Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

A good, but not great hotel.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location - right in the heart of the Golden Mile - close to shops, restaurants, cafes, and museums,
Cons: The room cost was expensive but on par with other hotels in the area at this time of year.
I stayed at the Sofitel for two nights this past weekend. Whilst I know this is high season in Montreal, I still found the hotel to be pricey relative to my experience there. The cost was on par with a week in a much better hotel in London during the low(er) season. My best way to describe the hotel in general and my room in particular is that it was OK. There was nothing particularly wrong, but nor were there any highlights. The staff were cordial, the room was acceptable (albeit slightly dated and beginning to show some wear and tear) and the bar/restaurant were nice - I would have appreciated that they had not installed TV screens in their outdoor terrace and it impacted the ambiance - but other patrons did not seem to mind. The location is superb and for that reaons only, I would consider staying there again, but only if they were offering rooms at a lower price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renoir restaurant needs improvement.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The corner room had views of downtown Montreal on two sides. It was comfortable and pleasant.
Cons: The Renoir restaurant. Parking in front of the hotel can be a challenge.
Location: Eggspectation for breakfast, the Ritz Café for lunch and L'Orchidee de Chine for dinner, all a few steps away. Shopping at Holt Renfrew and Ogilvy's.
We hosted a family lunch in the Renoir restaurant. This was a big disappointment. The endive and shrimp salad was unattractive and unpleasant. Even worse were the fruit flies which were at our table during lunch and breakfast the next day. This should be fixed as soon as possible. This place is not worth the big prices it charges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Four day weekend in Montreal

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Bed, shower, room comfort
Cons: WiFi is average at best, lobby bar is EXPENSIVE!
Location: Rue. Ste-Catherine, Old Montreal, Rue Cresent, McGill University, Mont-Royal
Stayed at the Sofitel for the first time...beautiful hotel in a great location. Walking distance to everything we wanted; shopping, food and Old Montreal! The bed was incredible, great shower, fast elevators - all in all a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Brilliant location for Jazz Festival

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Staff at the Sofitel are superb - great service. They made us feel very welcome and anything was possible. Renoir restaurant was top notch for breakfast lunch and dinner. Loved our 4 night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Toronto, Ontario

In the heart of downtown

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: clean, friendly staff, very close to Mc Gill University and downtown
Cons: the smell of the towels. They smelt like Asian food at times
Location: clubs, restaurants, university, and shopping
Very nice experience with a clean room, friendly staff, and a warn welcome!!! I would go back their on my next visit...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Toronto, Ontario

A Winner Through and Through

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: See Above
Cons: See Above (nothing).
From the beginning to the end, the experience was seamless and enjoyable. Arrive at the hotel, located in the core of the city, a walk to everything Montreal has to offer. Expect to be met by friendly and helpful staff, who will in prompt fashion set you up in your well appointed and elegantly designed room. Order from their all night room service … gourmet food at all hours of the night. Sleep well in the pillow top king bed, wake up to a beautiful view of the city. Head out for the day, arrive back to a spotless room, do a quick workout in the easy to access fitness centre, back to the room to get changed for your night out. Really, the experience was exactly what you'd want out of a hotel. Everyone working there makes sure things run smoothly; no blips to speak of. And reasonably priced to boot! What's not to love?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel location

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Staff were very pleasant
I loved the hotel because we got a good deal. The location is great and the staff were pleasant. The negative was that the hotel does not have a buffet breakfast and a la carte was very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kurt from Ottawa

Hotel Staff were excellent!

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in!
Location: Lots of restaurants, bars and shopping near by!
The hotel staff were very attentive...every time we entered the hotel someone was there to press the elevator button for us...when we picked up our car from the valet there were two fresh bottles of water for us waiting in the cup holds...that is the first hotel i've ever stayed at that has done that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ellen from Toronto

A great night's sleep

Posted Apr 23, 2014
I've been at the hotel many times and it's always a pleasure. The service is great and the beds are The Best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Great location and nice ambience

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: location!
Location: I was there to visit the art museum which was within walking distance.
My room was lovely and quiet. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. I ate dinner in the bar. The food was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2014
Bonjour, Thank you for such a Magnifique review. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montreal and Sofitel Golden Mile soon. Best regards, Stephanie SEGOURA General Manager