Ratings based on 684 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Luxurious and a great location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
We loved everything about Le Place de Armes Hotel! The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The room was very large and so lovely with a great view of the square. We hated to leave!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Good location for tourists

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel room size is decent with old fashion design. Facilities are pleasant with good cleanness level. Staff was efficient and friendly.
Cons: It's a shame there's no bathtub in the room.
Location: It's at the nice neighborhood in old montreal. Easy to get about with the metro stop nearby
We are glad we chose this hotel. It's very convenient to get about, metro stop is just a few minutes' walk and it's easy to get a taxi. The neighborhood is very nice with all the OLd Montreal buildings around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick

Must stay in Old Montreal!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Service, room size and quality. Two lower level bars-restaurants and a great roof top patio.
Cons: It pretty much has it all
Location: Within walking distance to all attractions, restaurants and bars in Old Montreal. 20-25 minutes from shopping along St-Catherine St.
If you feel like spoiling yourself while in Old Montreal stay at the Hotel Place D'Armes. While maintaining its historical charm the hotel has very modern amenities. Check out the roof top patio on the 8th floor. The staff are excellent and very helpful. I was upgraded upon arrival and the room was spacious and had an awesome washroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Cons: Bathroom fan quit functioning and attempts to have it repaired were not successful. It would be nice to have coffee in the room in the morning.
A nice hotel in a good location. Hotel staff mostly were professional - exception being the bar staff in the ground floor bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saskatoon, sk

Best of old Montreal

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Wonderful hotel extremely well appointed in the heart of old Montreal great proximity to all amenities and the best to see in Canada's most beautiful city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Wonderful Hotel in Montreal!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The hotels room and the valet team.
Cons: Friendlier concierge service.
Location: There was an 18th century market in Old Montreal when we were there. We also took the metro and went to the Jean-Talon Market.
Le Place d'Armes Hotel was exceptional. The room was even better than we had thought it would be. It was comfortable, clean and the bathroom was exceptionally gorgeous. The valet team were welcoming and eager to assist us with any needs. The one and only issue we had was with the concierge desk. It seemed like he wanted to rush us off even when we had more questions. He was not very helpful. Otherwise this was a fantastic hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Small Hotel! Great Location!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location, high ceilings in room, quaint charm not found in larger hotels. SPA!! Oh! And the rooftop lounge/bar was very fun too! Free wifi in room.
Cons: Maybe newer windows to cancel some of the noise?
Location: Just down the street from Notre Dame Cathedral. More places to eat than I can count. We liked Chez Delmo and Modavie.
We stayed here for my 40th birthday weekend. We had a FABULOUS stay. The location cannot be beat. Near to the Metro and all the fun and food of Old Montreal. The hotel spa is AMAZING. Have to repeat--AMAZING. I had the head to toe pampering package and I am already plotting how I can get back again for another. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and modern. The ceilings in the room were very high and the walls had exposed brick giving the room a very cool and open feeling. The only downside to the room --and we knew this going into the weekend based on other reviews-- was the LOUD NOISE of the club across the street. We were bothered the first night by all the drunk folks spilling out onto the street after midnight. But we took the "if you can't beat them join them approach" the next night and we were not bothered. Then again, there is some sort of garbage truck that stops outside the room at 5 to 6 am and that is not the greatest awakening. I would recommend a room across the hall (we were 3301).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mtl

Close to the core

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Close to the main of the Old Montreal, hard to find parking. Good walking distance to eateries and main attractions. Close to chinatown and Old Port and public transitif you want venture further to the main shopping and other parts of downtown. The hotel even gave a discount since I reserve late, not too late, and and part of a wedding party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful hotel with old charm

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location.
Location: Close to the cathedral, starbucks, Mcdonalds, trendy restaurants, the port/marina, China Town, metro
Had a great stay at this beautiful hotel. The staff was fantastic, location was close to the Montreal Reggae Festival. I would definitely return again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Simply awesome!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
After upgrading us to a much larger suite, they matched the price for a second night. Incredible time!!! I will return.