old Montreal is beautiful, the people are the nicest I have met in all of my travels and I never used my car at all once I arrived at the hotel. The hotel is classy and at the same time very trendy. We had a junior suite with a large bedroom and a large living room with a fireplace. The bathroom in the master suite was very beautifully designed and decorated I made notes so I could incorporate some of these ideas into my own home. The guys that greet you at the front door and with your car couldn't have been nice and very helpful with all of our needs. The one BIG negative is that the internet is VERY poor in this hotel. Very frustrating when you need to be in touch with work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Jazz fest

Posted Jul 4, 2015
great location for jazz fest and old Montreal. excellent staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, ontario

Great Location in Old Montreal

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location, comfortable beds, clean, classic charm
Cons: Have some tables on the rooftop bar reserved for guests only and improved service. Tone down music and pink neon lighting in downstairs restaurant/bar
We drove to Montreal and had no difficulty getting to the hotel, despite lots of one-way streets, construction, etc. Lots of helpful staff at front to take your bags and car (excellent valet parking). Check-in was quick and our room was ready. Our room was in the first building, fronting St Urbain and over the restaurant/bar (and underneath the rooftop bar), which was unfortunate. Not much of a view and there was noise from the bar at night, but we were out most of the time so this wasn't a huge problem. Still, having stayed in the other buildings, our preference is building 2. Elevators were very slow. Our standard King room was clean, not overly large. Closet had plentiful hangers and a safe, there was a desk, comfy bed, one chair, mini fridge, flat screen TV, bathroom with tub/shower combo, two robes and decent towels. No coffee maker (Starbucks is a block away) and no ice machines. Two bottles of water and chocolates provided with turn-down service. Great location within walking distance of Jazzfest, shopping, restaurants, museums. We didn't use our car the entire time. We enjoyed the rooftop bar in the afternoon, despite terrible service. We tried to get a drink there in the evening, but it was jam packed. We found the downstairs bar too loud and gaudy for our taste. Fabulous dining options nearby. We stayed in the hotel for breakfast on our last morning only because it was raining. OK in a pinch, but there are many better dining options off-site.