Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Vacation stay away from tourist

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Quiet, clean and comfortable. Cheaper than hotels near tourist spots.
Stayed here because it was near Cite University. Quarter to half mile walk to Metro line 1 or RER B ( From airport) so easy access to the tourist areas. The area is very buisness oriented and the hotel seemed more for businessmen than tourist. Nice decor, room was very clean and comfortable. Room was cleaned daily. I would feel good about recommending them to a friend as long as they were willing to hike a ways to metro. Neighborhood seemed very safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Subway access is ok to get around.

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Good for budget travel. Convenient yet not too noisy area. Safe to walk around at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Serge Lenormand, Hotel Management
Dear client, We thank you for your positive comment about our hotel and we hope to welcome you again. Best regards, Serge Lenormand, General Manager Mercure Paris Porte d'Orléans
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2013
Dear client, We thank you for your positive comment about our hotel and we hope to welcome you again. Best regards, Serge Lenormand, General Manager Mercure Paris Porte d'Orléans
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by KK from UK

Unfortunately not a great experience

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room itself was very nice, but the added services available are extremely poor, I arrived at the hotel at 8.30pm, having checked in from a long trip I was hoping to get some food and was told the restaurant was closed and I would have to go to the neighbouring hotel - IBIS - if i wanted a meal - crazy at 8.30pm. I then went to my room and checked the in room services, I could see room-service was apparantly available all day until 11pm, calling to arrange this I was told the restaurant was closed. Even the bar was closed! I had to get some chocolate and drink from the small food shelf near the reception. I also noticed vegetarian selection was very minimal, in fact nothing. Because the location is quite remote there isn't even anything close by to go. So ended with a starved night. I then asked where I could get hold of an ironing board, I was told I would have to go to the reception and get the iron and BOARD myself and carry back my room because there was no staff available. Breakfast next morning was a little saviour. Overall - room-great, breakfast- good, staff - friendly but added services-extremely poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JV from London

Great hotel but Bad location

Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room is exactly what you might expect from a 4-star hotel. Friendly English-speaking staff. Decent hotel restaurant and bar. It's a quiet neighbourhood. Not many shops or restaurants but there are tons of them near the Porte d'Orleans metro station. The walk to the station takes 10 minutes and can be intimidating at night. The area really is at the edge of the city of Paris. Can take up to half an hour on metro to reach tourist hotspots.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Scraggs from Paris

Cheap, big rooms, comfortable bed, lovely building

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
I highly recommend this hotel. I've stayed in at least 10 Parisian hotels and this makes the top 3. There is no outside noise, at the rear of the hotel anyway, although you can hear your neighbour on the same floor, which is actually an improvement for Paris in which it is normal to here below and above neighbours. The room is big, with enough space to exercise and the furniture is top quality. In fact the hotel building from 1911 is top quality and the reception is indicative of the quality of the furniture in the rooms. The beds are foam and very supportive. The area directly in front of the hotel is busy and a Metro 4 station is directly opposite so it is easy to get to about Paris. I would happily stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good if you need a place to sleep and shower.

Posted Jan 24, 2013
This Hotel is alright, but it is definitely not deserving of 4 stars. It is more like a good 3 star hotel. The station is about 800m away, which is not fun during cold winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good business hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Love the bar snacks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by paty from chicago

Last stop on our honeymoon

Posted Oct 4, 2012
Pros: comfy beds!!!!
Cons: neighborhood
This was about 30 minutes on the train from the center of Paris. Train station is very close, about 5-10 minute walk. We only stayed a weekend which was enough time for us to explore the downtown area and have some good meals. The hotel had a buffet breakfast which was pretty tasty. Overall, the hotel was very lonely during the time that we visited (early Sep) as was the area surrounding the hotel. The neighborhood was safe just quiet and lots of business spaces. Random note, if you are going to be ordering a cab, do not order it from the hotel. They have their own personal driver that overcharges A LOT. much better to call a cab yourself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good Business Hotel near to Montrouge

Posted Jun 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
A standard Mercure hotel. I had a 2x single bed room which, though non-smoking, still smelled of smoke. The plaster was beginning to come off the wall near the bathroom because of damp. The bathroom shower screen didn't stop the floor from flooding. Air conditioning and WiFi worked fine. Breakfast was OK - a big selection of items. If you're looking to stay near Cité internationale universitaire de Paris (and the RER B station) it's surprisingly close (10-15 minutes walk) if you walk along the road parallel the peripherique and cross the footbridge next to the Samsung building or take the road the runs under the peripherique. Next time I visit the University I'll probably stay here again.