Ratings based on 964 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Great hotel right in the heart of downtown

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Very clean and comfortable hotel right in the heart of downtown. Very close to the train station and a quick walk to Old Montreal. Reasonably priced and great value. Plus a free breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

Perfect location

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Everything. We weren't travelling with young children, but having that indoor pool would definitely be advantageous in case of a rainy day.
Cons: The concierge should be more specific on how to find the VIA Rail Station. Although it's a short walk, it's not easily spotted from the street.
Location: Perfect location - especially if plans include taking the train to other cities. The Old Town is a bit of a walk but certainly doable.
Our room was large and fully equipped for eating in or eating out. The beds were very comfortable. The rooftop pool (indoor) and outdoor lounge area overlooking the city were a nice feature. The hotel was a short walk away from the main shopping street, the Hop on Hop Off bus terminal, all the metro stations, the VIA Rail which we took to Quebec City, and, of course, the Old Town shops and restaurants. We had no complaints whatsoever. Great choice. Regarding the VIA Rail station, however, the hotel could have been more detailed in how to locate it. It's definitely not easy to spot from the street. Definitely check it out before the day you're planning on taking it to avoid a last minute search.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaverton, OR

Big city - central location

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Accommodations and staff. Gym and pool for relaxing. WI FI. Fully stocked kitchen.
Cons: We cannot think of anything lacking at this hotel.
Location: Such a big city. This is near McGill U and the main tourist center and the metro so you can go where you need to go. Hop tours were right there.
The hotel staff made the experience a great pleasure. The hotel itself -ideal. Everything it professed to be: Great location, quiet, clean, GREAT gym and pool. Wonderfully spacious kitchen suite which saved us money on breakfasts and snacks. Reasonable walk to big supermarket/mall. Bus lines and tourist stuff within good range. Vargas restaurant - yum!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great hotel, definitely will stay again.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The hallways were very chilly! But felt very good coming in from a walk in the warm outdoors.
Staff was very helpful and friendly, all very comfortable with both French and English. Room was extremely large and a terrific value for the money. Within easy walking distance of trains and subways. Restaurants are plentiful all through downtown and even fancy Outremont district only 10 mins by cab. Musee des Beaux-Arts and Pointe-à-Callière Museum easy walking distance also. You can't go wrong with this place - highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HAWAII

Enjoyed Le Square Phillips Again!!!!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Close proximity. A Home away from home (including a full kitchen, laundry facility, pool, workout (although we didn't use). The friendly staff!!
Cons: Zia Restaurant does not serve good food. The Hotel needs to know about this since they market the restaurant (with menus in each room).
Location: Underground Mall, St.Rue Catherine major street for shopping. Museum. Not far distance to Peel street to go to Mount Royal.
My family and I love Le Square Phillips Hotel. This is the 2nd time we visited Le Square. The Staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodated us before our scheduled arrival time. The concierge encouraged us to ask the hotel desk if we could check in early. We were really grateful since we had a long flight coming from Hawaii. We also like the proximity to all the major points of interest (grocery store, the underground mall etc.). Le Square Phillips Hotel is much bigger and less expensive than the major hotel chains (i.e. Marriott which we didn't like) and the ceiling heights make the room much larger and spacious. And, I was recently informed they renovated some of the units and are still in the process of renovation. We had room 715 a newly renovated room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from port dover, ontario

Close to everything

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Our room, the pool area and friendly staff.
Cons: More colourful bedding
Location: Old Montreal, McGill university, and the many magnificent churches.
This hotel/suites has been one of our best experiences. Staff exceptional. English and French spoken throughout this facility. Our junior suite was extremely comfortable where we could cook our own breakfast. Grocery store only 3 blocks away. Pool on upper deck has a great view of the city. One is within Walking distance to Old Montreal, McGill and so many other fascinating landmarks. This is where we will stay again as we felt like one big family. You won't be disappointed. A.&F Dawson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel with excellent location.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location. Comfortable bed. Spacious and bright.
Cons: Reception/front desk and bell stand could use more staffing. Consistently had to wait even to ask a question. Very nice and accommodating though.
Location: Just walk everywhere: old Montreal, museums, waterfront, vieux port, shopping, etc...
Great location. Walking distance to everything, yet quiet. Comfortable spacious room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from West Vancouver British Columbia

Centrally located hotel, Great for families.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location , Location Location. Close to bixie station. Staff very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is served. Great amenities for families.
Location: Rent bikes. Very close to the Bay and the downtown shopping.
Whenever we travel to Montreal , we book at Le Square Phillips. It is very centrally located and has great amenities.You can wash your clothes if necessary and there is a small swimming pool and gym located on the 10th floor. The view from this deck is great and worth taking pictures from. I love the idea that breakfast is served in the morning on the 2nd floor. There is a bixie station opposite to the hotel, so we rent bikes and travel around downtown Montreal. The Bay and Eaton's center is located very close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Nice hotel. Good location.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
We had a fantastic time. Would like to come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice hotel in heart of downtown.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Room
Walking distance to many of the sites. Pleasant staff and god room.