Ratings based on 675 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saskatoon, sk

Best of old Montreal

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Wonderful hotel extremely well appointed in the heart of old Montreal great proximity to all amenities and the best to see in Canada's most beautiful city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Wonderful Hotel in Montreal!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The hotels room and the valet team.
Cons: Friendlier concierge service.
Location: There was an 18th century market in Old Montreal when we were there. We also took the metro and went to the Jean-Talon Market.
Le Place d'Armes Hotel was exceptional. The room was even better than we had thought it would be. It was comfortable, clean and the bathroom was exceptionally gorgeous. The valet team were welcoming and eager to assist us with any needs. The one and only issue we had was with the concierge desk. It seemed like he wanted to rush us off even when we had more questions. He was not very helpful. Otherwise this was a fantastic hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Small Hotel! Great Location!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location, high ceilings in room, quaint charm not found in larger hotels. SPA!! Oh! And the rooftop lounge/bar was very fun too! Free wifi in room.
Cons: Maybe newer windows to cancel some of the noise?
Location: Just down the street from Notre Dame Cathedral. More places to eat than I can count. We liked Chez Delmo and Modavie.
We stayed here for my 40th birthday weekend. We had a FABULOUS stay. The location cannot be beat. Near to the Metro and all the fun and food of Old Montreal. The hotel spa is AMAZING. Have to repeat--AMAZING. I had the head to toe pampering package and I am already plotting how I can get back again for another. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and modern. The ceilings in the room were very high and the walls had exposed brick giving the room a very cool and open feeling. The only downside to the room --and we knew this going into the weekend based on other reviews-- was the LOUD NOISE of the club across the street. We were bothered the first night by all the drunk folks spilling out onto the street after midnight. But we took the "if you can't beat them join them approach" the next night and we were not bothered. Then again, there is some sort of garbage truck that stops outside the room at 5 to 6 am and that is not the greatest awakening. I would recommend a room across the hall (we were 3301).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mtl

Close to the core

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Close to the main of the Old Montreal, hard to find parking. Good walking distance to eateries and main attractions. Close to chinatown and Old Port and public transitif you want venture further to the main shopping and other parts of downtown. The hotel even gave a discount since I reserve late, not too late, and and part of a wedding party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful hotel with old charm

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location.
Location: Close to the cathedral, starbucks, Mcdonalds, trendy restaurants, the port/marina, China Town, metro
Had a great stay at this beautiful hotel. The staff was fantastic, location was close to the Montreal Reggae Festival. I would definitely return again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Simply awesome!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
After upgrading us to a much larger suite, they matched the price for a second night. Incredible time!!! I will return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Too Expensive

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Add more value for your customers, more services
Location: Location is the only good thing about this hotel, closed to notre dame basilica, old montreal
Its a decent hotel at at good location but too over priced, for a $500 per day charge they have very minimum services and lazy staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Great location, staff wonderful

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Loved the hotel, excellent location and staff was so helpful. Just a bad smell up on their rooftop terrace, messy in that area only..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Nikolas, Hotel Management
Dear Judy, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you loved our hotel; the location and the staff. You comments concerning the rooftop patio are noted and will be shared with our maintenance team. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Nikolas Salouros, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles area

Perfect in every way!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Lovely room; delightful staff - our stay could not have been better!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Nikolas, Hotel Management
Dear WS, We are delighted to read that you had a perfect stay with us. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Nikolas Salouros, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The staff were very friendly and accommodating and spoke English well. The structure is gorgeous and in a great location, in Old Port right next to Chinatown.